CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today CLICK HERE

Rock & Rose, Richmond, Surrey TW9 2PQ - restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 18:35 06 December 2010 | UPDATED: 14:52 17 July 2014

Home to some of the country's top rock music royalty, it's hardly a surprise that Richmond's restaurants tend to bring a little bit of glitz and glamour to the table. Surrey Life restaurant reviewer JOHN HUGHES pays a visit to Rock & Rose

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine October 2009

Restaurant reviews: Rock & Rose Restaurant, 106-108 Kew Road, Richmond, Surrey TW9 2PQ. Tel: 0208 948 8008


***

Verdict

Food and drink 7
Service 10
Venue 9

What we ate

Starters
Rock & Rose Glazed
Baby Back Ribs £6.95
Duck, Watermelon & Cashew Nut Salad £7.95

Main Courses
Miso Cod Fillet £15.95
Ultimate Surf & Turf £21.95

Desserts
Chocolate Brownie £6
Passion Fruit & Strawberry Pavlova £6

Drinks
Rock & Rose Martini £8.50

***

Our review: The strapline of the glitzy Richmond eatery Rock & Rose is 'food, passion and glamour' - and as soon as you walk in the door, you can see why. Lots of candelabras and chandeliers, glass and silver, blacks and pinks (including a wonderful pink sofa) and brashness galore. In fact, the décor is as much a talking point as the fare. "A tart's boudoir," I can hear my old mum saying, with a twinkle in her eye; "shabby chic," I think Rock & Rose would prefer. Either way, it's an amazing place.

Only two years old, business is obviously good at Rock & Rose and on an ordinary weekday evening it was heaving. Had it been warmer, the glass front would have been rolled aside, uniting the terrace with the interior. As it was, we were seated just inside with a corner seat from which to observe. We also got Rebecca - a gem of a waitress.

The menu (in flamboyant pink and black type) has starters, grills and house specials, including vegetarian and sharing options, and is potted with signature dishes.

Perusing the menu
For my starter, I went for Rock & Rose Glazed Baby Back Ribs, served on a wooden platter; the ribs were delicious though smothered in a sauce not dissimilar to good old tomato ketchup.

My guest Helen plumped for duck, watermelon and cashew nut salad - an odd combination that, in our opinion, didn't quite work and was in fact spicier than anticipated.

Dithering over the main courses, I was rescued by Rebecca who recommended the Miso Cod Fillet, served on a bed of asparagus with pak choi, spring onion and sesame seeds, and rice. This did work - tender vegetables that didn't interfere with the fishy flavour, perked up nicely by the miso. Great!

Equally, Helen did well with the Ultimate Surf & Turf - an Angus rib-eye steak and giant prawns pan-fried in garlic butter and served with chunky hand-cut chips.

Meanwhile, influenced by this heady atmosphere, I chose a cocktail rather than wine, a Rock & Rose Martini - vanilla infused vodka, fresh passion fruit and sugar, served with a side shot of champagne. It went straight to my head and I decided against another after-dinner house special concoction or 'rocktail', as they are known.

Chocolate to die for
To complement the cocktail, my dessert was a passion fruit and strawberry Pavlova, airily light and fluffy, while Helen was inevitably pulled like a magnet towards the chocolate brownie with 'to die for' white chocolate ice cream. It looked great and presumably tasted as good.

The adjectives come flowing to describe Rock & Rose - glam, punk, whimsical, quirky (I've read other reviews!) but the bottom line is it's a great, fun place to eat, not as expensive as you'd imagine, and the service is excellent. Food, passion and glamour indeed!

 

 

***

3 other 'rose-tinted' restaurants...

Red Rose
87 High Street, Egham TW20 9HF
Tel: 01932 355559
Premium Bangladesh and Indian dining, with some fabulous house specials.

Rose Theatre
24-26 High Street, Kingston KT1 1HL
Tel: 0871 230 1552
Irresistible refreshments coupled with art exhibitions and concerts at the Culture Café.

The Rose Valley
50-52 Chertsey Street, Guildford GU1 4HD
Tel: 01483 572572
The Rose Valley has been providing diners in Guildford with Indian cuisine for 45 years.

More from Surrey Life

Yesterday, 16:06

Education expert Dr Ryan Hinchey, Coordinator of College Counselling at ACS International School, with campuses in Cobham, Egham and Hillingdon, answers your questions

Read more
Yesterday, 11:34

Surrounded by reservoirs and located on the banks of the famous river from which it takes its name, Staines-upon-Thames (as it is now called) is a town working to reshape its future and celebrate its picturesque riverside setting

Read more
Mon, 16:30

She may have recently moved to the seaside, but Surrey still holds a uniquely “precious” place in the heart of legendary children’s author Dame Jacqueline Wilson – not to mention the crucial role the county played in bringing everyone’s favourite and newly-returning feisty foster-kid to life

Read more
Mon, 11:59

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (23, 24 and 25 November): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Thursday, November 15, 2018

Surrey is full of secret hideaways and hidden gems. Slades Farm on the Wintershall Estate is definitely one of them

Read more
Wednesday, November 14, 2018

The new hotel is set to open in spring 2019 and will be located in the heart of the vineyard, offering sweeping views over the North Downs Way.

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

From Santa’s Grottos, to Victorian Christmas markets and late-night shopping, we’ve covered what’s on in Surrey this season

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Having bloomed in Brighton’s restaurant scene over the past decade, The Chilli Pickle opened its second site in Guildford this summer

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Historic Royal Palaces and IMG have announced that Kylie Minogue is the first headliner confirmed for Hampton Court Palace Festival 2019. These will be her only London shows of summer 2019. Here’s how you can get tickets

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Enjoy this linear rail to ramble section of the Thames Down Link route taking the short train-ride from Box Hill & Westhumble to Ashtead before walking back

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

It’s that time of year when our beautiful countryside is alight with the colours of autumn. Here, we pick out some of her favourite spots to enjoy the seasonal splendour – as well as some perfect places for a post-walk refresher

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Found on the stretch of the River Thames between Weybridge and East Molesey, Sunbury-on-Thames is blessed with a village feel where it meets the water. From antique hunts to the joys of river life, here are a few of our favourite reasons to visit

Read more
Monday, November 5, 2018

Verity & Violet are Loui and Jess – a singing duo from Surrey who specialise in blending vintage classics with modern favourites. The two have achieved success in the capital, but are now hoping to attract an audience closer to home

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search