CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today CLICK HERE

Loch Fyne, Farnham, Surrey, GU9 7NX - restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 13:36 25 May 2012 | UPDATED: 14:46 20 February 2013

Loch Fyne is located in an attractive building in Farnham

Loch Fyne is located in an attractive building in Farnham

Renowned for serving up fresh, tasty seafood, often miles away from the coast, Loch Fyne recently opened a new branch in Farnham. Surrey Life restaurant critic John Hughes went along to give it a try

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine July 2007


Restaurant reviewed: Loch Fyne Restaurant, 3 Downing Street, Farnham, Surrey, GU9 7NX. Tel: 01252 748030.


Renowned for serving up fresh, tasty seafood, often miles away from the coast, Loch Fyne recently opened a new branch in Farnham. Surrey Life restaurant critic John Hughes went along to give it a try


Share your favourite Surrey restaurants


SUBSCRIBE to Surrey Life magazine
BUY SL online
DOWNLOAD the app


What we ate:

Starters
Six oysters on ice - 7.95
Moules marinieres - 5.95

Main Courses
Hot and cold shellfish platter with lobster (for 2) - 39.95

Desserts
Crme brulee - 4.95
Fruit ashet - 4.95

Drinks
Muscadet sevres et maine 2005 (half bottle) - 9.00

The Verdict:

Food and wine 9/10
Venue 8/10
Service 8/10

REVIEW: A Scottish takeover in Downing Street? Yes indeed; however, this is not a reference to Gordon Brown as Prime Minister but the news that Loch Fyne has recently opened a new restaurant in Downing Street, Farnham, their 31st nationwide and their fourth in Surrey. I went along for lunch to see if the chain's philosophy of "serving top quality fish and shellfish in relaxed and friendly surroundings" rings true with so many outlets to consider.

Relaxed and friendly? Without a doubt. The welcome was warm and jolly, and the main dining room bright and open and packed with couples, groups and a healthy spattering of families, with kids obviously welcome. My wife Mary Ann and I were seated in a quiet corner of the conservatory with views across the dining room in all directions.

The restaurant had only recently opened and the staff were still learning the ropes, not that you would have noticed from the virtually seamless service. My starter of six oysters on ice tasted as fresh as they looked and were complemented perfectly by a dash of shallot vinegar and a squeeze of lemon. Mary Ann chose moules marinieres, a generous mountain of succulent shellfish even when chosen as a starter.

For a main course, we decided on the hot and cold shellfish platter for two with lobster (you can chose crab as an alternative), which to some extent duplicated our starters. But no matter; the selection was so broad and inviting that the odd oyster and mussel were by no means unwelcome. The content of the platter varies depending on availability but ours included shell-on Scottish langoustines, crayfish, queen scallops, Atlantic prawns, crevettes, Cornish squid and cockles.

This was seafood heaven - everything super fresh, visually appealing as well as a joy to the tastebuds, and washed down with a half bottle of well chilled Muscadet sevres et maine 2005 - then another!

We even had room for something from the dessert board, crme brulee for Mary Ann and fruit ashet for me, both light and equally fresh.

From our experience, it's easy to see why the Loch Fyne restaurant chain is prospering. Not only do they provide high quality food at a reasonable price, they also take pride in ensuring that all products and ingredients used are derived from wild, free range or sustainable source. You can even have a takeway of sorts; at the heart of the dining room is a fishmongers counter where you can purchase seafood!

More from Surrey Life

Thu, 10:52

Surrey is full of secret hideaways and hidden gems. Slades Farm on the Wintershall Estate is definitely one of them

Read more
Wed, 16:05

The new hotel is set to open in spring 2019 and will be located in the heart of the vineyard, offering sweeping views over the North Downs Way.

Read more
Tue, 10:53

From Santa’s Grottos, to Victorian Christmas markets and late-night shopping, we’ve covered what’s on in Surrey this season

Read more
Tue, 10:47

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Tue, 10:41

Having bloomed in Brighton’s restaurant scene over the past decade, The Chilli Pickle opened its second site in Guildford this summer

Read more
Mon, 14:32

Historic Royal Palaces and IMG have announced that Kylie Minogue is the first headliner confirmed for Hampton Court Palace Festival 2019. These will be her only London shows of summer 2019. Here’s how you can get tickets

Read more
Mon, 12:56

Enjoy this linear rail to ramble section of the Thames Down Link route taking the short train-ride from Box Hill & Westhumble to Ashtead before walking back

Read more
Mon, 12:13

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (16, 17 and 18 November): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

It’s that time of year when our beautiful countryside is alight with the colours of autumn. Here, we pick out some of her favourite spots to enjoy the seasonal splendour – as well as some perfect places for a post-walk refresher

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Found on the stretch of the River Thames between Weybridge and East Molesey, Sunbury-on-Thames is blessed with a village feel where it meets the water. From antique hunts to the joys of river life, here are a few of our favourite reasons to visit

Read more
Monday, November 5, 2018

Verity & Violet are Loui and Jess – a singing duo from Surrey who specialise in blending vintage classics with modern favourites. The two have achieved success in the capital, but are now hoping to attract an audience closer to home

Read more
Friday, November 2, 2018

With the Christmas celebrations seemingly starting earlier every year, it all feels a little too ‘soon’ sometimes, but what if you want to look your best for Christmas & New year celebrations and are considering having cosmetic non-surgical procedures? The Bella Vou Pantiles Clinic offers surgical and non-surgical cosmetic procedures and treatments from a purpose-built private clinic in the heart of Royal Tunbridge Wells

Read more
Thursday, November 1, 2018

Living in England’s most densely wooded county, it’s always a pleasure to witness Surrey donning its autumn finery. Here’s some of the best places to do just that - plus a few pub pit stops to enjoy on route!

Read more
Wednesday, October 31, 2018

We are regularly reminded of the high cost of housing with statistics revealing that only one in three millennials will be able to afford their own home during their lifetime and that most will remain in the category known as Generation Rent

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search