CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today CLICK HERE

The Grumpy Mole, Tadworth, Surrey KT20 5RX - restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 19:30 06 December 2010 | UPDATED: 11:38 28 February 2013

The Grumpy Mole

The Grumpy Mole

You'd get a little grumpy living underground all year too. Fortunately, The Grumpy Mole in Tadworth is located on terra firma rather than under it and restaurant critic JOHN HUGHES was all smiles as he tucked into his latest meal

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine March 2008


Restaurant reviewed: The Grumpy Mole, The Inn on the Green, Dorking Road, Tadworth, Surrey KT20 5RX: 01737 353529


You'd get a little grumpy living underground all year too. Fortunately, The Grumpy Mole in Tadworth is located on terra firma rather than under it and restaurant critic JOHN HUGHES was all smiles as he tucked into his latest meal


Share your favourite Surrey restaurants


SUBSCRIBE to Surrey Life magazine
BUY SL online


Verdict


Food & wine 8/10
Venue 8/10
Service 9/10


What we ate...



Starters
Mushrooms "Norbury Blue", 5.95
Salmon and Dill Fishcakes, 5.50

Mains
Succulent Tiger Prawns, 11.50
8 oz Scotch Sirloin Steak, 13.95 "On the stone"

Dessert
Double Chocolate and Cream Roulade, 4.95

Wine
Rioja Oak Aged Luis Canas 14.95 per bottle



Our review: On two separate occasions within the space of a week, I was confronted with virtually the same question: "Have you tried The Grumpy Mole at Tadworth? It's wonderful."

Needless to say, I was soon on the trail of this curiously named restaurant and discovered that I knew its location - at The Inn on the Green - but hadn't appreciated that last May the restaurant of this traditional old inn had become The Grumpy Mole. I soon had a table booked for Saturday lunch and discovered that there is nothing remotely grumpy about the place - in fact, the very opposite applies.

Pub meets restaurant...

The Inn on the Green tries hard to maintain its identity as both pub and restaurant, and an internal stone wall defines the border between the two. But it's a struggle, such is the popularity of the food, and effectively The Grumpy Mole takes over at prime dining times - in fact, some customers ask specifically for tables in the bar area. The menu is English and European, with a broad selection of dishes, and there is also a separate lunchtime bar menu.

Tantalising aromas...

For the starter, my guest chose Mushrooms 'Norbury Blue', pan-fried with Isle of Wight garlic and butter, topped with creamy blue cheese and served with salad garnish and crusty bread. The tantalising aroma of the garlic floated over to me as I sat opposite enjoying Salmon and Dill Fishcakes, a blend of Pacific salmon fillet and rosti potato in a creamy dill sauce "enrobed" in a crispy coating - very fine too served with a side dish of lemon mayonnaise.


The garlic level across the table increased even more with the presentation of Tiger Prawns with "tails on" and pan-fried in garlic with a timbale of rice, again served with salad and crusty bread.

Meanwhile, I simply had to try what is attracting diners to The Grumpy Mole in droves, their "on the stone" dishes, served sizzling to the table on a slab of piping hot stone that continues to cook the meat or fish to your liking. In my case, I chose an eight ounce Scotch beef sirloin steak with French fries, a side salad and a selection of relishes. When served, the steak was probably medium rare, but the stone remained sizzling hot throughout the meal and by the end it was well done. That suited me - however, if you like your beef anything less than well done it's advisable to ask for a side plate and remove it at an appropriate time. The meat was fine quality, and supplied locally by Scoulers of Bookham. I loved this style of presentation - original, simple yet highly effective. I was also told that it's ideal for fish as the stone keeps the flesh moist as it cooks; worth bearing in mind for my next visit.

Between us, we struggled to do justice to a single portion of double chocolate and cream roulade with chocolate sauce and clotted cream; but by then we were very content. This was helped along by a glass of oak aged Rioja from the Luis Canas vineyards, a lovely soft and smoky wine, and an ideal complement to my main course. The wine list at The Grumpy Mole is not extensive, but what they do present is well chosen.

Not a frown in sight...

So, all in all, a very enjoyable and reasonably priced dining experience and it is no wonder The Grumpy Mole is hugely popular. Plans are afoot to add a terrace to the existing building to cater for the demand. As for the service - not a grumpy face in sight; nothing but smiles and attentive waitresses with that uncanny ability to leave you be or pop up just when you need them.


3 other animal named restaurants in Surrey



The Minnow
104 Thames Street, Weybridge
Tel: 01932 831672
A pub with fabulous food, in a great location and with a large outdoor patio that makes it an ideal stop off on those warmer days...

Giraffe
215-217 High Street, Guildford
Tel: 01483 300237
Giraffes are the tallest of any living creature in the world, and with this restaurant's focus on healthy and ethical eating, you can walk tall, too, after eating a meal there...

FishWorks
13/19 The Square, Old Market, Richmond
020 8948 5965
A seafood themed restaurant that also offers fresh produce to take home with you and even cookery lessons...

More from Surrey Life

Yesterday, 10:52

Surrey is full of secret hideaways and hidden gems. Slades Farm on the Wintershall Estate is definitely one of them

Read more
Wed, 16:05

The new hotel is set to open in spring 2019 and will be located in the heart of the vineyard, offering sweeping views over the North Downs Way.

Read more
Tue, 10:53

From Santa’s Grottos, to Victorian Christmas markets and late-night shopping, we’ve covered what’s on in Surrey this season

Read more
Tue, 10:47

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Tue, 10:41

Having bloomed in Brighton’s restaurant scene over the past decade, The Chilli Pickle opened its second site in Guildford this summer

Read more
Mon, 14:32

Historic Royal Palaces and IMG have announced that Kylie Minogue is the first headliner confirmed for Hampton Court Palace Festival 2019. These will be her only London shows of summer 2019. Here’s how you can get tickets

Read more
Mon, 12:56

Enjoy this linear rail to ramble section of the Thames Down Link route taking the short train-ride from Box Hill & Westhumble to Ashtead before walking back

Read more
Mon, 12:13

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (16, 17 and 18 November): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

It’s that time of year when our beautiful countryside is alight with the colours of autumn. Here, we pick out some of her favourite spots to enjoy the seasonal splendour – as well as some perfect places for a post-walk refresher

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Found on the stretch of the River Thames between Weybridge and East Molesey, Sunbury-on-Thames is blessed with a village feel where it meets the water. From antique hunts to the joys of river life, here are a few of our favourite reasons to visit

Read more
Monday, November 5, 2018

Verity & Violet are Loui and Jess – a singing duo from Surrey who specialise in blending vintage classics with modern favourites. The two have achieved success in the capital, but are now hoping to attract an audience closer to home

Read more
Friday, November 2, 2018

With the Christmas celebrations seemingly starting earlier every year, it all feels a little too ‘soon’ sometimes, but what if you want to look your best for Christmas & New year celebrations and are considering having cosmetic non-surgical procedures? The Bella Vou Pantiles Clinic offers surgical and non-surgical cosmetic procedures and treatments from a purpose-built private clinic in the heart of Royal Tunbridge Wells

Read more
Thursday, November 1, 2018

Living in England’s most densely wooded county, it’s always a pleasure to witness Surrey donning its autumn finery. Here’s some of the best places to do just that - plus a few pub pit stops to enjoy on route!

Read more
Wednesday, October 31, 2018

We are regularly reminded of the high cost of housing with statistics revealing that only one in three millennials will be able to afford their own home during their lifetime and that most will remain in the category known as Generation Rent

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search