CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today CLICK HERE

The Thai Terrace, Guildford, Surrey GU1 3RT - restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 19:14 06 December 2010 | UPDATED: 09:40 30 March 2015

The Thai Terrace, Guildford

The Thai Terrace, Guildford

With spectacular views over Guildford, the Thai Terrace is one of the town's most popular haunts - just make sure you book early if you want to be sure of a table. Restaurant critic JOHN HUGHES went along to give it a try

 

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine July 2008


Reviewed: Thai Terrace 7th Floor, Castle Car Park, Sydenham Road, Guildford, GU1 3RT Tel: 01483 503350


***


What we ate...

Starters
Mixed starters for one £8.50
Kanom Pang Na Goong £7.80

Main Courses
Phad Thai Goong Sod £11.25
Egg Fried Rice £ 3.85
Pla Ma-Karm £13.95
Steamed Jasmine Rice £3.60

Dessert
Assorted Homemade Thai Desserts £5.95

Wine
Monte Verde Chardonnay 2006 Chile £15.80

VERDICT
Food & wine 6/10
Service 7/10
Venue 9/10

***

The address of the Thai Terrace sounds like a bit of a joke - 7th Floor, Castle Car Park - but in fact it massively undersells what turns out to be a stunning venue; a huge penthouse with smart bar area, comfy sofas, wooden panel partitions and a dining area surrounded by glass offering amazing views across the rooftops of Guildford. I could get quite poetic about it!

It was a Tuesday evening - deliberately chosen so as not to be too busy - but the place was heaving. Lord only knows what it must be like at weekends. We started with cocktails and spent the first 15 minutes taking in the atmosphere.

The menus are on sort of bamboo clipboards, an original idea that fits in well with the surroundings - and there is much to read as the choice is enormous.

Helen, our photographer, dived in and went for the mixed starters for one, which turned out to be a wise choice (lamb satay, chicken wrapped in pandan leaves, deep fried prawn with sesame seeds, minced herbed pork with crabmeat). I chose the Kanom Pang Na Goong - prawn on toast dipped in egg yolk then deep fried and served with sweet chilli sauce. Both were enjoyable and easy to share between two.

Buzzy, trendy atmosphere

My main course was Pla Ma-Karm - deep fried tilapia fish over pak choi topped with honey-tamarind sauce and crispy shallot. Tilapia has a reputation for blandness and certainly that was the case here, though the pak choi base added flavour and texture. I chose steamed jasmine rice as an accompaniment, which had the sticky rice texture distinctive in Thai cuisine. Helen fared well with Phad Thai Goong Sod - fried Thai style rice noodles with tiger prawns and bean sprouts topped with egg net - which looked great and had more flavour and interest than mine - and a side order of egg fried rice.

We shared a dessert: Thai Terrace's assorted homemade Thai desserts, made using fresh coconut milk and palm sugar. Pick of the bunch was a sweet rice reminiscent of cold rice pudding - delicious.

A delight for me was the wine list - broad and varied with prices to suit all. I chose a Chilean white, a 2006 Monte Verde Chardonnay, which was very acceptable.

I walked into the Thai Terrace hoping and expecting to be as knocked out by the food and service (radio controlled judging by the earpieces) as I was by the restaurant itself, but my general feeling afterwards was that they didn't quite match up to the surroundings. Having said that, it's extremely popular, and the buzzy, trendy atmosphere alone is enough to make it a great evening out. Go along and see for yourself.
 

***


3 other restaurants with a view:

The Petersham
Nightingale Lane, Richmond
TW10 6UZ Tel: 020 8940 7471
Prominently perched on Richmond Hill, 'Restaurant at The Petersham' offers fine British cooking in elegant surroundings. Each table boasts unspoilt, panoramic views of the River Thames and Petersham meadow (see next month's Surrey Life for a full review).

Zest
House of Fraser, 105-111 High Street, Guildford GU1 3DU Tel: 0844 800 3730
Serving brasserie style dishes and situated at the top of House of Fraser, the views and beautiful water garden surrounding the café revive tired shoppers. On warmer days, the opportunity to dine outside is not to be missed.

Great Fosters
Stroude Road, Egham TW20 9UR
Tel: 01784 433822
With the opportunity for pre-dinner drinks in the Cocktail Bar overlooking the Japanese bridge, or relaxing on the terrace through the summer months, Great Fosters offers high quality dining in beautiful surroundings.

More from Surrey Life

Yesterday, 16:06

Education expert Dr Ryan Hinchey, Coordinator of College Counselling at ACS International School, with campuses in Cobham, Egham and Hillingdon, answers your questions

Read more
Yesterday, 11:34

Surrounded by reservoirs and located on the banks of the famous river from which it takes its name, Staines-upon-Thames (as it is now called) is a town working to reshape its future and celebrate its picturesque riverside setting

Read more
Mon, 16:30

She may have recently moved to the seaside, but Surrey still holds a uniquely “precious” place in the heart of legendary children’s author Dame Jacqueline Wilson – not to mention the crucial role the county played in bringing everyone’s favourite and newly-returning feisty foster-kid to life

Read more
Mon, 11:59

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (23, 24 and 25 November): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Thursday, November 15, 2018

Surrey is full of secret hideaways and hidden gems. Slades Farm on the Wintershall Estate is definitely one of them

Read more
Wednesday, November 14, 2018

The new hotel is set to open in spring 2019 and will be located in the heart of the vineyard, offering sweeping views over the North Downs Way.

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

From Santa’s Grottos, to Victorian Christmas markets and late-night shopping, we’ve covered what’s on in Surrey this season

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Having bloomed in Brighton’s restaurant scene over the past decade, The Chilli Pickle opened its second site in Guildford this summer

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Historic Royal Palaces and IMG have announced that Kylie Minogue is the first headliner confirmed for Hampton Court Palace Festival 2019. These will be her only London shows of summer 2019. Here’s how you can get tickets

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Enjoy this linear rail to ramble section of the Thames Down Link route taking the short train-ride from Box Hill & Westhumble to Ashtead before walking back

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

It’s that time of year when our beautiful countryside is alight with the colours of autumn. Here, we pick out some of her favourite spots to enjoy the seasonal splendour – as well as some perfect places for a post-walk refresher

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Found on the stretch of the River Thames between Weybridge and East Molesey, Sunbury-on-Thames is blessed with a village feel where it meets the water. From antique hunts to the joys of river life, here are a few of our favourite reasons to visit

Read more
Monday, November 5, 2018

Verity & Violet are Loui and Jess – a singing duo from Surrey who specialise in blending vintage classics with modern favourites. The two have achieved success in the capital, but are now hoping to attract an audience closer to home

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search