CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today CLICK HERE

The Grantley Arms, The Street, Wonersh GU5 0PE - restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 10:57 15 February 2016 | UPDATED: 11:34 16 February 2016

The Grantley Arms is a place for cosy drinks as well as delicious feasts

The Grantley Arms is a place for cosy drinks as well as delicious feasts

Archant

It’s all change in the village of Wonersh, where The Grantley Arms has new owners and heightened ambitions. Matthew Williams pays an early visit – and leaves excited about what is still to come

There's already plenty to love about The Grantley Arms' foodie offeringThere's already plenty to love about The Grantley Arms' foodie offering

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine February 2016

***

The Grantley Arms

The Street, Wonersh, Surrey GU5 0PE.

Tel: 01483 893351. Web: thegrantleyarms.co.uk

***

Nominate your favourite Surrey restaurants for the Surrey Life Food & Drink Awards 2016

***

Need to know

Verdict

Food 9

Venue 9

Service 9

What we ate

Three courses for £29

Starters

Spiced pumpkin soup

Slow-cooked salmon

Main courses

Pan-fried Penrith chicken

Pie of the day (cod)

Desserts

Granny Smith sponge

64% chocolate cremeux

Drinks

Large glass of 2011 Malbec Finca Perdriel Collection, Mendoza, Argentina, £15

***

REVIEW: In a trend that seems to be growing apace – and is certainly fully encouraged here at Surrey Life towers – friends are grouping together to take over their local pubs across our county. The latest to make such a transition is The Grantley Arms in Wonersh, and with the changes has come such a level of chatter that we just couldn’t resist an early visit.

Taken over by a couple of friends, Chris Frederick and Richard Cryer, they happened across the sale of this historic inn by chance and over a couple of pints thought, “well, how hard can it be?” Despite having no background in the industry, they already seem to have laid down a confident path.

In has come chef Matt Edmonds, who left a high-profile role at Searcy’s at London’s Gherkin, with the intention in the near future to provide separate menus both for ‘laid-back pub’ and ‘fine-dining restaurant’. Matt says that while he hopes the accolades will come in the long run, he’s not going to lose any sleep over them and is happy to concentrate on cooking great food with a respect for the produce. While his eyes are on the likes of the Hand & Flowers in Marlow and The Hardwick in Abergavenny, The Sportsman in Whitstable, for now the focus is on being “humble” and taking things step-by-step.

So they are striving for the heights, but when we visit, 
I am pleased to see that it remains a very relaxed kind of place. Seeping with history outside (there’s a sign that states it was established all the way back in 1590) but bringing you firmly into the modern world inside, it still retains a charming character. 


Cosy corners


We arrive on a weekend lunchtime and take seats in the light and spacious bar area. Having had a scout around, there’s plenty of cosy-looking corners for more formal/romantic occasions too (well, we are in February after all). It’s also child-friendly, and they bring out a crayons and colouring set with the high chair for our daughter and restaurant reviewing assistant, Iona.

The bar itself is well stocked with local ales and wines, and remains the kind of place that would feel just as welcoming for a drink with friends as a full-scale feast.

Later this year, they’re looking to open a deli in the storeroom next door, which will add more reason to visit the pretty village of Wonersh. Found in the countryside between Albury and Bramley, recent years have seen this quiet little corner become best-known for having the spectacular Barnett Hill conference centre on its doorstep. With this new ambitious foodie offering, however, these are exciting times for the village.


On the menu

While we peruse the menu, as a little extra treat, chef Matt serves us up an additional South Downs venison carpaccio with hazelnuts and home-grown rocket starter with our drinks. The wafer-thin slices of meat pack a powerful punch, with the nutty texture complemented perfectly by the deliciously wintery cinnamon backing.

So onto our starters ‘proper’, where my lightly-spiced pumpkin soup is poured at the table onto glazed chestnuts and watercress. It’s pure silk, while the dash of nuts again add bite.

Across the table, Sylviane opts for the slow-cooked salmon with Marie Rose dressing, poached oyster, fennel and grilled cucumber, which really celebrates each beautifully fresh ingredient.

Around us, a steady lunch trade builds – from families enjoying the full trimmings to weekend ‘paper and a pint’ visitors. Music wafts around the place, without ever intruding on conversations.

Heading into the main courses, with expectations firmly met by the presentation and flavours on display, I’m immediately won over again by what must be the most succulent chicken I’ve ever eaten. Not normally something I’d get over-excited about but it’s utterly delicious and well complemented by a crispy-edged black pudding and potato pressing, as well as flavours of mushroom and pancetta. Just really, really good cooking and again that celebration of each ingredient is the clear raison d’être.

The pie of the day (cod) that Sylviane opts for is packed full of flavour, topped with a pastry lid and served with creamy-as-you-like mash; it’s warming pub grub with a touch of elegance.

Still early afternoon, by now we are feeling well at home. In fact, The Grantley Arms has a feeling similar to Surrey Life Food & Drink Awards 2015 pub of the year, The Onslow Arms in Clandon, where you could quite happily settle down into the evening if circumstances would allow.

As it is, the tempting desserts grab our attention for a time yet, my Granny Smith sponge making magic with caramel and calvados chantilly (sweet partnerships don’t get much better than that, in my view), and Sylviane’s chocolate cremeux with praline crumble, banana jam and ice cream is so good that I don’t get to try as much as a spoonful.

It’s early days yet for The Grantley Arms but all the signs point to a very exciting future ahead. This is the kind of place that once again proves that a balance between village pub and fine dining can be found, and the results are thrilling. This is certainly one to keep your eyes on.

***

3 more great Surrey gastropubs

The Onslow Arms

Set in the swanky countryside surrounds of Clandon, the Surrey Life Food & Drink Awards 2015 Pub of the Year is one that takes its food very seriously.

• The Street, West Clandon GU4 7TF Tel: 01483 222447

The Plough Inn

When frustration at the local dining scene got the better of them, four Surrey friends did the obvious thing: they bought one of their local pubs. Well, some of us can dream…

• Plough Lane, Downside, Cobham KT11 3LT Tel: 01932 589790

The Anchor

Bought by the owners of the neighbouring Michelin-starred Drake’s restaurant in 2013, The Anchor has been transformed into a food-led pub/restaurant.

• High Street, Ripley GU23 6AE Tel: 01483 211866

***

Share your Surrey restaurant tips with us by e-mailing matthew.williams@surreylife.co.uk

 

 

 

More from Surrey Life

51 minutes ago

She may have recently moved to the seaside, but Surrey still holds a uniquely “precious” place in the heart of legendary children’s author Dame Jacqueline Wilson – not to mention the crucial role the county played in bringing everyone’s favourite and newly-returning feisty foster-kid to life

Read more
11:59

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (23, 24 and 25 November): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Thursday, November 15, 2018

Surrey is full of secret hideaways and hidden gems. Slades Farm on the Wintershall Estate is definitely one of them

Read more
Wednesday, November 14, 2018

The new hotel is set to open in spring 2019 and will be located in the heart of the vineyard, offering sweeping views over the North Downs Way.

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

From Santa’s Grottos, to Victorian Christmas markets and late-night shopping, we’ve covered what’s on in Surrey this season

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Having bloomed in Brighton’s restaurant scene over the past decade, The Chilli Pickle opened its second site in Guildford this summer

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Historic Royal Palaces and IMG have announced that Kylie Minogue is the first headliner confirmed for Hampton Court Palace Festival 2019. These will be her only London shows of summer 2019. Here’s how you can get tickets

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Enjoy this linear rail to ramble section of the Thames Down Link route taking the short train-ride from Box Hill & Westhumble to Ashtead before walking back

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

It’s that time of year when our beautiful countryside is alight with the colours of autumn. Here, we pick out some of her favourite spots to enjoy the seasonal splendour – as well as some perfect places for a post-walk refresher

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Found on the stretch of the River Thames between Weybridge and East Molesey, Sunbury-on-Thames is blessed with a village feel where it meets the water. From antique hunts to the joys of river life, here are a few of our favourite reasons to visit

Read more
Monday, November 5, 2018

Verity & Violet are Loui and Jess – a singing duo from Surrey who specialise in blending vintage classics with modern favourites. The two have achieved success in the capital, but are now hoping to attract an audience closer to home

Read more
Friday, November 2, 2018

With the Christmas celebrations seemingly starting earlier every year, it all feels a little too ‘soon’ sometimes, but what if you want to look your best for Christmas & New year celebrations and are considering having cosmetic non-surgical procedures? The Bella Vou Pantiles Clinic offers surgical and non-surgical cosmetic procedures and treatments from a purpose-built private clinic in the heart of Royal Tunbridge Wells

Read more
Thursday, November 1, 2018

Living in England’s most densely wooded county, it’s always a pleasure to witness Surrey donning its autumn finery. Here’s some of the best places to do just that - plus a few pub pit stops to enjoy on route!

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search