CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today CLICK HERE

Two to Four, Dorking, Surrey, RH4 1BL - restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 12:13 21 January 2011 | UPDATED: 14:45 20 February 2013

Two to Four is housed in a beautiful old building in historic West Street

Two to Four is housed in a beautiful old building in historic West Street

With its mouth watering menu and beautiful presentation, Two to Four in Dorking has people going back time and again. Restaurant critic John Hughes paid a visit - and went away contented

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine June 2007


Reviewed: Two to Four. 2-4 West Street, Dorking, Surrey, RH4 1BL. Tel: 01306 889923.


With its mouth watering menu and beautiful presentation, Two to Four in Dorking has people going back time and again. Restaurant critic John Hughes paid a visit - and went away contented


Share your favourite Surrey restaurants


SUBSCRIBE to Surrey Life magazine
BUY SL online


Located in a beautiful old building, Two to Four is a bright, modern restaurant tucked away in the antique shop end of Dorking (at 2-4 West Street - hence the name). Stylishly laid out over three floors, it was relatively quiet the night we visited so everyone was seated together in the smaller room at ground level. It created an unexpectedly warm and bustling ambience for a Thursday evening.

The a la carte is not extensive but head chef Rob Gathercole changes it regularly, and it is complemented by a blackboard menu. Together, the choice is ample even for regulars, of which there seem to be plenty judging by snippets of conversation overheard at other tables. Prices are reasonable and welcomingly unfussy with all starters at 7.50 and main courses 17.50 (a la carte) or 14.95 (blackboard).

My daughter Helen came along both to dine and take photographs. She started with the Thai crab cakes, with watercress, mango and shaved coconut salad, which was colourful and brimming with flavours. I chose a rather filling and richly spiced Mediterranean fish soup served in truly traditional French style with croutons and aioli, a sauce with the colour and texture of mustard but refreshingly cool on the palate.

For my main course, I went for the chargrilled fillet of beef, cooked medium, with seared foie gras, caramelised chicory, chive mash and sweet shallot jus, and very fine it was too - the combination in one mouthful was quite superb. Helen fared even better with confit of duck leg, sweet potato fondant, green beans and plum chutney. The duck was full flavoured and co-operated by falling off the bone at the touch of a knife. She savoured every moment. This, we were told, was a dish that Rob has perfected over many years, including his time at The Dining Room in Reigate as head chef to Tony Tobin (Ready Steady Cook fame).

The wine list at Two to Four offers a good choice and reflects the mid-range price of the food; in other words not too high at the top end. I selected a bottle of Domain du Vissoux 2005, Beaujolais Cuvee Traditionelle, for its balance of dark ripe fruit and crisp acidity - very satisfying and, I felt, well priced at just under 20.

Desserts are, of course, compulsory when dining at this level. When mine arrived, my eyes and nose were at odds with each other - I saw rice pudding topped with strawberry compote and pink champagne rhubarb, but I could smell only the oranges with which the rice was scented. Not that the taste buds minded - it was delicious, as was Helen's chocolate truffle torte with fresh raspberries and crme fraiche.

Two to Four was a delightful dining experience. The service was spot on and so too was the food; nor will dinner there break the bank. Curiously, the thing that stuck in our minds on the way home was a detail - a side order that turned out to be a gem; crispy courgettes, cut into strips and fried in light batter (tempura in other words). Very more-ish and not to be missed.

Our Choice

Starters
Mediterranean Fish Soup 7.50
Thai Spiced Crab Cakes 7.50

Main Courses
Chargrilled Fillet of Beef 17.95
Confit Duck Leg 14.95

Desserts
Orange Scented Rice Pudding 6.50
Chocolate Truffle Torte 6.50

Wine
Beaujolais Cuvee Traditionelle 19
Domaine du Vissoux 2005

The verdict
Food and wine 9/10
Venue 8/10
Service 9/10

More from Surrey Life

14:51

The spookiest time of the year is fast approaching! We pick some of the best events to celebrate Halloween in Surrey

Read more
14:43

This edition of Surrey Life features all the local ingredients to make this month special

Read more
12:43

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (26, 27 and 28 October): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Friday, October 19, 2018

We round up 10 of the most beautiful photos of Surrey shared on Instagram this week…

Read more
Thursday, October 18, 2018

To mark the appointment of Peter Estlin, a former head boy at King Edward’s Witley, as new Lord Mayor of the City of London, Surrey Life has joined forces with the 400-pupil school to give away two tickets to the Lord Mayor’s Show on 10 November plus an overnight stay in London

Read more
Wednesday, October 17, 2018

With The Great British Bake Off back on our screens the nation is falling in love with baking once again. Head pastry chef at Pennyhill Park, Sarah Frankland, tells us about what it takes to make it as a professional

Read more
Tuesday, October 16, 2018

Wrap up in your favourite coat and scarf, grab your sparklers and a warming drink, and enjoy one of these fantastic firework displays taking place in Surrey for bonfire night

Read more
Tuesday, October 16, 2018

Home to outstanding architecture, ambitious community projects and arts ventures that are putting these villages firmly on the map, East and West Horsley are among our county’s most desirable addresses

Read more
Tuesday, October 16, 2018

Chertsey’s best-kept secret, the Great Cockcrow Railway, steamed into a half-century this year

Read more
Tuesday, October 16, 2018

A taste of Korea has swept into the beautiful market town of Godalming as Bada sets out its stall with a tapas-style fusion of seafood, traditional dishes and spice

Read more
Monday, October 15, 2018

With friendship as the central theme in Adele Parks’ new book, Zoe Richards met up with the bestselling author and her publisher, Kate Mills, to find out how these two Surrey dwellers have discovered a successful working relationship, and become firm friends too

Read more
Monday, October 15, 2018

As the twilight falls, the magic begins… There’s something for everyone at Christmas at Kew – and we’re giving you the chance to win one of five family tickets for two adults and two children to the Preview Night of Christmas at Kew on Wednesday 21 November 2018

Read more
Tuesday, October 9, 2018

Good table manners have long been a source of national pride but in this modern age of social media are our longstanding traditions being left behind? Rebecca Younger visits the stately Beaverbrook estate for a lesson in British etiquette

Read more
Tuesday, October 9, 2018

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search