CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today CLICK HERE

Relish at Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford, Surrey GU1 3DA ~ restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 14:32 17 July 2012 | UPDATED: 21:37 20 February 2013

Relish at Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford, Surrey GU1 3DA ~ restaurant review

Relish at Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford, Surrey GU1 3DA ~ restaurant review

With a promise of the best of British enticing him, Matthew Williams visits the Radisson Edwardian hotel in Guildford to find out whether their restaurant, Relish, lives up to its name

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine June 2012


Restaurant reviewed: Relish at Radisson Blu Edwardian Guildford, 3 Alexandra Terrace, High Street, Guildford GU1 3DA: 01483 792 305


With a promise of the best of British enticing him, Matthew Williams visits the Radisson Blu Edwardian hotel in Guildford to find out whether their restaurant, Relish, lives up to its name


Share your favourite Surrey restaurants


SUBSCRIBE to Surrey Life magazine
BUY SL online
DOWNLOAD the app


The Verdict:
Food: 6 Service: 8 Venue: 7


What we ate:


Starters
Tartare of smoked salmon with chopped duck egg and pickled cucumber, 9
Ham hock and rabbit terrine with fresh radish chutney, 8


Main courses
Roast saddle of rabbit, sage stuffing and carrot and herb cake, 18
Slow roast lamb shank with roast vegetables and mash, 17.50


Drinks
A bottle of Don Jacobo, Rioja Crianza (2007), 26


REVIEW: Since its opening last year, its fair to say that Surrey Life has visited Guildfords Radisson Blu Edwardian on a number of occasions for the various social gatherings its become a haven for, and yet it was a Surrey Sculpture Society exhibition at nearby Guildford Cathedral that offered us the first opportunity to dine there officially.


Having spent the evening in the cathedrals awe-inspiring surroundings working out how I might persuade the bank manager to allow me to upsize my home to house all the sculpture that caught my eye my fiance Sylviane and I decided to divert back past the 60m hotels Relish restaurant.


Claiming to be a celebration of all thats best about Britain, it continues the hotels overall relaxed but stylish vibe or, as some would have it, shabby chic.

A swift service
Visiting on a quiet weekday night, we were met swiftly and led to a cosy corner of the large restaurant (I did think that when busy it must feel very cosy, with tables quite intimately spaced in places).


Directly adjoined by its own bar, which showcases artisanal British spirits and bottled beers while English wines challenge the old worlds, there were certainly plenty of wines on the list from nearby Denbies in Dorking as well as beers on tap from the local Hogs Back brewery (my usual pub tipple of choice). I must admit, it was a bottle of Spanish rioja that we ordered on this occasion though.


A jug of water and a selection of breads were despatched to our table without any need for prompting one a touch dry, the other tasty and orders were taken with recommendations forthcoming on request.


Sylviane opted for the tartare of smoked salmon, which was generally very good although she was slightly disappointed to find the duck egg finely chopped into the mix, therefore leaving it a little lost.


My own ham hock and rabbit terrine was delicious flavours piling on top of each other with each bite and well complemented by the radish chutney on the side.

Home-cooked flavours
When the main courses arrived, my mouth-watering, slow roast lamb shank looked as good as it tasted, with a gravy that reminded me very much of my childhood and my grans cooking any food that takes you back to fond memories has to get the thumbs-up.


As my better half tucked into her roast saddle of rabbit, however, things didnt go quite so well. She found the subtle flavour of the meat was rather overpowered both by the unexpected addition of kidney in the dish and the heavily pickled, red cabbage bedding. It didnt help that kidney is a blacklisted foodstuff in her eyes. For such a love it/hate it ingredient, the fact that it wasnt mentioned on the menu was a bit of a surprise. It was a shame as the rabbit and carrot and herb cake were both, in fact, very good.


While slightly let down by the latter dish and a little lacking in atmosphere on the night we visited (though you cant expect every night to be busy) we were well served, generally the food was great and we had an enjoyable evening.



3 other hotel restaurants


The Latymer at Pennyhill Park Hotel
London Road, Bagshot GU19 5EU Tel: 01276 471774
Ever since chef Michael Wignall made The Latymer his home, the restaurant hasnt looked back, picking up a number of awards including a much-coveted Michelin star.


The Oak Room at Great Fosters
Stroude Road, Egham TW20 9UR Tel: 01784 433822
Converted into a beautiful and elegant restaurant infused with character, the team in the kitchens hold the ambition to be awarded a third AA rosette.


The Lock at Runnymede Hotel
Windsor Road, Egham TW20 0AG Tel: 01784 220 960
Newly opened beside its old namesake, the Bell Weir Lock on the River Thames, the new Lock restaurant claims to offer riverside dining at its finest.

More from Surrey Life

16:06

Education expert Dr Ryan Hinchey, Coordinator of College Counselling at ACS International School, with campuses in Cobham, Egham and Hillingdon, answers your questions

Read more

Surrounded by reservoirs and located on the banks of the famous river from which it takes its name, Staines-upon-Thames (as it is now called) is a town working to reshape its future and celebrate its picturesque riverside setting

Read more
Yesterday, 16:30

She may have recently moved to the seaside, but Surrey still holds a uniquely “precious” place in the heart of legendary children’s author Dame Jacqueline Wilson – not to mention the crucial role the county played in bringing everyone’s favourite and newly-returning feisty foster-kid to life

Read more
Yesterday, 11:59

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (23, 24 and 25 November): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Thursday, November 15, 2018

Surrey is full of secret hideaways and hidden gems. Slades Farm on the Wintershall Estate is definitely one of them

Read more
Wednesday, November 14, 2018

The new hotel is set to open in spring 2019 and will be located in the heart of the vineyard, offering sweeping views over the North Downs Way.

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

From Santa’s Grottos, to Victorian Christmas markets and late-night shopping, we’ve covered what’s on in Surrey this season

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Having bloomed in Brighton’s restaurant scene over the past decade, The Chilli Pickle opened its second site in Guildford this summer

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Historic Royal Palaces and IMG have announced that Kylie Minogue is the first headliner confirmed for Hampton Court Palace Festival 2019. These will be her only London shows of summer 2019. Here’s how you can get tickets

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Enjoy this linear rail to ramble section of the Thames Down Link route taking the short train-ride from Box Hill & Westhumble to Ashtead before walking back

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

It’s that time of year when our beautiful countryside is alight with the colours of autumn. Here, we pick out some of her favourite spots to enjoy the seasonal splendour – as well as some perfect places for a post-walk refresher

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Found on the stretch of the River Thames between Weybridge and East Molesey, Sunbury-on-Thames is blessed with a village feel where it meets the water. From antique hunts to the joys of river life, here are a few of our favourite reasons to visit

Read more
Monday, November 5, 2018

Verity & Violet are Loui and Jess – a singing duo from Surrey who specialise in blending vintage classics with modern favourites. The two have achieved success in the capital, but are now hoping to attract an audience closer to home

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search