Two to Four, Dorking, Surrey, RH4 1BL - restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 12:13 21 January 2011 | UPDATED: 14:45 20 February 2013

Two to Four is housed in a beautiful old building in historic West Street

Two to Four is housed in a beautiful old building in historic West Street

With its mouth watering menu and beautiful presentation, Two to Four in Dorking has people going back time and again. Restaurant critic John Hughes paid a visit - and went away contented

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine June 2007


Reviewed: Two to Four. 2-4 West Street, Dorking, Surrey, RH4 1BL. Tel: 01306 889923.


With its mouth watering menu and beautiful presentation, Two to Four in Dorking has people going back time and again. Restaurant critic John Hughes paid a visit - and went away contented


Share your favourite Surrey restaurants


SUBSCRIBE to Surrey Life magazine
BUY SL online


Located in a beautiful old building, Two to Four is a bright, modern restaurant tucked away in the antique shop end of Dorking (at 2-4 West Street - hence the name). Stylishly laid out over three floors, it was relatively quiet the night we visited so everyone was seated together in the smaller room at ground level. It created an unexpectedly warm and bustling ambience for a Thursday evening.

The a la carte is not extensive but head chef Rob Gathercole changes it regularly, and it is complemented by a blackboard menu. Together, the choice is ample even for regulars, of which there seem to be plenty judging by snippets of conversation overheard at other tables. Prices are reasonable and welcomingly unfussy with all starters at 7.50 and main courses 17.50 (a la carte) or 14.95 (blackboard).

My daughter Helen came along both to dine and take photographs. She started with the Thai crab cakes, with watercress, mango and shaved coconut salad, which was colourful and brimming with flavours. I chose a rather filling and richly spiced Mediterranean fish soup served in truly traditional French style with croutons and aioli, a sauce with the colour and texture of mustard but refreshingly cool on the palate.

For my main course, I went for the chargrilled fillet of beef, cooked medium, with seared foie gras, caramelised chicory, chive mash and sweet shallot jus, and very fine it was too - the combination in one mouthful was quite superb. Helen fared even better with confit of duck leg, sweet potato fondant, green beans and plum chutney. The duck was full flavoured and co-operated by falling off the bone at the touch of a knife. She savoured every moment. This, we were told, was a dish that Rob has perfected over many years, including his time at The Dining Room in Reigate as head chef to Tony Tobin (Ready Steady Cook fame).

The wine list at Two to Four offers a good choice and reflects the mid-range price of the food; in other words not too high at the top end. I selected a bottle of Domain du Vissoux 2005, Beaujolais Cuvee Traditionelle, for its balance of dark ripe fruit and crisp acidity - very satisfying and, I felt, well priced at just under 20.

Desserts are, of course, compulsory when dining at this level. When mine arrived, my eyes and nose were at odds with each other - I saw rice pudding topped with strawberry compote and pink champagne rhubarb, but I could smell only the oranges with which the rice was scented. Not that the taste buds minded - it was delicious, as was Helen's chocolate truffle torte with fresh raspberries and crme fraiche.

Two to Four was a delightful dining experience. The service was spot on and so too was the food; nor will dinner there break the bank. Curiously, the thing that stuck in our minds on the way home was a detail - a side order that turned out to be a gem; crispy courgettes, cut into strips and fried in light batter (tempura in other words). Very more-ish and not to be missed.

Our Choice

Starters
Mediterranean Fish Soup 7.50
Thai Spiced Crab Cakes 7.50

Main Courses
Chargrilled Fillet of Beef 17.95
Confit Duck Leg 14.95

Desserts
Orange Scented Rice Pudding 6.50
Chocolate Truffle Torte 6.50

Wine
Beaujolais Cuvee Traditionelle 19
Domaine du Vissoux 2005

The verdict
Food and wine 9/10
Venue 8/10
Service 9/10

More from Surrey Life

16:16

At Sir William Perkins’s School (SWPS) the aim is to build confidence, integrity and excellence in a caring, innovative and happy community so that each student leaves with the best possible chance of achieving her full potential and ready to take on the world.

Read more
11:43

If the colder weather is making you feel like escaping to somewhere snug and cosy, you might be surprised to find some perfect rural retreats right on your doorstep. Here’s our pick of the best to discover in Surrey…

Read more
11:33

Get ready to laugh, boo and hiss, and cheer on your favourite childhood heroes in the array of pantomimes coming to Surrey theatres this Christmas

Read more
11:01

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Yesterday, 16:01

Actress, singer and entertainer, Anita Harris has travelled the world in an illustrious career that spans over five decades. From her home in Chertsey, she talks to Tinx Newton about the people she has worked with, her tour and life in Surrey

Read more
Yesterday, 14:13

If there's ever a time of year when a brisk, bracing walk is needed, then winter and the lead-up to the festive season is surely it. Here we round up a few of our Surrey favourites

Read more
Yesterday, 13:01

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (14, 15 and 16 December): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Tuesday, December 4, 2018

Surrey is a county full of festive delights. Think cosy pubs, frosty views and long winter walks. We pick 22 wonderful reasons to spend Christmas in Surrey.

Read more
Tuesday, December 4, 2018

We round up some of the best events and things to do across Surrey this month

Read more
Tuesday, December 4, 2018

With beautiful countryside, stunning villages and plenty of bluebells during spring, Surrey is an amazing place for a stroll

Read more
Tuesday, December 4, 2018

Pupils at The Hawthorns School in Bletchingley collected over 5,800 items of food for the Loveworks foodbanks in Reigate and Merstham

Read more
Friday, November 30, 2018

We’ve teamed up with Grand Illusions to give one lucky reader the opportunity to win a £250 gift card with the stylish homeware brand

Read more
Tuesday, November 27, 2018

Celebrating its 25 anniversary, Kinghams restaurant is found at the heart of one of Surrey’s most iconic villages. Matthew Williams visits to discover the secrets of its longevity

Read more
Monday, November 26, 2018

This edition of Surrey Life features all the local ingredients to make this month special

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search