CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today CLICK HERE

London House, West Byfleet, Surrey KT14 6NF - restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 07:42 22 June 2011 | UPDATED: 12:18 18 August 2015

London House, Old Woking, Surrey GU22 9JN - restaurant review

London House, Old Woking, Surrey GU22 9JN - restaurant review

With a MasterChef: The Professionals semi-finalist at the helm, there’s already a sense of expectation about London House in Old Woking. Matthew Williams paid a visit to discover if Ben Piette’s first restaurant venture lives up to the billing

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine June 2011


Restaurant reviewed:

London House

Originally at 134 High Street, Old Woking, Surrey GU22 9JN: 01483 750610

Re-opening at 31 Station Approach, West Byfleet, Surrey KT14 6NF (previously Trevi) on Wednesday September 9, 2015

***

Verdict:

Food: 9 
Service: 8
Venue: 8

What we ate:

Three courses for £29.50

Starters
Soft and warm poached duck egg on cherry tomato and lemon thyme pastry with crispy pancetta
Cornish crab cannelloni with bisque mayonnaise and baby spinach

Main courses
Fillet of beef with mousseline, horseradish beignet, French fine beans and onion jam
Roaster rack of lamb and rolled shoulder with braised vegetables and rosemary scented oil

Desserts
Assiette of chocolate
Selection of fine cheeses

Drinks
Morgon Les Sybarites Fut de Chene Chateau de Pizay 2008, £25
Two double espressos, £3 each

***

REVIEW: Fans of the pressure cooker that is MasterChef: The Professionals will already be aware of the talents of Ben Piette, who reached last year’s semi-finals. And, for those who haven’t heard of him yet, you will have soon.

The 32-year-old former McLaren Technology Centre hospitality chef – he has cooked for Ron Dennis, Lewis Hamilton, Jenson Button and co in his time – opened London House in Old Woking at the start of April, and as soon as I heard about it, I had to give it a try.

The father of two is originally from the small town of Frejus in the south of France, so you could forgive London House for having a little faux bistro pretension but, bar the chilled French background music, there are few immediately obvious references to his homeland. As Ben is keen to point out, when I speak to him after we’ve eaten, this is about the food, not him.

Arriving unannounced, less than a fortnight after opening, we were slightly thrown by the entrance, which is actually via a side route that takes you round the back, rather than straight in off the street.

Once inside, the interior is bright and the mirrors, unlike many restaurants these days, are above the line of sight when seated – meaning that their interior design properties are evident, but you don’t have to stare at yourself spilling spaghetti bolognaise all over the place. Calming, I’m sure you’ll agree.

The menu is kept ‘simple’: two/three/four courses with a few options for each. We opted for three courses, skipping the fish, and opened up with the poached duck egg and Cornish crab cannelloni. My duck egg on crispy pancetta built flavour upon flavour leaving an aftertaste that continued to please after the plate was clean, and there were no complaints about the cannelloni either.

The best ever?
However, they paled in comparison to the best bit of beef I’ve ever
tasted in my life. In fact, seeing as my fiancée normally waives the beef dishes and said her lamb main was ‘perfect’, her jealous glances after
just a taste were testament to the dish’s quality.

Apparently reared on one of the chef’s friend’s farms in Devon, the meat almost melted into the mousseline and the horseradish beignet, the flavours complementing each other perfectly. Glorious.

Finally, in the assiette of chocolate and selection of fine cheeses, we had a fitting shared sweet/savoury dénouement with double espressos.
Just before leaving, we got the chance to chat with Ben and there was no hiding his ambitions for London House: things have started ‘simple’ he says; expect fireworks from here, says I…


***

3 other restaurants with TV connections

The Dining Room
59 High Street, Reigate RH2 9AE: 01737 226650 
Ready, Steady, Cook regular and former Surrey Life columnist Tony Tobin started to forge the reputation of The Dining Room in Reigate from the day in 1993 when he joined as head chef. Today, it is regarded as one of the town’s top restaurants.


The Mulberry Inn
Petworth Road, Chiddingfold GU8 4SS: 01428 644460
Owned by Radio 2 DJ Chris Evans, the food at The Mulberry has received rave reviews from even the harshest of critics, Marco Pierre White.


Jamie’s Italian
19-23 High Street, Kingston upon Thames KT1 1LL: 0208 912 0110
Located just opposite the Rose Theatre, Jamie Oliver’s Italian offering holds the promise of great dining experiences, even though you can’t book.

More from Surrey Life

Thu, 10:52

Surrey is full of secret hideaways and hidden gems. Slades Farm on the Wintershall Estate is definitely one of them

Read more
Wed, 16:05

The new hotel is set to open in spring 2019 and will be located in the heart of the vineyard, offering sweeping views over the North Downs Way.

Read more
Tue, 10:53

From Santa’s Grottos, to Victorian Christmas markets and late-night shopping, we’ve covered what’s on in Surrey this season

Read more
Tue, 10:47

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Tue, 10:41

Having bloomed in Brighton’s restaurant scene over the past decade, The Chilli Pickle opened its second site in Guildford this summer

Read more
Mon, 14:32

Historic Royal Palaces and IMG have announced that Kylie Minogue is the first headliner confirmed for Hampton Court Palace Festival 2019. These will be her only London shows of summer 2019. Here’s how you can get tickets

Read more
Mon, 12:56

Enjoy this linear rail to ramble section of the Thames Down Link route taking the short train-ride from Box Hill & Westhumble to Ashtead before walking back

Read more
Mon, 12:13

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (16, 17 and 18 November): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

It’s that time of year when our beautiful countryside is alight with the colours of autumn. Here, we pick out some of her favourite spots to enjoy the seasonal splendour – as well as some perfect places for a post-walk refresher

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Found on the stretch of the River Thames between Weybridge and East Molesey, Sunbury-on-Thames is blessed with a village feel where it meets the water. From antique hunts to the joys of river life, here are a few of our favourite reasons to visit

Read more
Monday, November 5, 2018

Verity & Violet are Loui and Jess – a singing duo from Surrey who specialise in blending vintage classics with modern favourites. The two have achieved success in the capital, but are now hoping to attract an audience closer to home

Read more
Friday, November 2, 2018

With the Christmas celebrations seemingly starting earlier every year, it all feels a little too ‘soon’ sometimes, but what if you want to look your best for Christmas & New year celebrations and are considering having cosmetic non-surgical procedures? The Bella Vou Pantiles Clinic offers surgical and non-surgical cosmetic procedures and treatments from a purpose-built private clinic in the heart of Royal Tunbridge Wells

Read more
Thursday, November 1, 2018

Living in England’s most densely wooded county, it’s always a pleasure to witness Surrey donning its autumn finery. Here’s some of the best places to do just that - plus a few pub pit stops to enjoy on route!

Read more
Wednesday, October 31, 2018

We are regularly reminded of the high cost of housing with statistics revealing that only one in three millennials will be able to afford their own home during their lifetime and that most will remain in the category known as Generation Rent

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search