RaysIndian, Woking GU22 7PB – restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 09:14 20 November 2015 | UPDATED: 10:05 20 November 2015

RaysIndian, Woking GU22 7PB

RaysIndian, Woking GU22 7PB

Archant

In this year’s final for Surrey Life Restaurant of the Year were three exceptional but very different establishments. Here, our esteemed judge, Dr Anita Eves, head of the department of hospitality at the university of Surrey in Guildford, shares her experience of each one

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine November 2015

***

Runner-up: RaysIndian

Victoria Road, Woking, Surrey GU22 7PB.

Tel: 01483 724452

 

I should probably start by saying that this is not your normal Indian restaurant! Where most others offer food from a distinct region, RaysIndian takes you on a voyage around India and its varied cuisine – from Kashmir to Kerala, and to the borders with its south-east Asian neighbours. Also different is the refined presentation of dishes, which would not be out of place in a traditional fine dining establishment.

Open for two-and-a-half years, the restaurant is run by Ray Aziz and his wife Shoba. Ray is no novice, having run Indian restaurants before in Surrey. The restaurant is modern and bright, and the service polite, friendly and attentive.

The most exciting part of the menu for me was the Indian street foods that made up our first course, and which are Ray’s speciality. There is a great choice, including plenty of vegetarian options, and it would be good to add a mixed plate to the menu, to allow people to try more of the delicious options.

Our main courses comprised Kashmiri laal gosht (chunks of tender lamb in an intense, spicy sauce); Keralan prawn curry (succulent prawns in a coconut based sauce); and samamachi chilli chicken (creamy, with undertones of Thai cuisine).

There are just five desserts on the menu, including two well-executed and beautifully presented Indian dishes, which are made in-house.

If you want to try something a bit different, give RaysIndian a try. I would return for the street food alone.

 

Surrey Life Food & Drink Awards 2015 finalists reviewed

Winner: The French Table

Runner-up: London House

More from Surrey Life

Yesterday, 12:41

Bella Vou run us through CO2RE Intima, a non-surgical treatment helping with women’s intimate health

Read more
Tue, 16:16

At Sir William Perkins’s School (SWPS) the aim is to build confidence, integrity and excellence in a caring, innovative and happy community so that each student leaves with the best possible chance of achieving her full potential and ready to take on the world.

Read more
Tue, 11:43

If the colder weather is making you feel like escaping to somewhere snug and cosy, you might be surprised to find some perfect rural retreats right on your doorstep. Here’s our pick of the best to discover in Surrey…

Read more
Tue, 11:33

Get ready to laugh, boo and hiss, and cheer on your favourite childhood heroes in the array of pantomimes coming to Surrey theatres this Christmas

Read more
Tue, 11:01

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Mon, 16:01

Actress, singer and entertainer, Anita Harris has travelled the world in an illustrious career that spans over five decades. From her home in Chertsey, she talks to Tinx Newton about the people she has worked with, her tour and life in Surrey

Read more
Mon, 14:13

If there's ever a time of year when a brisk, bracing walk is needed, then winter and the lead-up to the festive season is surely it. Here we round up a few of our Surrey favourites

Read more
Mon, 13:01

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (14, 15 and 16 December): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Tuesday, December 4, 2018

Surrey is a county full of festive delights. Think cosy pubs, frosty views and long winter walks. We pick 22 wonderful reasons to spend Christmas in Surrey.

Read more
Tuesday, December 4, 2018

We round up some of the best events and things to do across Surrey this month

Read more
Tuesday, December 4, 2018

With beautiful countryside, stunning villages and plenty of bluebells during spring, Surrey is an amazing place for a stroll

Read more
Tuesday, December 4, 2018

Pupils at The Hawthorns School in Bletchingley collected over 5,800 items of food for the Loveworks foodbanks in Reigate and Merstham

Read more
Friday, November 30, 2018

We’ve teamed up with Grand Illusions to give one lucky reader the opportunity to win a £250 gift card with the stylish homeware brand

Read more
Tuesday, November 27, 2018

Celebrating its 25 anniversary, Kinghams restaurant is found at the heart of one of Surrey’s most iconic villages. Matthew Williams visits to discover the secrets of its longevity

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search