CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today CLICK HERE

The Grumpy Mole, Brockham, Surrey RH3 7JS – restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 01:26 06 January 2012 | UPDATED: 20:52 20 February 2013

The Grumpy Mole, Brockham, Surrey RH3 7JS – restaurant review

The Grumpy Mole, Brockham, Surrey RH3 7JS – restaurant review

What better way to test the party potential of one Surrey diner than a low-key Surrey Life lunch? Matthew Williams was joined by a few familiar faces to feast on the food and cheer of The Grumpy Mole in Brockham

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine December 2011


Reviewed: The Grumpy Mole, Brockham, Surrey RH3 7JS: 01737 845101


What better way to test the party potential of one Surrey diner than a low-key Surrey Life lunch?Matthew Williams was joined by a few familiar faces to feast on the food and cheer of The Grumpy Mole in Brockham


Share your favourite Surrey restaurants


SUBSCRIBE to Surrey Life magazine
BUY SL online


Verdict:


Food and drink 7
Service 8
Venue 8


What we ate...


Main courses:


The Grumpy Mole Pies, 14.95
Homemade Fragrant Red Thai Chicken Curry, 13.95
Mushroom, Brie, Hazelnut & Cranberry Wellington (V), 13.95
Chefs Own Venison Wellington, 15.95
Olde English Bangers n Mash, 9.95


REVIEW: Sitting at our table overlooking the recently named Surrey village of the years green, our waitress approaches apologetically: Weve had a call from one of your party and, well, theyve gone to Tadworth instead


An unexpected entre, as while The Grumpy Mole restaurant is indeed an established name in that particular village, BBC newsreader Nicholas Owen, BBC Surreys Nick Wallis, my esteemed editor Caroline Harrap and I were all at its newer sister pub in Brockham.


A few frantic phone exchanges later and photographer extraordinaire Andy Newbold was back in his car making the mad dash down the A25. Well blame it on the Sat Nav


What better way to test the party potential of a restaurant than with our motley arrangement the only thing missing was party hats, but with Andy and his camera in tow perhaps that was for the best.


So it was that lunch was taken over by stories about how to cope with announcing the death of a famous foreign dignitary sans information (Im sure he was the one who right?); pull off a musically accompanied talk sans musician (just tell them to put their finest grand piano on stage and lean on it every now and then); and survive the nerves that inevitably arise with an unscheduled career extension into comedy (the younger Nick has taken to stand-up after being thrown in at the deep end for Comic Relief earlier this year).


Anyway, back to the matter in hand, and even prior to the silly (sorry, festive) season kicking in, The Grumpy Mole is the kind of pub/restaurant for which the word cosy was created log fires, fairy lights etc. With separate bar/casual and restaurant/linen sections, it aptly caters for most situations. Just over a year old, it still had a lot to live up to in order to match its more experienced sister pub in Tadworth, which received a glowing Surrey Life magazine review when we visited back in 2008.


While the wine list offers a broad selection of whites and reds, by the bottle and glass, both the younger Nick and I were admittedly slightly disappointed by the limited range of real ale the restaurant has the feel of somewhere youd expect a wider choice, including a few local tipples.

On the menu
As for food, I can only speak for myself, but my Chefs Own Venison Wellington, with its tender steak in red wine jus was absolutely delicious (and there were certainly no complaints from the rest of the group, save perhaps the suggestion that there could have been a few more vegetarian dishes on the menu).


It being lunch, we didnt explore the desserts but there were plenty of
winter warmers that caught my eye for next time: classic French apple tart, warm sticky toffee pudding and bread and butter pudding, all with custard, naturally.


Looking ahead to the office party or family event, The Grumpy Mole proved to be the kind of restaurant where its possible to have a relatively noisy and fun lunch without over-awing other diners it was very busy for a midweek village lunchtime.


So, sadly no tales of highly spirited editors dancing on tables, drunk on festive cheer, to bribe extra holiday with (although one incumbent did blog about the Betchworth pub hed just enjoyed...), but our restrained revelry couldnt have hoped for a better host.



3 other Surrey pub/restaurants


The Inn @ West End
42 Guildford Road, West End GU24 9PW: 01276 858 652
A regular Surrey Dining Pub of the Year according to the Good Pub Guide, Gerry and Ann Price are part of the reason the definition between pub and fine dining restaurant has become so blurred.


The Bell
Bell Lane, Fetcham KT22 9ND: 01372 372624
Set in the village of Fetcham, The Bell is an original British pub graced by a stylish restaurant featured in the Good Food Guide.


The Three Horseshoes
Dye House Road, Thursley GU8 6QD: 01252 703268
The newly crowned Surrey Dining Pub of the Year, this community-owned country pub is run by Savoy-trained chef David Alders and Sandra Proni.

More from Surrey Life

Thursday, November 15, 2018

Surrey is full of secret hideaways and hidden gems. Slades Farm on the Wintershall Estate is definitely one of them

Read more
Wednesday, November 14, 2018

The new hotel is set to open in spring 2019 and will be located in the heart of the vineyard, offering sweeping views over the North Downs Way.

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

From Santa’s Grottos, to Victorian Christmas markets and late-night shopping, we’ve covered what’s on in Surrey this season

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Having bloomed in Brighton’s restaurant scene over the past decade, The Chilli Pickle opened its second site in Guildford this summer

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Historic Royal Palaces and IMG have announced that Kylie Minogue is the first headliner confirmed for Hampton Court Palace Festival 2019. These will be her only London shows of summer 2019. Here’s how you can get tickets

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Enjoy this linear rail to ramble section of the Thames Down Link route taking the short train-ride from Box Hill & Westhumble to Ashtead before walking back

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (16, 17 and 18 November): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

It’s that time of year when our beautiful countryside is alight with the colours of autumn. Here, we pick out some of her favourite spots to enjoy the seasonal splendour – as well as some perfect places for a post-walk refresher

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Found on the stretch of the River Thames between Weybridge and East Molesey, Sunbury-on-Thames is blessed with a village feel where it meets the water. From antique hunts to the joys of river life, here are a few of our favourite reasons to visit

Read more
Monday, November 5, 2018

Verity & Violet are Loui and Jess – a singing duo from Surrey who specialise in blending vintage classics with modern favourites. The two have achieved success in the capital, but are now hoping to attract an audience closer to home

Read more
Friday, November 2, 2018

With the Christmas celebrations seemingly starting earlier every year, it all feels a little too ‘soon’ sometimes, but what if you want to look your best for Christmas & New year celebrations and are considering having cosmetic non-surgical procedures? The Bella Vou Pantiles Clinic offers surgical and non-surgical cosmetic procedures and treatments from a purpose-built private clinic in the heart of Royal Tunbridge Wells

Read more
Thursday, November 1, 2018

Living in England’s most densely wooded county, it’s always a pleasure to witness Surrey donning its autumn finery. Here’s some of the best places to do just that - plus a few pub pit stops to enjoy on route!

Read more
Wednesday, October 31, 2018

We are regularly reminded of the high cost of housing with statistics revealing that only one in three millennials will be able to afford their own home during their lifetime and that most will remain in the category known as Generation Rent

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search