CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today CLICK HERE

Royal Garden, Shirley Hills CR0 5HQ - restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 17:25 20 December 2010 | UPDATED: 17:08 20 February 2013

Royal Garden, Shirley Hills CR0 5HQ - restaurant review

Royal Garden, Shirley Hills CR0 5HQ - restaurant review

Set in the attractive Shirley Hills area, the Royal Garden is a Chinese restaurant that has welcomed its fair share of famous names over the years. Surrey Life restaurant reviewer JOHN HUGHES paid a visit to see if it lived up to the billing

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine April 2010


Restaurant review: Royal Garden Restaurant, Shirley Hills Road, Shirley Hills, Surrey CR0 5HQ Tel: 0208 654 6491


Set in the attractive Shirley Hills area, the Royal Garden is a Chinese restaurant that has welcomed its fair share of famous names over the years. Surrey Life restaurant reviewer JOHN HUGHES paid a visit to see if it lived up to the billing


Share your favourite Surrey restaurants


SUBSCRIBE to Surrey Life magazine
BUY SL online


Verdict


Food and drink 6
Service8
Venue9


What we ate


Starters
Seafood Platter (minimum two people)8.50 each

Main Courses
Sizzling Three Kinds8
Prawns in Satay Sauce7.50
Special Fried Rice4.50
Special Fried Noodles6


Desserts
Lychee Fritters3.50
Banana Fritters3


Drinks
Alsace Gewrztraminer Medaille-DOr, Cave Vinicole de Ribeauville21

REVIEW: Not having reviewed a Chinese restaurant for Surrey Life before, I decided to select one based on a spot of internet research, rather than the usual recommendations or personal experience.


After much deliberation (and there are plenty to choose from!), I settled on the Royal Garden Restaurant in Shirley Hills. Tucked away in a beautiful location, at the end of a drive in a woodland area, they have been serving Cantonese and Szechuan cuisine for nigh on 20 years.


The dining area is spacious about 120 seats and the Royal Garden do a brisk business in party bookings, private functions, corporate lunches and weddings, especially with no near neighbours to worry about. But for two people, it didnt feel any less intimate.


Choice of menus
There are various menus including special promotions and a separate vegetarian one, but the main la carte is comprehensive and moderately priced, with some nice set menus of which the Royal Feast is apparently a favourite.


To start with, Helen and I chose to share the Seafood Platter, which is only available for a minimum of two people. The selection consisted of spicy squid, sesame prawns, seaweed, fish cakes, scallops and crispy sweet crackers, served plainly on a round plate. Some of the selection was tastier than others but it was a generous portion for a starter.


For the main course, I went for Sizzling Three Kinds (beef, chicken and prawns all cooked with spring onions and ginger) with Special Fried Rice, while Helen tucked into Prawns in Satay Sauce and Special Fried Noodles Cantonese style.


All fairly standard fare but I wanted to sample familiar dishes to see whether the presentation and quality differed from restaurants I frequent and enjoy around my own part of Surrey in Reigate. The conclusion? Hmm, no real difference; our meals were pleasant enough, though perhaps lacking that certain wow factor wed been hoping for. But then again, I suppose with Chinese, perhaps its tricky to do anything vastly different from the norm.


For dessert, we chose lychee fritters and banana fritters, respectively, which rounded off the meal nicely.


Hall of fame
By nature a red wine man, I thought however that white would complement the cuisine better on this occasion and chose a fruity, aromatic wine from Alsace a Gewrztraminer in fact, probably the most famous of Alsace wines. Not bad and certainly the full bodied, powerful flavour was right for the seafood elements of the meal. But overall, just a bit too fruity and too aromatic for my taste.


I have to confess that one of the selling points for choosing the Royal Garden online had been the impressive list of famous names who have dined there Ian Wright, Ronnie Corbett, Boney M, Frank Bruno, The Incredible Hulk (yes, really!), and best of all... Star Wars R2-D2 and C-3PO.


May the forks be with you... or rather chopsticks!


3 other great Chinese restaurants in Surrey


Charlie Choys
The Centrium, Victoria Road, Woking GU22 7PB
Tel: 01483 772666
Charlie Choys flagship restaurant opened in March 2008, bringing together dishes from China, India, Thailand and Europe.


Good Earth
14-18 High Street, Esher KT10 9RT
Tel: 01372 462489
With over 25 years of history, the Good Earth restaurants are renowned for their high quality fare and creative menus.


Four Regions
102-104 Kew Road, Richmond TW9 2PQ
Tel: 0208 940 9044
A handy place for dinner if youre off to Richmond Theatre for the evening, this stylish Chinese has reliably high food standards.

More from Surrey Life

Yesterday, 10:52

Surrey is full of secret hideaways and hidden gems. Slades Farm on the Wintershall Estate is definitely one of them

Read more
Wed, 16:05

The new hotel is set to open in spring 2019 and will be located in the heart of the vineyard, offering sweeping views over the North Downs Way.

Read more
Tue, 10:53

From Santa’s Grottos, to Victorian Christmas markets and late-night shopping, we’ve covered what’s on in Surrey this season

Read more
Tue, 10:47

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Tue, 10:41

Having bloomed in Brighton’s restaurant scene over the past decade, The Chilli Pickle opened its second site in Guildford this summer

Read more
Mon, 14:32

Historic Royal Palaces and IMG have announced that Kylie Minogue is the first headliner confirmed for Hampton Court Palace Festival 2019. These will be her only London shows of summer 2019. Here’s how you can get tickets

Read more
Mon, 12:56

Enjoy this linear rail to ramble section of the Thames Down Link route taking the short train-ride from Box Hill & Westhumble to Ashtead before walking back

Read more
Mon, 12:13

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (16, 17 and 18 November): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Friday, November 9, 2018

We round up 10 of the most beautiful photos of Surrey shared on Instagram this week…

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

It’s that time of year when our beautiful countryside is alight with the colours of autumn. Here, we pick out some of her favourite spots to enjoy the seasonal splendour – as well as some perfect places for a post-walk refresher

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Found on the stretch of the River Thames between Weybridge and East Molesey, Sunbury-on-Thames is blessed with a village feel where it meets the water. From antique hunts to the joys of river life, here are a few of our favourite reasons to visit

Read more
Monday, November 5, 2018

Verity & Violet are Loui and Jess – a singing duo from Surrey who specialise in blending vintage classics with modern favourites. The two have achieved success in the capital, but are now hoping to attract an audience closer to home

Read more
Friday, November 2, 2018

With the Christmas celebrations seemingly starting earlier every year, it all feels a little too ‘soon’ sometimes, but what if you want to look your best for Christmas & New year celebrations and are considering having cosmetic non-surgical procedures? The Bella Vou Pantiles Clinic offers surgical and non-surgical cosmetic procedures and treatments from a purpose-built private clinic in the heart of Royal Tunbridge Wells

Read more
Thursday, November 1, 2018

Living in England’s most densely wooded county, it’s always a pleasure to witness Surrey donning its autumn finery. Here’s some of the best places to do just that - plus a few pub pit stops to enjoy on route!

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search