CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today CLICK HERE

The Bakery Restaurant, Tatsfield, Surrey TN16 2AG – restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 12:37 25 May 2012 | UPDATED: 16:15 02 July 2014

The Bakery Restaurant, Tatsfield, Surrey TN16 2AG – restaurant review

The Bakery Restaurant, Tatsfield, Surrey TN16 2AG – restaurant review

Heading off the beaten track in Tandridge, Matthew Williams stumbled upon The Bakery restaurant in Tatsfield. Set in a former Surrey Village of the Year, this modern English and European restaurant proved a very pleasant discovery

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine May 2012


Restaurant reviewed: The Bakery Restaurant, Westmore Green, Tatsfield, Surrey TN16 2AG: 01959 577605

***

The Verdict:


Food: 7
Venue: 7
Service: 7


What we ate:


£29.95 for three courses


Starters:
Home-made pork & apple pâté
Confit of duck leg served with a red onion marmalade


Main courses:
Grilled fillet of Loch Duart salmon with a white wine and prawn sauce
Roast rump of lamb with a celeriac puree and red wine jus


Desserts:
A selection of home-made ice cream and sorbet
Ginger and star anise panna cotta with mango coulis 


Drinks:
Marques de Caceres (2009), Rioja Rosado, £17.95

***

REVIEW: I have to admit, that despite my grandparents living just over the border in Kent, and being a fan of the walks around the nearby Titsey Estate, Tatsfield is a village that I hadn’t previously experienced in any more than a passing or arm’s length fashion.


Despite its Kent postal address, the village falls in the Tandridge district of Surrey and, in fact, won our county’s Village of the Year in 2010 – as well as picking up a Large Village gold medal for Britain in Bloom in the same year.


On another point of interest, the Beaver Water World wildlife park is also nearby, it turns out, and was apparently once home to the sadly departed Big Boy the Alligator – born in 1961 and famous for appearing in the James Bond film Live and Let Die.


To get over all the effort of filling my knowledge banks, a good feed was in order. And, what do you know, this for too long overlooked village also happens to have an award-winning restaurant. One that is also creating boutique style en suite accommodation to provide for an influx of visitors during the Olympic Games, no less.

A historic setting
The Bakery is located in an old 19th century turreted village store, which was first converted in 1978. Since then, much has changed and owner Andrew Bond now presides over a destination bar and restaurant – you enter the quirky building through the bar, with sports screens and comfortable seating, into the restaurant found out the back.


There’s something of a Spanish feel to this Modern British and European eatery, a feeling that was only increased on the day we visited by the experienced Spanish waiters.


It was a Saturday night and we arrived early in the evening when things were still relatively quiet, but things soon filled up with many of the smartly-dressed diners appearing to be on first name terms with the staff. Often a good sign.


I opted for the home-made pork and apple pâté, which was a coarse mix packed full of flavour, while my fiancée Sylviane chose the confit of duck leg with a red onion marmalade, which was well cooked with enough taste to hold the interest.


Our main courses arrived in generous portions, both served with sides of fresh seasonal vegetables and potatoes. Sylviane’s grilled fillet of Loch Duart salmon with a white wine and prawn sauce was for the most part superb, although one of the thinner portions had become a touch dry. I had no complaints about my roast rump of lamb, which was cooked perfectly to order and accompanied by a celeriac puree and red wine jus.


Sweet teeth were satisfied by two excellent desserts. Sylviane’s selection of home-made ice cream and sorbet – the restaurant also promises to create your favourites to order – were moreish and my ginger and star anise panna cotta with mango coulis was delicious.


At just under £30 for three courses, The Bakery is well priced for what it offers – uncomplicated, hearty food of fine quality. It’s certainly the kind of place that is worth a detour off the beaten track but I can also understand why it proves so popular with regulars, too.




3 other great village restaurants in Surrey


Kinghams
Gomshall Lane, Shere, Surrey GU5 9HE
Tel: 01483 202168
Long regarded as one of Surrey’s finest village restaurants, Kinghams in Shere serves a mouth-watering range of dishes in a beautiful setting.


Toby Cottage
High Street, Ripley, Woking, Surrey GU23
Tel: 01483 224225
Set in a charming 16th century oak-beamed building, they serve an exceptional range of freshly prepared high-quality food.


The Dining Room
10 Queens Road, Village Green, Hersham, Surrey KT12 5LS
Tel: 01932 231686
In 1989, the Dining Room was transformed for TV’s Never The Twain. Today, they continue to offer delicious modern British cuisine.

More from Surrey Life

Yesterday, 10:52

Surrey is full of secret hideaways and hidden gems. Slades Farm on the Wintershall Estate is definitely one of them

Read more
Wed, 16:05

The new hotel is set to open in spring 2019 and will be located in the heart of the vineyard, offering sweeping views over the North Downs Way.

Read more
Tue, 10:53

From Santa’s Grottos, to Victorian Christmas markets and late-night shopping, we’ve covered what’s on in Surrey this season

Read more
Tue, 10:47

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Tue, 10:41

Having bloomed in Brighton’s restaurant scene over the past decade, The Chilli Pickle opened its second site in Guildford this summer

Read more
Mon, 14:32

Historic Royal Palaces and IMG have announced that Kylie Minogue is the first headliner confirmed for Hampton Court Palace Festival 2019. These will be her only London shows of summer 2019. Here’s how you can get tickets

Read more
Mon, 12:56

Enjoy this linear rail to ramble section of the Thames Down Link route taking the short train-ride from Box Hill & Westhumble to Ashtead before walking back

Read more
Mon, 12:13

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (16, 17 and 18 November): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Friday, November 9, 2018

We round up 10 of the most beautiful photos of Surrey shared on Instagram this week…

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

It’s that time of year when our beautiful countryside is alight with the colours of autumn. Here, we pick out some of her favourite spots to enjoy the seasonal splendour – as well as some perfect places for a post-walk refresher

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Found on the stretch of the River Thames between Weybridge and East Molesey, Sunbury-on-Thames is blessed with a village feel where it meets the water. From antique hunts to the joys of river life, here are a few of our favourite reasons to visit

Read more
Monday, November 5, 2018

Verity & Violet are Loui and Jess – a singing duo from Surrey who specialise in blending vintage classics with modern favourites. The two have achieved success in the capital, but are now hoping to attract an audience closer to home

Read more
Friday, November 2, 2018

With the Christmas celebrations seemingly starting earlier every year, it all feels a little too ‘soon’ sometimes, but what if you want to look your best for Christmas & New year celebrations and are considering having cosmetic non-surgical procedures? The Bella Vou Pantiles Clinic offers surgical and non-surgical cosmetic procedures and treatments from a purpose-built private clinic in the heart of Royal Tunbridge Wells

Read more
Thursday, November 1, 2018

Living in England’s most densely wooded county, it’s always a pleasure to witness Surrey donning its autumn finery. Here’s some of the best places to do just that - plus a few pub pit stops to enjoy on route!

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search