CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today CLICK HERE

The Bingham, Richmond, Surrey TW10 6UT - restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 20:39 21 December 2010 | UPDATED: 17:39 20 February 2013

The Bingham, Richmond, Surrey TW10 6UT - restaurant review

The Bingham, Richmond, Surrey TW10 6UT - restaurant review

The newest addition to the area's Michelin star offerings, the Bingham hotel in Richmond is home to a restaurant that took centre stage when the latest edition of the renowned guide was released earlier this year. JOHN HUGHES pays a visit

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine July 2010


Restaurant reviewed: Bingham Restaurant
61-63 Petersham Road, Richmond, Surrey TW10 6UT
Tel: 0208 940 0902


The newest addition to the areas Michelin star offerings, the Bingham hotel in Richmond is home to a restaurant that took centre stage when the latest edition of the renowned guide was released earlier this year. JOHN HUGHES pays a visit


Share your favourite Surrey restaurants


SUBSCRIBE to Surrey Life magazine
BUY SL online



Verdict


Food and drink 10
Service6
Venue9


What we ate


Three courses at 39 per person


Starters
Roast Quail Organic Salmon x2


Main Courses
Poached Lemon Sole
Gressingham Duck Breast
Squab Pigeon


Desserts
Selection of British and French Cheeses
Amedei Chocolate Tart
Rhubarb Vacherin


Drinks
Tabla Rioja Crianza, Bodegas 2005 32

REVIEW: Sitting inconspicuously on a narrow and busy road out of Richmond, the Bingham has been receiving rave reviews far and wide. As you drive past, its barely noticeable, but one step inside and things are very different; you enter a world of opulence and sophistication where only one thing matters dining in style. I was there to see for myself why the Bingham restaurant has been awarded a Michelin star for the first time this year.


Both the bar and dining room are chic and tasteful with lots of mirrors opening up the relatively small spaces and windows looking down towards the River Thames below. The welcome was warm and inviting, without a hint of the aloofness that sometimes comes as part of a Michelin star experience. Once seated, we chose the la carte as opposed to the tasting menu and perused the half a dozen starters and mains we being myself, my daughter Helen and my great friend Dotty, who knows a thing or two about fine dining.


I chose a starter of roast quail served with leek, potato and artichoke salad, potato terrine and hollandaise. My, oh my, it was good! a blend of flavours that transcended the fairly modest ingredients, with beautiful presentation to match. Helen and Dottys reaction was similar; they were both wowed by their organic salmon with braised octopus, Jerusalem artichoke pure and deep fried baby squid.


We all chose different main courses. For me, poached lemon sole with black olive pure, seaweed crushed Jersey royals and brown shrimp and tomato dressing; for Helen, Gressingham duck breast with pan fried polenta, cep and golden raisin relish, and warm duck and cauliflower ragout; and for Dotty, squab pigeon served with blood orange, glazed turnip, chestnut and thyme risotto in a red wine sauce. All were quite, in every respect, superb flavours and textures combined masterfully and presented with flair and imagination; creations of executive chef Shay Cooper.


The desserts were equally stunning. As soon as I saw the menu, I knew what Helen would have Amedei chocolate tart served with orange Chantilly, passion fruit sorbet and coca tuille. Dotty tried some and I was confronted with two faces reflecting unadulterated bliss; her own rhubarb vacherin with vanilla panna cotta, mandarin jelly, and rhubarb and ginger consomm clearly gave equal pleasure.


Sweet enough
Being sweet enough, I investigated the Binghams selection of British and French cheeses. For my sins, I didnt make a note of what I tried there were so many. Needless to say, they were excellent, although I was confused a bit by one that was described to me as a Shropshire cheese from Nottingham or had the red wine got to me by then?


Talking of which, Dotty and I shared a bottle of Tabla Rioja Crianza 2005 rich and full-bodied and chosen to complement the array of dishes that had come our way. Not cheap, but nevertheless at the lower end of an extensive and fascinating wine list.


So far, a glowing review. However, it has to be said that the quality of service sadly didnt match that of the food, wine, presentation and ambience. It was professional, but slow from the initial drinks order (poor Helen had finished her starter before her Pimms arrived) to trying to pay the bill. Dotty summed it up with characteristic understatement: Could have been snappier.


A pity, really, as in all other respects, this was verging on an almost flawless dining experience.



3 other great restaurants in Surrey hotels


The Latymer at Pennyhill Park Hotel
London Road, Bagshot GU19 5EU
Tel: 01276 471774
Ever since chef Michael Wignall made The Latymer his home, the restaurant hasnt looked back, picking up a number of awards including a much-coveted Michelin star.


The Oak Room at Great Fosters
Stroude Road, Egham TW20 9UR
Tel: 01784 433822
Converted into a beautiful and elegant restaurant infused with character, the team in the kitchens hold the ambition to be awarded a third rosette.


The Lock at Runnymede Hotel
Windsor Road, Egham TW20 0AG
Tel: 01784 220 960
Newly opened beside its old namesake, the Bell Weir Lock on the River Thames, the new Lock restaurant claims to offer riverside dining at its finest.

More from Surrey Life

16:05

The new hotel is set to open in spring 2019 and will be located in the heart of the vineyard, offering sweeping views over the North Downs Way.

Read more
Yesterday, 10:53

From Santa’s Grottos, to Victorian Christmas markets and late-night shopping, we’ve covered what’s on in Surrey this season

Read more
Yesterday, 10:47

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Yesterday, 10:41

Having bloomed in Brighton’s restaurant scene over the past decade, The Chilli Pickle opened its second site in Guildford this summer

Read more
Mon, 14:32

Historic Royal Palaces and IMG have announced that Kylie Minogue is the first headliner confirmed for Hampton Court Palace Festival 2019. These will be her only London shows of summer 2019. Here’s how you can get tickets

Read more
Mon, 12:56

Enjoy this linear rail to ramble section of the Thames Down Link route taking the short train-ride from Box Hill & Westhumble to Ashtead before walking back

Read more
Mon, 12:13

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (16, 17 and 18 November): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Friday, November 9, 2018

We round up 10 of the most beautiful photos of Surrey shared on Instagram this week…

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

It’s that time of year when our beautiful countryside is alight with the colours of autumn. Here, we pick out some of her favourite spots to enjoy the seasonal splendour – as well as some perfect places for a post-walk refresher

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Found on the stretch of the River Thames between Weybridge and East Molesey, Sunbury-on-Thames is blessed with a village feel where it meets the water. From antique hunts to the joys of river life, here are a few of our favourite reasons to visit

Read more
Monday, November 5, 2018

Verity & Violet are Loui and Jess – a singing duo from Surrey who specialise in blending vintage classics with modern favourites. The two have achieved success in the capital, but are now hoping to attract an audience closer to home

Read more
Friday, November 2, 2018

With the Christmas celebrations seemingly starting earlier every year, it all feels a little too ‘soon’ sometimes, but what if you want to look your best for Christmas & New year celebrations and are considering having cosmetic non-surgical procedures? The Bella Vou Pantiles Clinic offers surgical and non-surgical cosmetic procedures and treatments from a purpose-built private clinic in the heart of Royal Tunbridge Wells

Read more
Thursday, November 1, 2018

Living in England’s most densely wooded county, it’s always a pleasure to witness Surrey donning its autumn finery. Here’s some of the best places to do just that - plus a few pub pit stops to enjoy on route!

Read more
Wednesday, October 31, 2018

We are regularly reminded of the high cost of housing with statistics revealing that only one in three millennials will be able to afford their own home during their lifetime and that most will remain in the category known as Generation Rent

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search