London House, moving to West Byfleet from Old Woking – restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 09:19 20 November 2015 | UPDATED: 10:19 20 November 2015

London House

London House

Archant

In this year’s final for Surrey Life Restaurant of the Year were three exceptional but very different establishments. Here, our esteemed judge, Dr Anita Eves, head of the department of hospitality at the university of Surrey in Guildford, shares her experience of each one

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine November 2015

***

Runner-up: London House

Moving to 31 Station Approach, West Byfleet KT14 6NF.

Tel: 07930 113809

 

My partner and I visited London House on a Saturday night, and it quickly became apparent that most other diners were regulars, greeted like old friends.

Run by Ben and Lornette Piette, with the talented Ben in the kitchen and the delightful Lornette front of house, they opened four years ago, after Ben reached the semi-finals of MasterChef: The Professionals. The atmosphere is relaxed, but formal enough to be special.

We opted for the chef’s menu, which comprises six courses chosen by Ben. Following delivery of home-made bread and flavoured oil with raspberry vinegar, our meal began with an amuse-bouche.

The pre-starter was goat’s cheese with beetroot sorbet, and this set the scene for what was to come: stunning.

Our innovative starter was pigeon with cumin squash, quinoa, raisins and pomegranate – it was a picture, and with tastes to match.

On to blackened cod with fondant potato, golden beetroot and cream of lobster. The cod was delicately spiced; the cream of lobster well-flavoured.

Our main course turned out to be meltingly tender lamb with lemon chilli couscous, spinach coulis, charred vegetables and carrot purée. The star for me though was the couscous, which I could have eaten by the plateful!

Next came three perfectly mature cheeses with delightfully thin crackers, figs, plum chutney and pickled shallots.

Finally, the dessert. Here, Ben chose two dishes that we shared between us. The first was a lovely Amandine sponge, soaked in syrup, with orange sorbet, confit cherries and Armagnac syrup. The second, a superb chocolate fondant with strawberries in a port reduction and Bailey’s Chantilly. It was a perfect end.

Will we visit Ben and Lornette when they reopen following their move to West Byfleet? We certainly hope so!

 

Surrey Life Food & Drink Awards 2015 finalists reviewed

Winner: The French Table

Runner-up: RaysIndian

More from Surrey Life

Yesterday, 12:41

Bella Vou run us through CO2RE Intima, a non-surgical treatment helping with women’s intimate health

Read more
Tue, 16:16

At Sir William Perkins’s School (SWPS) the aim is to build confidence, integrity and excellence in a caring, innovative and happy community so that each student leaves with the best possible chance of achieving her full potential and ready to take on the world.

Read more
Tue, 11:43

If the colder weather is making you feel like escaping to somewhere snug and cosy, you might be surprised to find some perfect rural retreats right on your doorstep. Here’s our pick of the best to discover in Surrey…

Read more
Tue, 11:33

Get ready to laugh, boo and hiss, and cheer on your favourite childhood heroes in the array of pantomimes coming to Surrey theatres this Christmas

Read more
Tue, 11:01

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Mon, 16:01

Actress, singer and entertainer, Anita Harris has travelled the world in an illustrious career that spans over five decades. From her home in Chertsey, she talks to Tinx Newton about the people she has worked with, her tour and life in Surrey

Read more
Mon, 14:13

If there's ever a time of year when a brisk, bracing walk is needed, then winter and the lead-up to the festive season is surely it. Here we round up a few of our Surrey favourites

Read more
Mon, 13:01

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (14, 15 and 16 December): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Tuesday, December 4, 2018

Surrey is a county full of festive delights. Think cosy pubs, frosty views and long winter walks. We pick 22 wonderful reasons to spend Christmas in Surrey.

Read more
Tuesday, December 4, 2018

We round up some of the best events and things to do across Surrey this month

Read more
Tuesday, December 4, 2018

With beautiful countryside, stunning villages and plenty of bluebells during spring, Surrey is an amazing place for a stroll

Read more
Tuesday, December 4, 2018

Pupils at The Hawthorns School in Bletchingley collected over 5,800 items of food for the Loveworks foodbanks in Reigate and Merstham

Read more
Friday, November 30, 2018

We’ve teamed up with Grand Illusions to give one lucky reader the opportunity to win a £250 gift card with the stylish homeware brand

Read more
Tuesday, November 27, 2018

Celebrating its 25 anniversary, Kinghams restaurant is found at the heart of one of Surrey’s most iconic villages. Matthew Williams visits to discover the secrets of its longevity

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search