Missing New Year's Honours in Surrey

PUBLISHED: 15:45 20 January 2010 | UPDATED: 11:43 28 February 2013

Due to a printing error in the February issue of the magazine, the last part of the New Year's Honours list was missed off, and a number of Surrey residents who received MBEs this year were not named. We apologise to those who were missed out

Due to a printing error in the February issue of the magazine, the last part of the New Year's Honours list was missed off, and a number of Surrey residents who received MBEs this year were not named. We apologise to those who were missed out and have included these names below. Congratulations to all involved.

  • David Littlewood (Surrey): For voluntary service to athletics.

  • Stella Okeahialam (Croydon): Programme director, Croydon Enterprise. For service to business.

  • Michael Orbell (Worcester Park): For services to the Scouts in Wimbledon and Merton.

  • Lydia Parbury (Richmond): For services to people with special needs and disabilities.

  • Janet Reed (Tadworth): Senior social worker, Defence Medical Rehabilitation Centre, Headley Court, Ministry of Defence

  • John Rowlands (Croydon): Economics teacher, John Ruskin Sixth Form College, Croydon. For services to education.

  • Wendy Vaughan (Chipstead): For services to the community in South East Surrey.

  • Yogan Yoganathan (Surbiton): For services to local government and to community relations in North Surrey.

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine February 2010

Feeling honoured

After rocking three chords all over the world for 40 years, Status Quo pair Rick Parfitt and Francis Rossi have been awarded OBEs for their hugely successful music careers in the New Years Honours List.

Parfitt, originally from Woking, and Rossi, who lives in Purley, have sold over 118 million records and had a record-breaking 64 British hit singles.

This summer, they will also be bringing their good time rock n roll to GuilFest, which they headline.

Elsewhere, husband and wife Ron Jones, 81, and Penny, 63, from Sunbury-on-Thames, were given MBEs for services to children and families. They have fostered well over 100 youngsters since 1978.

Its bewildering, says Penny. I keep thinking, how on earth did I get this? I feel privileged that someone thinks that what we have done is worthwhile. It will be really exciting to pick up the award.

Known to staff and pupils as nanny for her dedication over a 40-year career, Elizabeth Dupres also received an MBE for services to St Cuthberts Catholic Primary School in Egham. She retired aged 83 in December 2008.

... and also taking a bow


  • Ann Beasley (New Malden): Director of finance and performance, National Offender Management Service, Ministry of Justice.

  • Rodney Cousens (Godalming): Chief executive officer, Codemasters. For services to the computer games industry.

  • Dr Michael Cresswell (Woking): Director-general, assessment and qualifications alliance.

  • Professor John Fyfe (Witley): For services to partnership working and to regeneration worldwide.

  • Dyfrig John (Farnham): Formerly deputy chairman and chief executive, HSBC Bank. For services to the financial services industry.

  • John Whittaker (Carshalton Beeches): Deputy director, employment policy, cabinet office.


  • John Anderson (Godalming): For services to St Martin-in-the-Fields and to the construction industry.

  • Dr Michael Barlow (Woking): For services to intellectual property law.

  • Dr John Beer (Farnham): Formerly executive director of social services, Southampton City Council.

  • Anne Brannagan (Leatherhead): Complex trauma manager, Headley Court.

  • John Kingston (Ashtead): For services to the voluntary sector.

  • Heather Lawrence (Woking): Chief executive, Chelsea and Westminster Hospital NHS Foundation Trust.

  • Andrew Leigh (Croydon): For public service.

  • June Mason (Purley): Grade 7, cohesion and migration directorate, department for communities and local government.

  • Melloney Poole (Godalming): Deputy director, legal services and governance, Big Lottery Fund. For public service.

  • Lyndy Reynolds (Surbiton): Formerly deputy head, government legal service secretariat, Treasury solicitors department.

  • Brian Rockliffe (Kingston): Director, Voluntary Service Overseas. For services to international development.


  • Arthur Birkby (Addlestone): For services to the community in Runnymede.

  • Rosalind Carter (Richmond): EAL education adviser, language service, London Borough of Hounslow.

  • Susan Caulfield (Croydon): Assistant director, Immigration Fingerprint Bureau, UK Border Agency, Home Office.

  • Teresa Copp (Woking): Higher executive officer, Jobcentre Plus, Department for Work and Pensions.

  • Dr Ian Fry (Guildford): Director, partnership pathology, Frimley Park Hospital NHS Trust. For services to healthcare in the South East.

  • Christopher Hilton (Guildford): Formerly general manager, Odeon Leicester Square Cinema. For services to the film industry.

  • Barry Hitchcock (Guildford): Director of sport, University of Surrey. For services to sport and to higher education.

  • Jean Holder (Sutton): For voluntary service to the Womens Library.

  • Brenda Kirby (Croydon): For services to the community.

Latest from the Surrey