CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today CLICK HERE

Rumwong, Guildford, Surrey GU1 2AF - restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 18:26 06 December 2010 | UPDATED: 10:07 21 July 2014

Based on numerous recommendations, this month Surrey Life restaurant critic JOHN HUGHES heads to one of the county’s top Thai eateries, Rumwong in Guildford, where he tucks into a feast fit for a king

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine December 2009

Restaurant reviews: Rumwong, 18-20 London Road, Guildford, Surrey GU1 2AF
Tel: 01483 456768

***
 

Verdict

Food and drink 8
Service 8
Venue 10


 

What we ate

Starters
Pla Muek Tod Grob £5.60, Gung Grabuang £6.60

Main Courses
Pud Gaeng Keaw Wan £7.75, Ped Pud Med Mamuang £9.30, Song Sa-Hi Nam-Man Hoi £5.75, Koew Toew Pud Khai £4.25, Kao Niew £2.20

Desserts
Couldn’t manage any!

Drinks
Singha Thai Beer £2.85

***

Our review: Unlike most people, I’ve never really rated Thai food that much – it just doesn’t wow me in the same way that great Indian or Chinese meals have done on numerous occasions. But that all changed the other night when I visited Rumwong in Guildford, not on one person’s recommendation but at least three. “Don’t you dare diss it,” I was warned by a friend. “It’s our favourite.” No fears there – I loved it.

Rumwong oozes warmth and stylishness the moment you walk through the door and glance across the bar area to the main dining area, which is very large. The waiters and waitresses are dressed immaculately and are hugely friendly and attentive. We were soon seated and thus began the long and enjoyable process of analysing the menu, which offers plenty of choice but isn’t overwhelming.

Melt in the mouth
My daughter Helen and I shared two starters between us – Pla Muek Tod Grob (tiny rings of squid in a lightly seasoned batter, deep fried) and Gung Grabuang (crispy crepes filled with a blend of prawns, pork, coriander and fresh herbs), both served with sweet chilli sauce. The latter I particularly enjoyed as the herbs penetrated through nicely to give additional flavour that the squid lacked.

For my main course, I chose Pud Gaeng Keaw Wan – a rice or egg noodles (noodles in my case) stir-fry with green curry spices, chicken, green beans and basil leaves. This is a contemporary twist to the traditional green curry and is apparently very popular in Thailand itself. 

For me, it was the best Thai dish I’ve ever tasted, and I was lucky to have chosen a superb side dish to accompany it: Song Sa-Hi Nam-Man Hoi – a simple blend of fresh asparagus and mushrooms, lightly seasoned and stir-fried in sesame oil. 

Helen hones in on any duck dish like a laser and tonight was no exception; Ped Pud Med Mamuang – succulent slices of duck sautéed with roasted cashew nuts, mushrooms, red and green peppers. Rich in flavour and beautifully tender, the meat was a melt in the mouth experience. We shared a dish of plain noodles in soya sauce with beansprouts and seasonal vegetables, and I also had a portion of Kao Niew – sticky rice to you and me!  – which interestingly arrived in a little see-through bag.

Squeezing in dessert
After this very satisfying feast, there was no way we could manage a dessert... or could we? As if by magic a complementary selection suddenly appeared. Forks edged their way reluctantly towards a plate of ice cream, baked bananas, fruit and cream  – but once started the rest was easy and between us we finished the lot.

So, all in all, a delightful meal in beautiful surroundings. Even the loos were impressive – immaculately clean, softly lit, flower arrangements, background music etc. Helen came back seriously impressed and announced: “I could live in there.”

Next time, I fancy trying the Khan Tok, a side room where the tables are low and you recline as you dine on soft cushions, in typical Thai fashion. And with a bill for all this coming in at the £50 mark for two, another reason for a return visit.

***

3 other great Thai restaurants...

River Kwai
94 High Street, Reigate RH2 9AP
Tel: 01737 219058 
Homely dishes with great service are the daily special at this cute and cosy neighbourhood favourite.
 
Siam Food Gallery

Trumps Green Road, Virginia Water GU25 4HN
Tel: 01344 843283
Sister to Esher’s restaurant of the same name, enjoy fine dining complemented by beautiful decor. 
 
Ayudhya
14 Kingston Hill, Kingston upon Thames KT2 7NH
Tel: 0208 549 5984
Choose from a tempting range of mouthwatering dishes served in sumptuous surroundings.

More from Surrey Life

Thursday, November 15, 2018

Surrey is full of secret hideaways and hidden gems. Slades Farm on the Wintershall Estate is definitely one of them

Read more
Wednesday, November 14, 2018

The new hotel is set to open in spring 2019 and will be located in the heart of the vineyard, offering sweeping views over the North Downs Way.

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

From Santa’s Grottos, to Victorian Christmas markets and late-night shopping, we’ve covered what’s on in Surrey this season

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Having bloomed in Brighton’s restaurant scene over the past decade, The Chilli Pickle opened its second site in Guildford this summer

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Historic Royal Palaces and IMG have announced that Kylie Minogue is the first headliner confirmed for Hampton Court Palace Festival 2019. These will be her only London shows of summer 2019. Here’s how you can get tickets

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Enjoy this linear rail to ramble section of the Thames Down Link route taking the short train-ride from Box Hill & Westhumble to Ashtead before walking back

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (16, 17 and 18 November): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

It’s that time of year when our beautiful countryside is alight with the colours of autumn. Here, we pick out some of her favourite spots to enjoy the seasonal splendour – as well as some perfect places for a post-walk refresher

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Found on the stretch of the River Thames between Weybridge and East Molesey, Sunbury-on-Thames is blessed with a village feel where it meets the water. From antique hunts to the joys of river life, here are a few of our favourite reasons to visit

Read more
Monday, November 5, 2018

Verity & Violet are Loui and Jess – a singing duo from Surrey who specialise in blending vintage classics with modern favourites. The two have achieved success in the capital, but are now hoping to attract an audience closer to home

Read more
Friday, November 2, 2018

With the Christmas celebrations seemingly starting earlier every year, it all feels a little too ‘soon’ sometimes, but what if you want to look your best for Christmas & New year celebrations and are considering having cosmetic non-surgical procedures? The Bella Vou Pantiles Clinic offers surgical and non-surgical cosmetic procedures and treatments from a purpose-built private clinic in the heart of Royal Tunbridge Wells

Read more
Thursday, November 1, 2018

Living in England’s most densely wooded county, it’s always a pleasure to witness Surrey donning its autumn finery. Here’s some of the best places to do just that - plus a few pub pit stops to enjoy on route!

Read more
Wednesday, October 31, 2018

We are regularly reminded of the high cost of housing with statistics revealing that only one in three millennials will be able to afford their own home during their lifetime and that most will remain in the category known as Generation Rent

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search