CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today CLICK HERE

The Toby Cottage, Ripley, Surrey GU23 - restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 13:13 25 May 2012 | UPDATED: 14:54 20 February 2013

The Toby Cottage is a 16th century oak-beamed building

The Toby Cottage is a 16th century oak-beamed building

Tradition is high on the agenda this month as restaurant critic John Hughes enjoys the delights of the Toby Cottage in Ripley

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine October 2007


Restaurant reviewed: Toby Cottage, High Street, Ripley, Surrey GU23 Tel: 01483 224225


Tradition is high on the agenda this month as restaurant critic John Hughes enjoys the delights of the Toby Cottage in Ripley


Share your favourite Surrey restaurants


SUBSCRIBE to Surrey Life magazine
BUY SL online
DOWNLOAD the app


The Verdict:
Food: 7
Venue: 7
Service: 7


What we ate:
29.95 for three courses


Starters:
Home-made pork & apple pt
Confit of duck leg served with a red onion marmalade


Main courses:
Grilled fillet of Loch Duart salmon with a white wine and prawn sauce
Roast rump of lamb with a celeriac puree and red wine jus


Desserts:
A selection of home-made ice cream and sorbet
Ginger and star anise panna cotta with mango coulis


Drinks:
Marques de Caceres (2009), Rioja Rosado, 17.95


What we ate...

Starters
Seafood Pancake 10.95
Asparagus 9.95

Main Courses
Tournedos Rossini 19.50
Roast Crispy Duck 18.95
Selection of fresh
vegetables and potatoes 3.50

Sweets
Strawberry cheesecake 6.50

Drinks
Rioja Bod. Paternina
Tempranillo-Garnache 2005 16.50

THE VERDICT
Food and wine 8/10
Venue 9/10
Service 9/10


REVIEW: The experience of dining at the Toby Cottage in Ripley is, as one might hope, just as traditional as the 16th century oak-beamed building in which this stylish restaurant is housed. Apparently, it used to be an antiques shop specialising in Toby Jugs and this was the inspiration for the name when it was converted into a restaurant in 1979. Under new management for the last year or so, tradition continues to be high on the agenda with an emphasis on close contact with customers. Flamb cooking at the table, for instance, is one of their specialities.

After ordering over an aperitif in the charming cocktail bar, my daughter Helen and I were seated in the main dining room with reminders to "mind your head" as we passed under beams that even the sweets trolley could barely duck under.

We had both been tempted away from the impressive array of starters on the main menu by some delicious specials. I chose asparagus; nice large, tender spears served simply with a hollandaise sauce. Meanwhile, Helen enjoyed a generous seafood pancake, brimming with flavours - a meal in itself almost. Both were excellent and a fine advertisement for the Toby Cottage's pride in using absolutely fresh ingredients.

My main course was an old favourite, Tournedos Rossini, a dish introduced to the Toby Cottage by their chef from his previous position at The Cloche Hat in Chobham. The fillet steak was tender yet firm, and the pat topping had a pleasing course, crumbling texture, which I much prefer to the smoother variety, both complemented by a rich Madeira sauce. Served with a selection of fresh vegetables and potatoes, this was a very satisfying dish. Across the table, Helen seemed equally pleased with her roast crispy duck and, in particular, the accompanying honey and almond sauce.

The wine list at the Toby Cottage is a subject of its own and has been developed and refined with great attention to complement the menu's blend of English and continental cuisine. To mention one section alone, the selection of Rioja wines is extensive, ranging from my modest choice, Bod. Paternina Temranillo-Garnache 2005, to some stunning vintages that come at a price.

All sweets from the trolley are handmade on the premises, and we shared a strawberry cheesecake, initially as a token gesture. But it turned out to be a gem with a flavour to die for and, we decided, worth forgoing starters for a future visit. There was just something about it.

Overall, it was a lovely evening in a charming restaurant serving traditional food and wine to a very high standard. The service was excellent, the waiters attentive and you leave with a feeling of contentment that is happily not compromised by the more contemporary habit of presenting you with a thumping great bill.

More from Surrey Life

Yesterday, 16:06

Education expert Dr Ryan Hinchey, Coordinator of College Counselling at ACS International School, with campuses in Cobham, Egham and Hillingdon, answers your questions

Read more
Yesterday, 11:34

Surrounded by reservoirs and located on the banks of the famous river from which it takes its name, Staines-upon-Thames (as it is now called) is a town working to reshape its future and celebrate its picturesque riverside setting

Read more
Mon, 16:30

She may have recently moved to the seaside, but Surrey still holds a uniquely “precious” place in the heart of legendary children’s author Dame Jacqueline Wilson – not to mention the crucial role the county played in bringing everyone’s favourite and newly-returning feisty foster-kid to life

Read more
Mon, 11:59

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (23, 24 and 25 November): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Thursday, November 15, 2018

Surrey is full of secret hideaways and hidden gems. Slades Farm on the Wintershall Estate is definitely one of them

Read more
Wednesday, November 14, 2018

The new hotel is set to open in spring 2019 and will be located in the heart of the vineyard, offering sweeping views over the North Downs Way.

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

From Santa’s Grottos, to Victorian Christmas markets and late-night shopping, we’ve covered what’s on in Surrey this season

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Having bloomed in Brighton’s restaurant scene over the past decade, The Chilli Pickle opened its second site in Guildford this summer

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Historic Royal Palaces and IMG have announced that Kylie Minogue is the first headliner confirmed for Hampton Court Palace Festival 2019. These will be her only London shows of summer 2019. Here’s how you can get tickets

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Enjoy this linear rail to ramble section of the Thames Down Link route taking the short train-ride from Box Hill & Westhumble to Ashtead before walking back

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

It’s that time of year when our beautiful countryside is alight with the colours of autumn. Here, we pick out some of her favourite spots to enjoy the seasonal splendour – as well as some perfect places for a post-walk refresher

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Found on the stretch of the River Thames between Weybridge and East Molesey, Sunbury-on-Thames is blessed with a village feel where it meets the water. From antique hunts to the joys of river life, here are a few of our favourite reasons to visit

Read more
Monday, November 5, 2018

Verity & Violet are Loui and Jess – a singing duo from Surrey who specialise in blending vintage classics with modern favourites. The two have achieved success in the capital, but are now hoping to attract an audience closer to home

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search