CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today CLICK HERE

The Oak Room at Great Fosters, Egham, Surrey TW20 9UR - restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 12:58 26 July 2011 | UPDATED: 19:45 20 February 2013

The Oak Room at Great Fosters, Egham, Surrey TW20 9UR - restaurant review

The Oak Room at Great Fosters, Egham, Surrey TW20 9UR - restaurant review

A magical setting, the former hunting lodge Great Fosters in Egham is home to the award-winning modern English restaurant, The Oak Room. With prices at a premium, they certainly set the bar high, as MATTHEW WILLIAMS discovers

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine July 2011


Restaurant reviewed: The Oak Room at Great Fosters, Stroude Road, Egham, SurreyTW20 9UR: 01784 433822


A magical setting, the former hunting lodge Great Fosters in Egham is home to the award-winning modern English restaurant, The Oak Room. With prices at a premium, they certainly set the bar high, asMatthew Williams discovers


Share your favourite Surrey restaurants


SUBSCRIBE to Surrey Life magazine
BUY SL online


Verdict:
Food: 7.
Service: 9.
Venue: 9.


What we ate:
Two courses, 46


Starters
Foie gras: Label Anglais chicken pressing with foie gras and
Yorkshire beetroot
Salmon: Loch Duart salmon with horseradish, spinach, fondant potato and kohlrabi


Main courses
Pork: Dedham Estate pork belly, croquette, salted cheek, choucroute and apple
Cod: Roast cod fillet with chorizo, white bean and thyme cassoulet


Drinks
Vouvray Cteaux de la Biche. Domaine Jean Claude Pichot 2008, 30


REVIEW: As you arrive at Great Fosters, turning onto the driveway with house in view and into the Aston-lined car park, its hard to expect anything other than something special.


And thats before you throw into the mix its much pedestalled restaurant, The Oak Room, which has received three rosettes from the AA and is now in the guides top 10 per cent.


Built in 1550, probably as a royal hunting lodge, the Grade One listed building, which is now independently owned by the Sutcliffe family, is set among 50 acres of stunning gardens and parkland in Egham and has been graced by the likes of Charlie Chaplin and Orson Welles.


Once inside, you can see why: all welcoming dark wood panelling, it transports you back in time.


The service is absolutely exemplary too. We arrived a little early and, with hopes of a wander around the grounds dashed by the only rain of the month, we settled in at the bar where drinks, olives and restaurant menus were quickly distributed before we were swept into The Oak Room itself.


With high vaulted ceilings, the dining room is a change of pace to the journey so far; brighter with understated modern dcor and linen-clad tables. Its certainly a very romantic and unforgettable location.


Just for starters
With a fine bottle of Vouvray supplied by the sommelier, along with freshly baked flavoured breads garlic and thyme, chorizo etc, we felt very relaxed and at home, which isnt necessarily always the case in these historic establishments.


Unfortunately though, like that old football clich, our meal proved to be a game of two halves.


Both our fish dishes (my starter and my partners main course) proved disappointing when the 46-for-two- courses price was factored in.
The flavour of the fish, in my Loch Duart salmon and Sylvianes roast cod fillet, simply didnt capture the imagination as youd hope and the accompaniments were not interesting enough to rescue things.
Yet, heres the rub. The other two dishes were as close to the top end of the spectrum as it gets.


Sylvianes foie gras starter was a stunning dish that blew her away, leaving her more than a little speechless the foie gras working with the chicken and beetroot to perfection.


My main course, the pork belly, was just as good. Succulent pork cooked two ways and just a little bit special a really stunning dish.


Sitting in our fairy tale setting, with the last of the wine still cool from the ice bucket, we had plenty to contemplate, especially when the bill arrived


The bar is set very high with the prices charged at Great Fosters and, while nothing about our meal was particularly bad, when youre spending that amount diners have every right to expect every single mouthful to send the palette soaring. Sadly, on this occasion, that wasnt quite the case.


That aside, though, a memorable evening in gorgeous surroundings; now we just need the Aston Martin...



  • For the art lovers: Sculpture Al Fresco, an outdoor sculpture exhibition in the grounds of Great Fosters, is set to run until Monday August 29 offering the perfect opportunity to try out The Oak Room for yourselves, or simply experience the glorious setting.



3 other triple AA rosette restaurants
(and what the guide had to say about them)


Drakes
The Clock House, High Street, Ripley GU23 6AQ: 01483 224777
Chef-patron Steve Drake earned his stripes with some of the worlds biggest names Nico Ladenis, Marco Pierre White, the Roux brothers and fabled French chef Marc Veyrat.


Bingham Restaurant
61-63 Petersham Road, Richmond TW10 6UT: 0208 940 0902
Set in a boutique hotel, which was originally built as two Georgian houses, chef Shay Coopers modern British menu is full of stunning combinations of flavours and textures.


The Glasshouse
14 Station Parade, Kew TW9 3PZ: 0208 940 6777
Part of the Nigel Platts-Martin and Bruce Poole stable of restaurants, the Glasshouse is a buzzy neighbourhood bolt-hole that gets everything right.

More from Surrey Life

Yesterday, 16:06

Education expert Dr Ryan Hinchey, Coordinator of College Counselling at ACS International School, with campuses in Cobham, Egham and Hillingdon, answers your questions

Read more
Yesterday, 11:34

Surrounded by reservoirs and located on the banks of the famous river from which it takes its name, Staines-upon-Thames (as it is now called) is a town working to reshape its future and celebrate its picturesque riverside setting

Read more
Mon, 16:30

She may have recently moved to the seaside, but Surrey still holds a uniquely “precious” place in the heart of legendary children’s author Dame Jacqueline Wilson – not to mention the crucial role the county played in bringing everyone’s favourite and newly-returning feisty foster-kid to life

Read more
Mon, 11:59

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (23, 24 and 25 November): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Thursday, November 15, 2018

Surrey is full of secret hideaways and hidden gems. Slades Farm on the Wintershall Estate is definitely one of them

Read more
Wednesday, November 14, 2018

The new hotel is set to open in spring 2019 and will be located in the heart of the vineyard, offering sweeping views over the North Downs Way.

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

From Santa’s Grottos, to Victorian Christmas markets and late-night shopping, we’ve covered what’s on in Surrey this season

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Having bloomed in Brighton’s restaurant scene over the past decade, The Chilli Pickle opened its second site in Guildford this summer

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Historic Royal Palaces and IMG have announced that Kylie Minogue is the first headliner confirmed for Hampton Court Palace Festival 2019. These will be her only London shows of summer 2019. Here’s how you can get tickets

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Enjoy this linear rail to ramble section of the Thames Down Link route taking the short train-ride from Box Hill & Westhumble to Ashtead before walking back

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

It’s that time of year when our beautiful countryside is alight with the colours of autumn. Here, we pick out some of her favourite spots to enjoy the seasonal splendour – as well as some perfect places for a post-walk refresher

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Found on the stretch of the River Thames between Weybridge and East Molesey, Sunbury-on-Thames is blessed with a village feel where it meets the water. From antique hunts to the joys of river life, here are a few of our favourite reasons to visit

Read more
Monday, November 5, 2018

Verity & Violet are Loui and Jess – a singing duo from Surrey who specialise in blending vintage classics with modern favourites. The two have achieved success in the capital, but are now hoping to attract an audience closer to home

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search