The new Subaru XV car reviewed

PUBLISHED: 16:51 29 January 2013 | UPDATED: 22:40 20 February 2013

The new Subaru XV car reviewed

The new Subaru XV car reviewed

In his latest review, Surrey Life's Ade Holder romps across Surrey in Subaru's new sartorial SUV

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine January 2013


In his latest review, Surrey Lifes Ade Holder romps across Surrey in Subarus new sartorial SUV



There are probably a few things you know about Subaru their Imprezza model, for example, has become synonymous with that all too well-known parrp and whoosh sound that resonates throughout our fair county, normally brought to bear by a short man in a baseball cap and a permanently open window.


There are also some things you may not know about Subaru: their cars are all four-wheel drive (apart from the new BRZ), they all have boxer engines and they make a really interesting range of cars to suit most peoples needs.


New kid on the block
This range has just been increased with the arrival of the rather succinctly named XV. Anyone who has been near any of Surreys schools during the daily run, will surely be familiar with the format of an SUV (Sports Utility Vehicle). These smaller cross over 4x4 style cars are becoming the staple for many families. The XV is Subarus rather brilliant effort.


I am not going to beat about the bush here, I really like this car. If you dont read any further, you can be assured you wont go far wrong going to see the folk at Bell & Colvill in West Horsley today and spending your hard-earned money on one. If, however, you are keen to know why, then please read on.


For a start, the XV looks great, managing to straddle a very fine line between actually being cool and also not looking like a car for people who want to look cool. There are some rather odd cars in the SUV bracket, naming no names, and the XV is not one of them. Its commanding, big enough to give the impression of safety and sturdiness, but not imposing or annoying to other road users. The road is not swamped with them, either, so its nice not to have the same car as everyone else, and in this case, its satisfying to know you may well have a better car than everyone else too!


The inside story
Inside, the XV is simple but in a brilliant way; you dont feel like it is going to break when it sees a muddy boot or an errant twig that made its way in with a buggy. The dashboard is easy to see, the controls are simple, you know where everything is, there is plenty of room and its comfortable. What more do you want?


It has been said that I am not a fan of diesel engines, and in certain circumstances that would be true; however, in a 4x4 they sit perfectly with me. The 2.0 litre boxer engine may not sound all that fantastic but it offers plenty of pull. In fact, you might find yourself getting a bit carried away and forgetting you are not sitting in an executive saloon; I had to remind myself not to overtake on a number of occasions. It really is a car that inspires confidence and it corners well too; very well!


Normally, the deals offered by manufacturers vary so much they are not worth going into, but it would not be right to leave the everything taken care of package unmentioned. All cars come with the package, which includes things like free scratch repair, free alloy wheel repair, a monthly clean with a vacuum, a yearly makeover, free wheel alignment and free lost key replacement; its enough to make you feel all warm and fuzzy!


The XV is strong, it drives well, it looks good and it offers excellent value. I told you I liked it!



  • Bell & Colvill (Horsley), Epsom Road, West Horsley, Leatherhead KT24 6DG. Tel: 01483 281000 / bellandcolvill.co.uk



Need to know:


Engine: 2.0l, 4 cylinder boxer, Turbo Diesel
Power: 145 bhp
0-60mph: 9.3 seconds
Fuel Consumption: Combined 50.4 mpg
Prices: Start from 21,295 (1.6 petrol model)
Model featured: 2.0D SE, 26,295

More from Surrey Life

Yesterday, 12:41

Bella Vou run us through CO2RE Intima, a non-surgical treatment helping with women’s intimate health

Read more
Tue, 16:16

At Sir William Perkins’s School (SWPS) the aim is to build confidence, integrity and excellence in a caring, innovative and happy community so that each student leaves with the best possible chance of achieving her full potential and ready to take on the world.

Read more
Tue, 11:43

If the colder weather is making you feel like escaping to somewhere snug and cosy, you might be surprised to find some perfect rural retreats right on your doorstep. Here’s our pick of the best to discover in Surrey…

Read more
Tue, 11:33

Get ready to laugh, boo and hiss, and cheer on your favourite childhood heroes in the array of pantomimes coming to Surrey theatres this Christmas

Read more
Tue, 11:01

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Mon, 16:01

Actress, singer and entertainer, Anita Harris has travelled the world in an illustrious career that spans over five decades. From her home in Chertsey, she talks to Tinx Newton about the people she has worked with, her tour and life in Surrey

Read more
Mon, 14:13

If there's ever a time of year when a brisk, bracing walk is needed, then winter and the lead-up to the festive season is surely it. Here we round up a few of our Surrey favourites

Read more
Mon, 13:01

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (14, 15 and 16 December): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Tuesday, December 4, 2018

Surrey is a county full of festive delights. Think cosy pubs, frosty views and long winter walks. We pick 22 wonderful reasons to spend Christmas in Surrey.

Read more
Tuesday, December 4, 2018

We round up some of the best events and things to do across Surrey this month

Read more
Tuesday, December 4, 2018

With beautiful countryside, stunning villages and plenty of bluebells during spring, Surrey is an amazing place for a stroll

Read more
Tuesday, December 4, 2018

Pupils at The Hawthorns School in Bletchingley collected over 5,800 items of food for the Loveworks foodbanks in Reigate and Merstham

Read more
Friday, November 30, 2018

We’ve teamed up with Grand Illusions to give one lucky reader the opportunity to win a £250 gift card with the stylish homeware brand

Read more
Tuesday, November 27, 2018

Celebrating its 25 anniversary, Kinghams restaurant is found at the heart of one of Surrey’s most iconic villages. Matthew Williams visits to discover the secrets of its longevity

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search