CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today CLICK HERE

McDermotts Fish and Chips, Addington, Surrey CR0 9AS - restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 19:01 06 December 2010 | UPDATED: 16:06 21 July 2014

The best place to get fish and chips in Surrey

The best place to get fish and chips in Surrey

There's nothing quite like tucking into fish and chips every now and again, and believe it or not, here in Surrey we have one of the best places in the UK to do just that. John Hughes finds out more

Reviewd in Surrey Life magazine November 2008

REVIEWED: McDermott's Fish and Chips, 5/7 Forestdale Centre, Featherbed Lane, Addington CR0 9AS Tel: 020 8651 1440

***

What we ate

Main Course
Fish and chips £9.50
Mushy peas £0.80

Dessert
Apple pie and ice cream £3.00

Drinks
Tea £0.90
Glass of house red £2.75
Filter coffee £1.20

VERDICT
Food and drink 9
Service 9
Venue 9
 

***

It may be common knowledge that Surrey has three Michelin-starred restaurants to its credit, but it's probably a lesser known fact that we can also boast one of the best fish and chips shops in the country.

However, McDermott's Fish and Chips, in Addington, is currently the London and South East Region Fish and Chip Shop of the Year (for the fourth time!) and recently made The Times' list of 'The UK's Top Ten best fish and chip shops'.

Having eaten there recently, I now know why. McDermott's is a class act. Their restaurant, and the takeaway next door, are stylish and professional with a strong emphasis on customer service, and their fish and chips are simply the best.

Owner Tony McDermott, who's been serving fish and chips in Addington for 23 years, told me: "It's a simple business, but few places present fish and chips in a stylish way using only quality ingredients, and that's what we aspire to do."

They serve fresh fish from sustainable sources, caught mainly in the Barents Sea, and chips made from Maris Piper potatoes (120 bags every week!). Only groundnut oil is used for frying, which gives their batter a distinct nutty flavour; and it's changed daily, an expensive process, but worth it to maintain the standards.

So, time to peruse the menu and decide what to eat. I settled on cod and chips with a side order of mushy peas and a cup of tea, served with French bread and butter and a complimentary dish of pickled onions and gherkins; all preceded by a mackerel pate on a biscuit (also on the house). The alternatives were haddock, plaice or scampi, in a standard or kingsize portion, but Tony's son Sean, who is also a major player in the success of the business, recommended the cod. "Everyone loves cod and it's by far our most popular dish," he said. "We sell non-fish items too - pies, saveloys etc - but there aren't many takers. Most people want fish and chips."

I have to say, mine more than lived up to expectations. The batter was light and crispy and the flesh of the cod tender and moist. The chips were classic chip shop chips - crunchy, chunky and well cooked, and not a hint of greasiness. As for the mushy peas, they never were a favourite of mine, but as mushy peas go, these were tasty, green and, well, nicely mushed!

Beating the credit crunch

At this point, I spotted that McDermott's also has a wine list - brief, but a wine list nevertheless - and I decided it wasn't too late for a glass of house red. I could have ordered a bottle of Chablis, no less...

Out of duty, rather than need, I sniffed the dessert menu and chose apple pie and ice cream, rounded off with a filter coffee. But McDermott's is all about fish and chips, and that's where its strength lies.

Be warned, McDermott's has a no booking policy and it's very popular. I arrived early - around 5.30pm - and it was empty, but Sean told me that by mid-evening it would be packed.

"Come the weekend, they're queuing out of the door," he told me. "We serve 300 people on a Friday in the restaurant alone. We're in here at 7am cutting up to 900 pieces of fish, and we have 18 members of staff on duty in the evening. So much for the credit crunch - we've just recorded two or three of our best days ever!"

And with fish and chips this good, it's hardly a surprise...
 

 

***


3 other great places to try in Croydon

Tony McDermott knows a thing or two about dining out, and not just fish and chips. Here, he recommends a few other interesting places to eat in his part of Surrey

Le Cassoulet
18 Selsdon Road, South Croydon CR2 6PA. Tel: 020 8633 1818
French bistro fare at Malcolm John's new venture

Bamboo Grove
33 South End, South Croydon CR0 1BE. Tel: 020 8667 0070
Caribbean cuisine fused with modern European influences

Albert's Table
49 b&c South End, Croydon CR0 1BF. Tel: 020 8680 2010
Modern British cuisine from head chef and co-owner Joby Wells

More from Surrey Life

Thu, 10:52

Surrey is full of secret hideaways and hidden gems. Slades Farm on the Wintershall Estate is definitely one of them

Read more
Wed, 16:05

The new hotel is set to open in spring 2019 and will be located in the heart of the vineyard, offering sweeping views over the North Downs Way.

Read more
Tue, 10:53

From Santa’s Grottos, to Victorian Christmas markets and late-night shopping, we’ve covered what’s on in Surrey this season

Read more
Tue, 10:47

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Tue, 10:41

Having bloomed in Brighton’s restaurant scene over the past decade, The Chilli Pickle opened its second site in Guildford this summer

Read more
Mon, 14:32

Historic Royal Palaces and IMG have announced that Kylie Minogue is the first headliner confirmed for Hampton Court Palace Festival 2019. These will be her only London shows of summer 2019. Here’s how you can get tickets

Read more
Mon, 12:56

Enjoy this linear rail to ramble section of the Thames Down Link route taking the short train-ride from Box Hill & Westhumble to Ashtead before walking back

Read more
Mon, 12:13

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (16, 17 and 18 November): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

It’s that time of year when our beautiful countryside is alight with the colours of autumn. Here, we pick out some of her favourite spots to enjoy the seasonal splendour – as well as some perfect places for a post-walk refresher

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Found on the stretch of the River Thames between Weybridge and East Molesey, Sunbury-on-Thames is blessed with a village feel where it meets the water. From antique hunts to the joys of river life, here are a few of our favourite reasons to visit

Read more
Monday, November 5, 2018

Verity & Violet are Loui and Jess – a singing duo from Surrey who specialise in blending vintage classics with modern favourites. The two have achieved success in the capital, but are now hoping to attract an audience closer to home

Read more
Friday, November 2, 2018

With the Christmas celebrations seemingly starting earlier every year, it all feels a little too ‘soon’ sometimes, but what if you want to look your best for Christmas & New year celebrations and are considering having cosmetic non-surgical procedures? The Bella Vou Pantiles Clinic offers surgical and non-surgical cosmetic procedures and treatments from a purpose-built private clinic in the heart of Royal Tunbridge Wells

Read more
Thursday, November 1, 2018

Living in England’s most densely wooded county, it’s always a pleasure to witness Surrey donning its autumn finery. Here’s some of the best places to do just that - plus a few pub pit stops to enjoy on route!

Read more
Wednesday, October 31, 2018

We are regularly reminded of the high cost of housing with statistics revealing that only one in three millennials will be able to afford their own home during their lifetime and that most will remain in the category known as Generation Rent

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search