BMW PGA Championship 2013 at Wentworth preview

PUBLISHED: 08:48 22 May 2013 | UPDATED: 17:48 25 May 2013

Luke Donald is aiming for three in a row

Luke Donald is aiming for three in a row

Archant

Once upon a time, the PGA Championship, the European Tour’s flagship event, rotated around Britain’s golf courses. Since 1984, however, Wentworth has remained its home. John Whitbread, of the Surrey Golf Partnership, reports

By attempting to capture the BMW PGA Championship for a third consecutive year, Luke Donald has his sights fixed firmly on a place in the record books alongside the Scottish golfing great Colin Montgomerie.

The 35-year-old Buckinghamshire star, who topped the Order of Merit in both Europe and America in 2012, joined Montgomerie and Sir Nick Faldo as the only players to have successfully defended the title in the illustrious history of this flagship event, when he won in considerable style last year.

Now Donald is aiming to complete a glorious treble at Wentworth in Virginia Water, from Thursday May 23 to Sunday May 26, a feat achieved only by eight-time European number one Montgomerie, who completed the previously unprecedented hat-trick in 1998, 1999 and 2000.

Donald edged out Lee Westwood in a play-off in 2011 and with it leapfrogged his compatriot into the world number one spot before successfully defending the title, cruising to the four-stroke victory that again returned him to the pinnacle of the official world golf ranking.

“Obviously, the BMW PGA Championship is the European Tour’s flagship event and to win it back-to-back was very special for me,” says Donald, who also made history in 2011 by topping The Race to Dubai and the US PGA Tour Money List in the same season. “It will be a great honour to go there and try to do what Monty did. It’s a huge event on the European Tour schedule and the West Course is one that suits my game very well. I’ll be going there with high expectations of trying to emulate the great Colin Montgomerie.”

As a child, Donald would watch his idols grace the hallowed fairways of Wentworth, a memory which makes his victories all the more special.

“When I was 12 or 13 years old I’d be running around the course watching some of the great players: Nick Faldo, Ernie Els, Seve Ballesteros; the top players in Europe,” he says.

“With the course being just 30 minutes from my home, it was a special event to me and I always love coming back to Wentworth. As golfers, we hope to inspire the younger generation and hopefully my two victories there have inspired some younger kids to go out on the course and practise hard.”

Hall of fame

One man who believes Donald can complete the hat-trick is Montgomerie himself. He was at a European Tour lunch in London when it was announced that he is being inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame.

“Luke is a brilliant young player and I don’t think he will be under any extra pressure going for three in a row,” he told Surrey Life at the lunch.

“I got in such a groove at Wentworth in the late 90s that I used to turn up there expecting to win. What’s more, my rivals knew that I expected to win and that gave me a vital edge. Luke is the same sort of player who is really hard to stop when he gets on a roll.”

Donald will certainly not have it all his own way though as Europe’s Ryder Cup Team, including the likes of world top 10 stars Rory McIlroy, Lee Westwood and Ian Poulter, triumphant from September’s ‘Miracle in Medinah’ victory, regroup for the first time competitively on British soil at the BMW PGA Championship.

The marked increase in attendances in recent years has prompted the European Tour to throw open Wentworth’s doors to the public on Tuesday May 21, designated for the first time as an official practice day, and Wednesday is Celebrity Pro-Am Day, which attracts the likes of Gary Lineker and Sir Bruce Forsyth. Fortunately, organisers have also introduced a new park and ride system this year to handle those extra crowds!

Whether Donald fulfils his ambitions or not this year, what is certain is that the attention of the world’s golf followers will be firmly fixed on Surrey this month.

• For more information and tickets to this year’s BMW PGA Championship, visit tickets.europeantour.com

The Surrey Golf Partnership comprises 111 clubs in our county, which are also affiliated to the Surrey Golf Union and the Surrey Ladies Golf Union. For more information, visit their website at surreygolfpartnership.com

More from Surrey Life

Yesterday, 12:41

Bella Vou run us through CO2RE Intima, a non-surgical treatment helping with women’s intimate health

Read more
Tue, 16:16

At Sir William Perkins’s School (SWPS) the aim is to build confidence, integrity and excellence in a caring, innovative and happy community so that each student leaves with the best possible chance of achieving her full potential and ready to take on the world.

Read more
Tue, 11:43

If the colder weather is making you feel like escaping to somewhere snug and cosy, you might be surprised to find some perfect rural retreats right on your doorstep. Here’s our pick of the best to discover in Surrey…

Read more
Tue, 11:33

Get ready to laugh, boo and hiss, and cheer on your favourite childhood heroes in the array of pantomimes coming to Surrey theatres this Christmas

Read more
Tue, 11:01

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Mon, 16:01

Actress, singer and entertainer, Anita Harris has travelled the world in an illustrious career that spans over five decades. From her home in Chertsey, she talks to Tinx Newton about the people she has worked with, her tour and life in Surrey

Read more
Mon, 14:13

If there's ever a time of year when a brisk, bracing walk is needed, then winter and the lead-up to the festive season is surely it. Here we round up a few of our Surrey favourites

Read more
Mon, 13:01

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (14, 15 and 16 December): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Tuesday, December 4, 2018

Surrey is a county full of festive delights. Think cosy pubs, frosty views and long winter walks. We pick 22 wonderful reasons to spend Christmas in Surrey.

Read more
Tuesday, December 4, 2018

We round up some of the best events and things to do across Surrey this month

Read more
Tuesday, December 4, 2018

With beautiful countryside, stunning villages and plenty of bluebells during spring, Surrey is an amazing place for a stroll

Read more
Tuesday, December 4, 2018

Pupils at The Hawthorns School in Bletchingley collected over 5,800 items of food for the Loveworks foodbanks in Reigate and Merstham

Read more
Friday, November 30, 2018

We’ve teamed up with Grand Illusions to give one lucky reader the opportunity to win a £250 gift card with the stylish homeware brand

Read more
Tuesday, November 27, 2018

Celebrating its 25 anniversary, Kinghams restaurant is found at the heart of one of Surrey’s most iconic villages. Matthew Williams visits to discover the secrets of its longevity

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search