CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today CLICK HERE

The Good Earth, Esher, Surrey KT10 9RT - restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 17:23 20 December 2010 | UPDATED: 08:47 02 June 2015

The Good Earth,  Esher, Surrey KT10 9RT - restaurant review

The Good Earth, Esher, Surrey KT10 9RT - restaurant review

One of Surrey's best-loved restaurants, The Good Earth has been around for over 25 years. MATTHEW WILLIAMS paid a visit to see what all the fuss was about

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine August 2010


Restaurant reviewed: The Good Earth, 14–18 High Street, Esher, Surrey KT10 9RT Tel: 01372 462 489

***

 

Verdict

Food and drink 9
Service 9
Venue 8

What we ate

Gourmet Set Menu, £36 each

Starters
Lettuce Wrapped Lamb, Grilled Chicken Dumplings, Chiu-Yim Baby Squid, Crispy Shanghai Won Ton, and seaweed

Aromatic Duck

Main Courses
Dry Shredded Chilli Beef, Lemon Chicken, Sizzling Seafood Platter in Iron Pot, A Medley of Vegetables and Yeung-Chow Fried Rice

Drinks
2005 Montebuena Crianza Rioja (large) £7
2008 Domaine d’Antugnac rosé (large) £6
Coffee x2 (part of the set menu)

***

REVIEW: A Pullwitzer Prize winning novel by the American author Pearl S Buck, an Oscar-winning 1937 movie and, fortunately for the purposes of this column, an outstanding restaurant...

The Good Earth in Esher, which also has sister restaurants in North London and Kensington, has been recommended in these very pages by England rugby legend Lawrence Dallaglio, Bollywood star Shilpa Shetty and Westlife’s Shane Filan.

High praise indeed. And then, when I tweeted about my visit, I’m pretty sure the ‘Twitter is over capacity’ message that followed was largely down to the deluge of positive response I received. Even The Times’ esteemed food critic Giles Coren told me I’d enjoy it; but then he did also ask me to plug his latest book as well...

This all had me a little anxious, though. What if, with everyone firmly banked on its side, I didn’t enjoy it?

Walking in, I remembered I had something else to worry about, too. At this point, I need to make a confession: I have never, ever, been able to get the hang of chopsticks.

So, faced with a mountain of seaweed, and surrounded by affluent race day goers from nearby Sandown Park dressed in all their finery, while also sitting in front of a huge mirror (great for interior design; not so good for your first kiddies’ steps with two thin strips of bamboo) and a pristine white tablecloth, my anxiety wasn’t going to clear off any time soon. All I can say is that I was lucky the lighting was so flattering.

Meanwhile, the restaurant itself was bustling, and filled with couples and groups who were very obviously au fait with the place – we heard one fellow diner say that he’d been eating here for 20 plus years and that he’d be returning again on Saturday (though also being within earshot of every nuance of their lives meant that the tables were possibly a little too close together for my liking).

Nevertheless, once we got going with the Gourmet Set Menu, we soon understood what it is that keeps people coming back time and again. 

Mouthwatering menu
Accompanied by a glass of 2005 Montebuena Crianza Rioja and a 2008 Domaine d’ Antugnac rosé for my girlfriend, Sylviane, we started with the mouthwatering platter of Lettuce Wrapped Lamb, Grilled Chicken Dumplings, Chiu-Yim Baby Squid, Crispy Shanghai Won Ton and that seaweed – and, for the most part, it all  found its way into grateful stomachs rather than onto the floor, or those tablecloths. We were getting the hang of things, I thought.

Aromatic Duck followed: tender strips of meat with cucumber, spring onion and plum sauce to wrap as we pleased and, quite frankly, devour. I was in my element and, with a finger bowl placed by attentive staff, even managed to keep mess to the bare minimum.

Then it was out of the frying pan and into the flambé-ing wok. The main course approached with a sizzle – twice actually, as our neighbouring diners’ equivalent was accidently presented to us first (never mind, things were pretty busy for a Thursday night).

Our own selection of Dry Shredded Chilli Beef, Lemon Chicken, Sizzling Seafood Platter in Iron Pot, A Medley of Vegetables and Yeung-Chow Fried Rice more than lived up to the expectations and each dish passed with increasing chopstick dexterity.

The flavours built and crescendoed; the meat was cooked perfectly, the veg was fresh and satisfyingly snappy and I even managed to avoid showering neighbouring diners with rice. Result.

All washed down with a finishing coffee, I relaxed, sated, and smug in the knowledge that while I may not yet be an expert, chopsticks would no longer hold any fear. My personal pride was just as out of proportion as the hype for The Good Earth was not.

***

3 other race day restaurants in Surrey

Le Raj
211 Fir Tree Road, Epsom Downs KT17 3LB
Tel: 01737 371371
One of the most highly acclaimed Indian restaurants in the county, home to the stars and ideal if you’re visiting nearby Epsom Downs Racecourse.

The Wiremill
Felbridge, near Lingfield RH7 6HJ
Tel: 01342 832263
Perfect for Lingfield Racecourse, they recently won freehouse and pub of the year with their food absolutely top-notch. 

Indian Zest
21 Thames Street, Sunbury-On-Thames TW16 5QF
Tel: 01932 765000
On the doorstep of Kempton Park Racecourse, this place has made a name for itself through good cooking and fine wines.

More from Surrey Life

Thu, 10:52

Surrey is full of secret hideaways and hidden gems. Slades Farm on the Wintershall Estate is definitely one of them

Read more
Wed, 16:05

The new hotel is set to open in spring 2019 and will be located in the heart of the vineyard, offering sweeping views over the North Downs Way.

Read more
Tue, 10:53

From Santa’s Grottos, to Victorian Christmas markets and late-night shopping, we’ve covered what’s on in Surrey this season

Read more
Tue, 10:47

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Tue, 10:41

Having bloomed in Brighton’s restaurant scene over the past decade, The Chilli Pickle opened its second site in Guildford this summer

Read more
Mon, 14:32

Historic Royal Palaces and IMG have announced that Kylie Minogue is the first headliner confirmed for Hampton Court Palace Festival 2019. These will be her only London shows of summer 2019. Here’s how you can get tickets

Read more
Mon, 12:56

Enjoy this linear rail to ramble section of the Thames Down Link route taking the short train-ride from Box Hill & Westhumble to Ashtead before walking back

Read more
Mon, 12:13

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (16, 17 and 18 November): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

It’s that time of year when our beautiful countryside is alight with the colours of autumn. Here, we pick out some of her favourite spots to enjoy the seasonal splendour – as well as some perfect places for a post-walk refresher

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Found on the stretch of the River Thames between Weybridge and East Molesey, Sunbury-on-Thames is blessed with a village feel where it meets the water. From antique hunts to the joys of river life, here are a few of our favourite reasons to visit

Read more
Monday, November 5, 2018

Verity & Violet are Loui and Jess – a singing duo from Surrey who specialise in blending vintage classics with modern favourites. The two have achieved success in the capital, but are now hoping to attract an audience closer to home

Read more
Friday, November 2, 2018

With the Christmas celebrations seemingly starting earlier every year, it all feels a little too ‘soon’ sometimes, but what if you want to look your best for Christmas & New year celebrations and are considering having cosmetic non-surgical procedures? The Bella Vou Pantiles Clinic offers surgical and non-surgical cosmetic procedures and treatments from a purpose-built private clinic in the heart of Royal Tunbridge Wells

Read more
Thursday, November 1, 2018

Living in England’s most densely wooded county, it’s always a pleasure to witness Surrey donning its autumn finery. Here’s some of the best places to do just that - plus a few pub pit stops to enjoy on route!

Read more
Wednesday, October 31, 2018

We are regularly reminded of the high cost of housing with statistics revealing that only one in three millennials will be able to afford their own home during their lifetime and that most will remain in the category known as Generation Rent

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search