CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today CLICK HERE

The Westerly, Reigate, Surrey RH2 9AN - restaurant review - CLOSED

PUBLISHED: 18:43 10 November 2011 | UPDATED: 14:50 20 February 2013

Get some great food on Reigate High Street at the Westerly

Get some great food on Reigate High Street at the Westerly

This month, restaurant critic John Hughes visited one of the best restaurants in Reigate, The Westerly, which has been garnering some impressive reviews

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine 2007


Reviewed: The Westerly, 2-4 London Road, Reigate, Surrey RH2 9AN Tel: 01737 222733

This month, restaurant critic John Hughes visited one of Reigate's newest restaurants, The Westerly, which has been garnering some impressive reviews



Share your favourite Surrey restaurants


SUBSCRIBE to Surrey Life magazine
BUY SL online




*The Westerly closed its doors for the last time in November 2011



Sitting enjoying a pint outside the Stephan Langton pub in Friday Street near Dorking last autumn, I overheard the outgoing encumbants saying they were off to open a bistro in Reigate, on the London Road where Sweet Potato used to be. I knew precisely the location, but thought little of it until recently when asked to review a new bistro in Reigate, on the London Road - where Sweet Potato used to be!

So it was Jon and Cynthia Coombs I had overheard, and their bistro, The Westerly, is now up and running and gaining quite a reputation judging by the reviews. The faade and dining room have a freshness and newness about them that is highly appealing - everything is stylish, modern and delightfully focused on serving good food with originality but avoiding any hint of pretentiousness.

Surrey Life's editor, Caroline Harrap, joined me on this occasion and we scoured the menu with interest. The choice was easy for me - as a starter I had to try croquette of pig's head in sauce gribiche. The title conjured up all sorts of strange possibilities, but the dish turned out to be a simple croquette, rich in flavour and complemented well by the mustard, boiled egg and herb-based sauce. For my main course, I chose roast magret of duck with confit hash, pineapple relish and "Secretts" leaves (i.e. a selection of salad leaves from Secretts farm near Millford).

As a vegetarian, Caroline found the choice more difficult. Disappointingly, there were no meat free main courses available (without prior notice) and only one starter - beetroot and ricotta ravioli - which we were told could be expanded into a main course. However, fish is not entirely taboo for Caroline and so she started with marinated sardines, vine tomatoes, parsley and olive salad, followed by a main course of roast cod, chick peas, brandade and romesco. I was on my own for desserts with Caroline bowing out defeated. Cynthia recommended the delicious caramelised peaches with marscapone and amaretti biscuits and I took her excellent advice.

All dishes were beautifully presented and the service was discreet and very professional. Jon takes pride in the freshness of his produce and sources are listed on the menu - meat from Robert and Edwards, vegetables from Charlie Hicks the Greengrocer, both just round the corner in the High Street, and all fish comes from sustainable sources.

The Westerly's wine list is well balanced and approachable with wines available by the glass and in half litre carafes as well as full bottles. This suited me as I was driving and a glass of moderately weighted and fruity Gamay Henri Marionet 2005 was just perfect, as was the glass of prosecco and pomegranate on arrival.

Of particular note for local businesses is an upstairs meeting room that seats 20 comfortably and is available for daytime conferences. There is also an attractive lunch menu offering most of the dishes from the main menu and therefore excellent value at 19.50 for three courses and 17.50 for two.

The Westerly has given Reigate just what it needed - a well priced, quality modern bistro to complement the chain restaurants and pricey fine dining venues. Once you've been there, you'll almost certainly want to make a return visit. Personally, I've got my eye on the 21-day rib eye of Charolais with triple cooked chips - but don't tell my waistline.


What we ate

Starters
Croquette of Pig's Head 5.50
Marinated Sardines 6.00

Main Courses
Roast Magret of Duck 14.50
Roast Cod 14.50

Desserts
Caramelised Peaches 5.00

Drinks
Glass of Prosecco and Pomegranate 4.50
Glass of Gamay Henri Marionet 2005 5.00

The Verdict:

Food and wine 7/10
Venue 8/10
Service 8/10

More from Surrey Life

Surrounded by reservoirs and located on the banks of the famous river from which it takes its name, Staines-upon-Thames (as it is now called) is a town working to reshape its future and celebrate its picturesque riverside setting

Read more
Yesterday, 16:30

She may have recently moved to the seaside, but Surrey still holds a uniquely “precious” place in the heart of legendary children’s author Dame Jacqueline Wilson – not to mention the crucial role the county played in bringing everyone’s favourite and newly-returning feisty foster-kid to life

Read more
Yesterday, 11:59

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (23, 24 and 25 November): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Thursday, November 15, 2018

Surrey is full of secret hideaways and hidden gems. Slades Farm on the Wintershall Estate is definitely one of them

Read more
Wednesday, November 14, 2018

The new hotel is set to open in spring 2019 and will be located in the heart of the vineyard, offering sweeping views over the North Downs Way.

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

From Santa’s Grottos, to Victorian Christmas markets and late-night shopping, we’ve covered what’s on in Surrey this season

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Having bloomed in Brighton’s restaurant scene over the past decade, The Chilli Pickle opened its second site in Guildford this summer

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Historic Royal Palaces and IMG have announced that Kylie Minogue is the first headliner confirmed for Hampton Court Palace Festival 2019. These will be her only London shows of summer 2019. Here’s how you can get tickets

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Enjoy this linear rail to ramble section of the Thames Down Link route taking the short train-ride from Box Hill & Westhumble to Ashtead before walking back

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

It’s that time of year when our beautiful countryside is alight with the colours of autumn. Here, we pick out some of her favourite spots to enjoy the seasonal splendour – as well as some perfect places for a post-walk refresher

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Found on the stretch of the River Thames between Weybridge and East Molesey, Sunbury-on-Thames is blessed with a village feel where it meets the water. From antique hunts to the joys of river life, here are a few of our favourite reasons to visit

Read more
Monday, November 5, 2018

Verity & Violet are Loui and Jess – a singing duo from Surrey who specialise in blending vintage classics with modern favourites. The two have achieved success in the capital, but are now hoping to attract an audience closer to home

Read more
Friday, November 2, 2018

With the Christmas celebrations seemingly starting earlier every year, it all feels a little too ‘soon’ sometimes, but what if you want to look your best for Christmas & New year celebrations and are considering having cosmetic non-surgical procedures? The Bella Vou Pantiles Clinic offers surgical and non-surgical cosmetic procedures and treatments from a purpose-built private clinic in the heart of Royal Tunbridge Wells

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search