CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today CLICK HERE

The Glasshouse, Kew, Surrey TW9 3PZ - restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 19:08 06 December 2010 | UPDATED: 21:10 02 July 2014

Surrey restaurants - The Glasshouse, Kew

Surrey restaurants - The Glasshouse, Kew

There are only three restaurants in the county with a coveted Michelin star to their name - Drake's in Ripley, Drakes on the Pond in Abinger Hammer, and the focus of JOHN HUGHES' attention this month, The Glasshouse in Kew, near Richmond

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine October 2008


REVIEWED: The Glasshouse, 14 Station Parade, Kew, Surrey TW9 3PZ Tel: 020 8940 6777

***

What we ate...

(Evening dinner menu costs £32 for two courses or £37.50 for three)

Starters
Grilled organic salmon
Warm salad of duck

Main Courses
Rump of lamb
Crisp sea bass

Dessert
Cheese selection
Almond croustillant

Wine
Chateau Ksara Reserve du Couvert, Lebanon 2005
£24.50 bottle
£7 per glass

VERDICT
Food & wine 10/10
Service 9/10
Venue 9/10

***

A surprisingly modest-looking place, tucked away virtually next to Kew Gardens station, The Glasshouse has a reputation for classic French cuisine sprinkled with broader European influences (Spanish and Italian). It is one of only three Michelin-starred restaurants in Surrey and has received the award since 2002, thanks primarily to the culinary skills of head chef Anthony Boyd.

The name of the restaurant is, of course, a bow towards Decimus Burton's magnificent glasshouse in Kew Gardens, just a stone's throw away, but it also reflects the venue's own faade consisting of glass from floor to ceiling. Thus, the interior is light and bright and conducive to the serving of fine food and wine.

The dinner menu consisted of around eight starters, mains and desserts, with an invitation to cater for any dietary requirements. A few had a supplementary charge but, mainly, they all fell within the set menu prices.

With my eye firmly on the lamb as a main, I chose grilled organic salmon as a starter, served with cockles, sauce vierge and coleslaw - beautifully presented and the salmon was especially flavoursome. My daughter Helen's starter was more substantial - warm salad of duck with balsamic vinegar and a deep fried truffled egg, a relative it seems of their signature salad of wood pigeon with truffled egg. Helen's verdict - fantastic!

My main course, rump of lamb with olive oil crushed potatoes, green beans, peppers, olives and rosemary, was again superbly presented with the potatoes providing a bed for the strips of lamb and the vegetables layered on top. The meat was pink, but not too pink, the flavour and texture rich and smooth. Meanwhile, Helen's crisp sea bass with grilled king prawn, fennel puree, galette potato, tomato and broad bean vinaigrette sounded quite a daunting prospect but turned out to be quite modest. I tried the sea bass and had to agree that it was worth the £4 supplement.

For dessert, I chose a selection of five cheeses from Neal's Yard and La Fromagerie, all described and explained by a helpful waitress, and Helen managed to squeeze in an almond croustillant with warm apple compote, blackberries and crme anglaise.

As for the wine list, well how long have you got - it's 23 pages long, 500 bins in total! A fascinating read and I particularly liked the fact that it listed the wines without attempting flowery descriptions; there was professional guidance on hand, much more useful. My modest choice was made out of curiosity rather than superior knowledge, Chateau Ksara Reserve du Couvert, a red from the Bekaa Valley in Lebanon.

Overall verdict - great food and service and a lovely dining area. Too expensive for me to become a regular, but then I didn't expect it to be cheap. I've dined at Drake's in Ripley and can see why both have the Michelin star accolade; as far as all-round quality goes they're on a par. So that's two down, one to go...


***


And the two other Surrey Michelin stars...

Drake's, The Clock House, High Street, Ripley GU23 6AQ: 01483 224777
Chef and owner Steve Drake has the golden touch when it comes to Michelin stars with his artisan cooking.

Drakes on the Pond (since closed), Dorking Road, Abinger Hammer RH5 6SA: 01306 731174
Set in the idyllic village of Abinger Hammer, Drakes on the Pond offers fine cooking with the best ingredients.

More from Surrey Life

Yesterday, 16:06

Education expert Dr Ryan Hinchey, Coordinator of College Counselling at ACS International School, with campuses in Cobham, Egham and Hillingdon, answers your questions

Read more
Yesterday, 11:34

Surrounded by reservoirs and located on the banks of the famous river from which it takes its name, Staines-upon-Thames (as it is now called) is a town working to reshape its future and celebrate its picturesque riverside setting

Read more
Mon, 16:30

She may have recently moved to the seaside, but Surrey still holds a uniquely “precious” place in the heart of legendary children’s author Dame Jacqueline Wilson – not to mention the crucial role the county played in bringing everyone’s favourite and newly-returning feisty foster-kid to life

Read more
Mon, 11:59

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (23, 24 and 25 November): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Thursday, November 15, 2018

Surrey is full of secret hideaways and hidden gems. Slades Farm on the Wintershall Estate is definitely one of them

Read more
Wednesday, November 14, 2018

The new hotel is set to open in spring 2019 and will be located in the heart of the vineyard, offering sweeping views over the North Downs Way.

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

From Santa’s Grottos, to Victorian Christmas markets and late-night shopping, we’ve covered what’s on in Surrey this season

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Having bloomed in Brighton’s restaurant scene over the past decade, The Chilli Pickle opened its second site in Guildford this summer

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Historic Royal Palaces and IMG have announced that Kylie Minogue is the first headliner confirmed for Hampton Court Palace Festival 2019. These will be her only London shows of summer 2019. Here’s how you can get tickets

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Enjoy this linear rail to ramble section of the Thames Down Link route taking the short train-ride from Box Hill & Westhumble to Ashtead before walking back

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

It’s that time of year when our beautiful countryside is alight with the colours of autumn. Here, we pick out some of her favourite spots to enjoy the seasonal splendour – as well as some perfect places for a post-walk refresher

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Found on the stretch of the River Thames between Weybridge and East Molesey, Sunbury-on-Thames is blessed with a village feel where it meets the water. From antique hunts to the joys of river life, here are a few of our favourite reasons to visit

Read more
Monday, November 5, 2018

Verity & Violet are Loui and Jess – a singing duo from Surrey who specialise in blending vintage classics with modern favourites. The two have achieved success in the capital, but are now hoping to attract an audience closer to home

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search