Campaign to save Undershaw, the former Hindhead home of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

PUBLISHED: 19:41 17 December 2011 | UPDATED: 18:23 20 February 2013

Saving Sherlock Holmes

Saving Sherlock Holmes

DESPITE the huge recent popularity of Guy Ritchie's 2010 Sherlock Holmes movie and the hit BBC mini-series, Sherlock, plans to turn author Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's former Hindhead home into flats rather than a permanent museum continue

DESPITEthe huge recent popularity ofGuy Ritchies 2010 Sherlock Holmes movieand the hit BBC mini-series, Sherlock, plans to turn author Sir Arthur Conan Doyles former Hindhead homeinto flats rather than a permanent museum to the writer's memory continue.

A worldwide appeal for financialsupport, backed by Stephen Fry,failed to generate any viable alternatives and the house where the author wrote his best-known Sherlock Holmes story, The Hound of the Baskervilles, is setto be divided intothree separate units, witha furtherfive houses to be built alongside.

"Undershaw is a major national asset that could breathe new life into Hindhead," said Poul Christensen, chairman of Hindhead Together, at the launch of the museum appeal in summer 2009.

"In order to try to preserve the building and its history for public access and experience, we have to launch this campaign to discover whether people are prepared to put their hands in their pockets to save it. If we are able to raise a substantial amount of money then we can start to look at future uses, organisations, business plans and benefits for all the community."

Conan Doyle originally built the house in 1897, so that his invalid wife Louise could benefit from Hindheads healthy climate during her convalescence.

After the death of his son Kingsley during World War I, Conan Doyle sold Undershaw in 1921.

It was later converted into a hotel, but after that closed down in 2004, the building fell into disrepair.

Undershaw, in Hindhead, is the former residence of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and his family. A fine example of Edwardian architecture, it was built in 1897 in an era when few houses were actually designed by the occupier.

Latest from the Surrey