The French Table, Surbiton KT6 4AW - restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 09:40 20 November 2015 | UPDATED: 10:22 20 November 2015

SUR SEP15 SLFDA

SUR SEP15 SLFDA

Archant

In this year’s final for Surrey Life Restaurant of the Year were three exceptional but very different establishments. Here, our esteemed judge, Dr Anita Eves, head of the department of hospitality at the university of Surrey in Guildford, shares her experience of each one

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine November 2015

***

Winner: The French Table

85 Maple Road, Surbiton KT6 4AW

Tel: 0208 399 2365

 

Open for 15 years, the dedication of The French Table’s patrons, Sarah and Eric Guignard, is such that they once lived upstairs. Success, however, meant they were forced to move their family out, so they could expand. Still not a large restaurant, the décor is refined, giving a contemporary, modern feel.

The service is impeccable from Sarah, who leads the front-of-house team through to the waiting staff. When we visited, all were well-versed in the dishes; not only able to describe each one perfectly, but also with an enthusiasm and passion.

I can see why there are calls for Michelin stars for 
Eric’s food. We chose the tasting menu, with the wine flight, but asked for one course to be replaced with a special; the wine was duly changed to match the new dish. Having ordered, we were then offered a choice of four types of home-made bread. Our amuse-bouche was a fresh pea velouté, with morels. Deliciously sweet.

The first course was diver-caught scallop and pork belly with apple sauce, miso caramel and a sesame crisp. The scallop was sweet, the pork soft and meaty, cut through by the tartness of the apple. The sesame crisp comprised a single, delicate layer of white and black sesame seeds.

For the second course, we had pan fried foie gras with confit melon and glazed strawberries with balsamic vinegar. I had a minor hesitation at the ethics of consuming foie gras, but it was stunningly melt-in-the-mouth.

Our fish course was monkfish wrapped in crispy potato with coco de paimpol beans, chorizo, baby artichokes, samphire and crustacean froth. It was delicious, with the varying textures complementing the intense flavours.

Beef fillet with pommes anna, Scottish girolles and a Madeira sauce came next. The beef was just the right texture, and the pommes anna are the best I have eaten.

Finally, after a perfect palate cleanser of apple sorbet, came the dessert course. Designed to share, it comprised five different dishes: crème brûlée, raspberry sorbet, chocolate delice, raspberry millefeuille and pineapple tarte tatin. It was a stunning exhibition of culinary artistry, and a perfect end to a wonderful meal.

My main feeling on leaving this restaurant? How has it taken me 15 years to happen across this gem?

 

Surrey Life Food & Drink Awards 2015 finalists reviewed

Runner-up: RaysIndian

Runner-up: London House

More from Surrey Life

16:16

At Sir William Perkins’s School (SWPS) the aim is to build confidence, integrity and excellence in a caring, innovative and happy community so that each student leaves with the best possible chance of achieving her full potential and ready to take on the world.

Read more
11:43

If the colder weather is making you feel like escaping to somewhere snug and cosy, you might be surprised to find some perfect rural retreats right on your doorstep. Here’s our pick of the best to discover in Surrey…

Read more
11:33

Get ready to laugh, boo and hiss, and cheer on your favourite childhood heroes in the array of pantomimes coming to Surrey theatres this Christmas

Read more
11:01

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Yesterday, 16:01

Actress, singer and entertainer, Anita Harris has travelled the world in an illustrious career that spans over five decades. From her home in Chertsey, she talks to Tinx Newton about the people she has worked with, her tour and life in Surrey

Read more
Yesterday, 14:13

If there's ever a time of year when a brisk, bracing walk is needed, then winter and the lead-up to the festive season is surely it. Here we round up a few of our Surrey favourites

Read more
Yesterday, 13:01

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (14, 15 and 16 December): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Tuesday, December 4, 2018

Surrey is a county full of festive delights. Think cosy pubs, frosty views and long winter walks. We pick 22 wonderful reasons to spend Christmas in Surrey.

Read more
Tuesday, December 4, 2018

We round up some of the best events and things to do across Surrey this month

Read more
Tuesday, December 4, 2018

With beautiful countryside, stunning villages and plenty of bluebells during spring, Surrey is an amazing place for a stroll

Read more
Tuesday, December 4, 2018

Pupils at The Hawthorns School in Bletchingley collected over 5,800 items of food for the Loveworks foodbanks in Reigate and Merstham

Read more
Friday, November 30, 2018

We’ve teamed up with Grand Illusions to give one lucky reader the opportunity to win a £250 gift card with the stylish homeware brand

Read more
Tuesday, November 27, 2018

Celebrating its 25 anniversary, Kinghams restaurant is found at the heart of one of Surrey’s most iconic villages. Matthew Williams visits to discover the secrets of its longevity

Read more
Monday, November 26, 2018

This edition of Surrey Life features all the local ingredients to make this month special

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search