CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today CLICK HERE

The Joshua Tree, Redhill, Surrey RH1 6HG - restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 17:24 20 December 2010 | UPDATED: 17:35 20 February 2013

The Joshua Tree, Redhill, Surrey RH1 6HG - restaurant review

The Joshua Tree, Redhill, Surrey RH1 6HG - restaurant review

A jealously guarded secret on the Surrey dining scene, The Joshua Tree is a fairly normal looking pub in Earlswood, just outside Redhill, that hides a real gem of a restaurant. Surrey Life restaurant reviewer John Hughes lets the cat out the bag

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine June 2010


Restaurant reviewed: The Joshua Tree, 30 Common Road, Earlswood Common, Redhill, SurreyRH1 6HG
Tel: 01737 211994


A jealously guarded secret on the Surrey dining scene, The Joshua Tree is a fairly normal looking pub in Earlswood, just outside Redhill, that hides a real gem of a restaurant. Surrey Life restaurant reviewer John Hughes lets the cat out the bag


Share your favourite Surrey restaurants


SUBSCRIBE to Surrey Life magazine
BUY SL online



Verdict


Food and drink 9
Service9
Venue9


What we ate


Starters
Cheddar Cheese and Chive Souffle5.95
King Prawn and Squid Tempura5.95


Main Courses
Grilled Kangaroo Fillet15.50
Tornado of Belly Pork13.95


Desserts
Chocolate Lumpy Bumpy4.00
Maple and Pecan Danish Butter Pudding4.50


Drinks
Pinot Noir Valmoissine Louis Latour 200722.50

REVIEW:One of my friends had been banging on to me for so long about The Joshua Tree, on Earlswood Common, that eventually I went along just to keep her quiet.


It turned out to be an excellent recommendation, albeit one that is quite difficult to define not a gastropub in the modern parlance, though it certainly feels like a pub as you enter, but the restaurant at the back, round with a lovely dome-shaped roof, is a separate entity entirely. Owner and head chef Kevin Ibbotson styles it a bar and restaurant, which Id say is about right.


It was an ordinary weekday when we went, but buzzing nevertheless, which always tends to be a good sign. My starter was just superb a cheddar cheese and chive souffl with an asparagus and mustard dressing. It was a light, fluffy souffl with bags of flavour and tender asparagus, plus an unexpected and more than generous side salad. I loved it. Helen tried some souffl and went cross-eyed with delight.


Meanwhile, her king prawn and squid in tempura batter looked and tasted great (I pinched some) and was cleverly presented in a poppadom basket with a sweet chilli sauce.


Now then, a new experience for me for the main course grilled kangaroo fillet, served with double cooked potatoes, caramelised onion and garlic leaf hollandaise, and tomato chutney. The kangaroo looked to me like lamb, pink in the middle and with a similar texture, if a bit firmer and a slightly rawer flavour, which appealed to me. Served with a side dish of greens (peas, mange touts and French beans), this was a fascinating blend of the familiar and the less so, and very tasty indeed. Needless to say, Ive heard all the jokes when telling friends about it, but well ignore those here I think!


Helen went for something more traditional tornado of belly pork, braised in a barbecue sauce and served with bubble and squeak and crispy crackling. Shed had it before and knew it was good, and even the waitress was enthusing over this popular dish. Presentation was terrific, the meat cooked to perfection, and judging by the sound effects across the table, the crackling was very crackly!


Lumpy bumpy...
Helen also had the heads-up with the desserts the Chocolate Lumpy Bumpy was a must; layers of moist chocolate sponge, chocolate mousse and cheesecake with chocolate fudge topping. Her satisfied grin said it all. My Maple and Pecan Danish Butter Pudding was rather good, too.
There are some nice wines on the list at The Joshua Tree, none of them at the high end of the spectrum price-wise. I found a rather good, and reasonably priced, Pinto Noir Valmoissine Louis Latour 2007 light enough not to overpower the souffl but with enough body to complement the kangaroo (odd as this sounds to write!).


Driving home, I certainly felt Id been to a restaurant and not just to the pub. I like The Joshua Tree very much; it has a very relaxed, almost casual atmosphere that belies the professionalism of the kitchen and front of house staff alike. And the word unpretentious keeps coming to mind; refreshingly unpretentious.


3 other great restaurants in pubs


The Inn @ West End
42 Guildford Road, West End GU24 9PW
Tel: 01276 858652
This popular eatery offers the definitive gastro-pub experience. With a wine merchant for a licensee, the wine list speaks for itself, while the food utilises the very best in fresh local produce.


The Grumpy Mole
Dorking Road, Tadworth KT20 5RX
Tel: 01737 353529
Real ales and open fires, oak beams and pokey enclaves, nobody could accuse this attractive Edwardian establishment of lacking in character. It just so happens that the food and drink come highly rated, too.


The Black Swan
Old Lane, Ockham KT11 1NG
Tel: 01932 862364
A family-orientated hideaway, perfect for larger gatherings, the Black Swan has a laid-back, congenial atmosphere in cosy yet spacious surroundings. The food and wine menus are both excellent.

More from Surrey Life

Yesterday, 16:06

Education expert Dr Ryan Hinchey, Coordinator of College Counselling at ACS International School, with campuses in Cobham, Egham and Hillingdon, answers your questions

Read more
Yesterday, 11:34

Surrounded by reservoirs and located on the banks of the famous river from which it takes its name, Staines-upon-Thames (as it is now called) is a town working to reshape its future and celebrate its picturesque riverside setting

Read more
Mon, 16:30

She may have recently moved to the seaside, but Surrey still holds a uniquely “precious” place in the heart of legendary children’s author Dame Jacqueline Wilson – not to mention the crucial role the county played in bringing everyone’s favourite and newly-returning feisty foster-kid to life

Read more
Mon, 11:59

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (23, 24 and 25 November): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Thursday, November 15, 2018

Surrey is full of secret hideaways and hidden gems. Slades Farm on the Wintershall Estate is definitely one of them

Read more
Wednesday, November 14, 2018

The new hotel is set to open in spring 2019 and will be located in the heart of the vineyard, offering sweeping views over the North Downs Way.

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

From Santa’s Grottos, to Victorian Christmas markets and late-night shopping, we’ve covered what’s on in Surrey this season

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Having bloomed in Brighton’s restaurant scene over the past decade, The Chilli Pickle opened its second site in Guildford this summer

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Historic Royal Palaces and IMG have announced that Kylie Minogue is the first headliner confirmed for Hampton Court Palace Festival 2019. These will be her only London shows of summer 2019. Here’s how you can get tickets

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Enjoy this linear rail to ramble section of the Thames Down Link route taking the short train-ride from Box Hill & Westhumble to Ashtead before walking back

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

It’s that time of year when our beautiful countryside is alight with the colours of autumn. Here, we pick out some of her favourite spots to enjoy the seasonal splendour – as well as some perfect places for a post-walk refresher

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Found on the stretch of the River Thames between Weybridge and East Molesey, Sunbury-on-Thames is blessed with a village feel where it meets the water. From antique hunts to the joys of river life, here are a few of our favourite reasons to visit

Read more
Monday, November 5, 2018

Verity & Violet are Loui and Jess – a singing duo from Surrey who specialise in blending vintage classics with modern favourites. The two have achieved success in the capital, but are now hoping to attract an audience closer to home

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search