CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today CLICK HERE

The Lock, runnymede-on-thames hotel, Egham, Surrey TW20 0AG - restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 17:23 20 December 2010 | UPDATED: 17:58 20 February 2013

The Lock, runnymede-on-thames hotel, Egham, Surrey TW20 0AG - restaurant review

The Lock, runnymede-on-thames hotel, Egham, Surrey TW20 0AG - restaurant review

Following a major revamp, the swanky new restaurant at the runnymede-on-thames hotel is proving something of a hit, not only with guests but with visitors from around Surrey looking for an evening dining destination. MATTHEW WILLIAMS paid a visit

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine September 2010


Restaurant reviewed: The Lock, runnymede-on-thames hotel, Egham, SurreyTW20 0AG Tel: 01784 220 960


Following a major revamp, the swanky new restaurant at the runnymede-on-thames hotel is proving something of a hit, not only with guests but with visitors from around Surrey looking for an evening dining destination. MATTHEW WILLIAMS paid a visit


Share your favourite Surrey restaurants


SUBSCRIBE to Surrey Life magazine
BUY SL online



Verdict


Food and drink 9
Service8
Venue8


What we ate


Starters
Red mullet with shaved fennel, red pepper and parsley vinaigrette 6.75
Grilled prawn and squid brochette, salad of puy lentils, baby spinach
and basil 7.95


Main Courses
Roast West Country rack of lamb with new potatoes, thyme jus, stuffed courgette and baby peppers45 for two


Desserts
Selection of artisan cheeses, home-made pickle and chutney7.75
Hot chocolate fondant, caramel mousse and vanilla ice-cream6.75


Drinks
Pierre Luneau Papin Muscadet, Loire Valley, France 23

REVIEW:Its been all change at the Runnymede Hotel just lately: out is the historical shtick of the Magna Carta, local lock-keepers and all, and in is a new rebranding focussing on location, location, location perhaps a little less magical, but the results are certainly impressive.


The interior of their newly revamped restaurant, The Lock (previously Charlie Bells), is a case in point: super-stylish with a rather retro, Seventies sort of feel about it (the parquet flooring is a particularly nice touch). All really rather swanky, chintz this is not...


While a map on the wall acts as a reminder of just how much there is to do in the area, with Windsor Castle, Legoland etc all on the doorstep, there is no doubt that these days the hotel is aiming to be a destination in its own right.


On arrival, we were offered a choice of inside or outside dining and, although it was a sunny day, we felt the indoor experience would be closer to what readers would be likely to experience in the coming months. I was also a tad worried about aircraft noise, as you do really notice that you are under the Heathrow flightpath in the Runnymede area.


Perhaps inspired by the attractive riverside setting (or maybe it was the giant stuffed pike on display in the hotel foyer), my partner and I both decided to go for seafood dishes to start off with.


Delivered on beds of refreshing salad, Sylvianes squid and prawn
dish went down a treat and my red snapper did the trick likewise. The restaurant takes great pride in having their fish delivered fresh daily from sustainable sources, and so they should.


To wash it down, we chose a bottle of the excellent Pierre Luneau Papin Muscadet, from the Loire Valley, which hit the spot perfectly.


I should say at this point, by the way, that the between course bread is fantastic the onion variety proving to be a particular highlight for us (so much so that its amazing we had room for anything else).


Just the two of us
There was only one choice really when it came to the main course, as their rack of lamb signature sharing dish leapt off the menu.


The joy of sharing and simplicity is a very homely feeling and, despite sitting in a hotel restaurant, we were promptly whisked away to some country cottage.


Tender lamb came off the bone with little need for cajoling, and an experience I associate more closely with tapas or large scale Sunday roasts made for a thoroughly intimate affair.


Having got a taste for sharing, we picked a chocolate fondant for dessert (a part warm, part crunchy, part cold delight) and cheese platter (I particularly enjoyed the blue, though the goats cheese was a tad overpowering for my liking) for a sweet and savoury finale.


On leaving, I noticed a collection of decorated ducks in the hotel foyer. Apparently, these have gradually been disappearing, one assumes as keepsakes into the pockets of slightly inebriated guests. Suffice to say, after such a fantastic meal, wed have taken the chef home instead if we could, if only wed brought a suitable travel case with us. Next time.



3 other riverside restaurants in Surrey


The Stag on the River
Lower Eashing Road, Eashing, Godalming, SurreyGU7 2QG
Tel: 01483 421568
Perched on the banks of the River Wey in the charming and sleepy Surrey village of Lower Eashing, you will find the Stag on the River pub.


Riverside Vegetaria
64 High Street, Kingston-upon-Thames, SurreyKT1 1HN
Established in 1989, this award-winning Kingston eatery has been a much-loved vegetarian dining destination for years.


The Petersham
Nightingale Lane, Richmond, Surrey TW10 6UZ
020 8940 7471
Dominating the Thames from its hilltop setting, The Petersham is a popular haunt for celebrities.

More from Surrey Life

16:30

She may have recently moved to the seaside, but Surrey still holds a uniquely “precious” place in the heart of legendary children’s author Dame Jacqueline Wilson – not to mention the crucial role the county played in bringing everyone’s favourite and newly-returning feisty foster-kid to life

Read more
11:59

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (23, 24 and 25 November): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Thursday, November 15, 2018

Surrey is full of secret hideaways and hidden gems. Slades Farm on the Wintershall Estate is definitely one of them

Read more
Wednesday, November 14, 2018

The new hotel is set to open in spring 2019 and will be located in the heart of the vineyard, offering sweeping views over the North Downs Way.

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

From Santa’s Grottos, to Victorian Christmas markets and late-night shopping, we’ve covered what’s on in Surrey this season

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Having bloomed in Brighton’s restaurant scene over the past decade, The Chilli Pickle opened its second site in Guildford this summer

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Historic Royal Palaces and IMG have announced that Kylie Minogue is the first headliner confirmed for Hampton Court Palace Festival 2019. These will be her only London shows of summer 2019. Here’s how you can get tickets

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Enjoy this linear rail to ramble section of the Thames Down Link route taking the short train-ride from Box Hill & Westhumble to Ashtead before walking back

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

It’s that time of year when our beautiful countryside is alight with the colours of autumn. Here, we pick out some of her favourite spots to enjoy the seasonal splendour – as well as some perfect places for a post-walk refresher

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Found on the stretch of the River Thames between Weybridge and East Molesey, Sunbury-on-Thames is blessed with a village feel where it meets the water. From antique hunts to the joys of river life, here are a few of our favourite reasons to visit

Read more
Monday, November 5, 2018

Verity & Violet are Loui and Jess – a singing duo from Surrey who specialise in blending vintage classics with modern favourites. The two have achieved success in the capital, but are now hoping to attract an audience closer to home

Read more
Friday, November 2, 2018

With the Christmas celebrations seemingly starting earlier every year, it all feels a little too ‘soon’ sometimes, but what if you want to look your best for Christmas & New year celebrations and are considering having cosmetic non-surgical procedures? The Bella Vou Pantiles Clinic offers surgical and non-surgical cosmetic procedures and treatments from a purpose-built private clinic in the heart of Royal Tunbridge Wells

Read more
Thursday, November 1, 2018

Living in England’s most densely wooded county, it’s always a pleasure to witness Surrey donning its autumn finery. Here’s some of the best places to do just that - plus a few pub pit stops to enjoy on route!

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search