CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today CLICK HERE

Little Dudley House, Dorking, Surrey RH4 2EU - restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 17:24 20 December 2010 | UPDATED: 21:08 02 July 2014

Little Dudley House, Dorking, Surrey RH4 2EU - restaurant review

Little Dudley House, Dorking, Surrey RH4 2EU - restaurant review

The buzz surrounding the latest addition to Dorking's dining scene, Little Dudley House, has been such that Surrey Life reviewer JOHN HUGHES thought he better pop along to discover what all the fuss was about...

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine May 2010

 

Restaurant reviewed: Little Dudley House, 77 South Street, Dorking, Surrey RH4 2EU Tel: 01306 885550

***

Verdict

Food and drink 9
Service 9
Venue 10

 

What we ate

 

Starters
Seafood Platter:
Half a Dozen Native Oysters £9
Soft Boiled Duck Eggs £6

 

Main Courses
12oz Cote de Boeuf Steak £19
Sea Bream £16
Honey Roast Roots £3.50

 

Desserts
Mulled Wine and Cranberry Trifle £5.50
White Chocolate Cheesecake, Vanilla Ice Cream £5.50

 

Drinks
Lark Ascending (cocktail) £7
Purple Rain (cocktail) £5.50
Pinot Grigio Sanvigilio 2009 (large glass) £6.50
Gestos Malbec 2008 (large glass) £8.50

***

REVIEW: I’d heard rumblings that a rather splendid new eatery had opened in Dorking recently. After further investigation, it turned out to be Little Dudley House in South Street, where Pizza Piazza had been for many years. What a pleasure it turned out to be.

 

The interior is a wonderful contrast of traditional and modern, with exposed beams and brickwork in the bar and main dining room to the front of the building, then a stunning contemporary glass room at the back, both boasting bespoke modern furniture in a variety of styles.

 

There’s also an attic room, which I missed, but I have to say that what I did see was hugely impressive. Sometimes, fusions of old and new can backfire; however, here it works brilliantly.

 

Similarly, under the skilful guidance of executive chef Kelvin Sturman, the menu juxtaposes dishes as traditional as beer-battered fish and chips with the likes of iron bark pumpkin risotto, and 28 day 7oz fillet steak with a tongue-twisting starter such as potted partridge and pickled pear! We were choosing from the winter menu, but by the time you read this, the spring menu will have taken its place.

 

We perused the menu over some fun cocktails specially created for Little Dudley House – a Purple Rain (peach, orange, pomegranate and vodka) for Helen and a Lark Ascending (orange, pomegranate, passion fruit and gin) for me; the latter a tribute to Vaughan Williams’ Dorking connections.

 

Food of love
For the starter, I decided on half a dozen oysters, served simply on a bed of ice with shallot vinegar and lemon. They were fresh, succulent and large enough to make you worry about dribbling a bit. Washed down with a large glass of Pinot Grigio Sanvigilio 2009, they were divine.

 

Helen, meanwhile, chose soft boiled duck eggs, Parma ham and Gruyère soldiers – again, simple yet effective, presented on a wooden block with egg cups carved out of it.

 

Our waitress had tipped me the wink that the steaks were pretty good, so I went with her recommendation – a 42 day 12oz cote de boeuf steak with thrice cooked chips and Cafe de Paris butter. It was huge, and finishing it was a labour of love, especially after the oysters. Needless to say, I achieved my goal with relish (or rather English mustard). To accompany it, I chose a glass of red – Gestos Malbec 2008 – full-bodied and delicious.
Helen, too, had had a tip-off that the sea bream with crushed new potatoes, asparagus and a lobster and tomato butter was a bit special. And so it was – with the fresh ingredients producing full flavours.

 

For dessert, I had a mulled wine and cranberry trifle while Helen chose white chocolate cheesecake with vanilla ice cream. Both very pleasant.

 

Prosperous future
Tony, the general manager, told me that Little Dudley House opened six weeks before Christmas. Apparently, it was a baptism of fire and the first four months or so have been busy.

 

I’m not surprised; everything about the place is appealing –  the ambience, the service, the surroundings, the food and drinks, and the very reasonable prices. The word is out, and I foresee a long and prosperous future for them.

***

3 other house themed restaurants in Surrey...

The Glasshouse
14 Street Parade, Kew TW9 3PZ Tel: 0208 940 6777
Only a few yards away from the famous Kew Gardens, the Michelin-starred Glasshouse restaurant offers classical French food with Spanish and Italian touches.

Casa Nova
10 Station Approach, Virginia Water GU25 4DW. Tel: 0844 567 2748
Located close to the beautiful Virginia Water and famous Wentworth Golf Club, Casa Nova has an extensive menu with a combination of modern and traditional Italian dishes.

The Rubbing House
34 Langley Vale Road, Epsom Downs KT18 5LJ. Tel: 01372 745050
Opened in 1709, the Rubbing House is England’s only pub and restaurant on a racecourse and serves a wide range of food from traditional English dishes to moussaka and souvlaki.

***

Discover loads more ideas for eating out in Surrey

More from Surrey Life

Yesterday, 10:52

Surrey is full of secret hideaways and hidden gems. Slades Farm on the Wintershall Estate is definitely one of them

Read more
Wed, 16:05

The new hotel is set to open in spring 2019 and will be located in the heart of the vineyard, offering sweeping views over the North Downs Way.

Read more
Tue, 10:53

From Santa’s Grottos, to Victorian Christmas markets and late-night shopping, we’ve covered what’s on in Surrey this season

Read more
Tue, 10:47

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Tue, 10:41

Having bloomed in Brighton’s restaurant scene over the past decade, The Chilli Pickle opened its second site in Guildford this summer

Read more
Mon, 14:32

Historic Royal Palaces and IMG have announced that Kylie Minogue is the first headliner confirmed for Hampton Court Palace Festival 2019. These will be her only London shows of summer 2019. Here’s how you can get tickets

Read more
Mon, 12:56

Enjoy this linear rail to ramble section of the Thames Down Link route taking the short train-ride from Box Hill & Westhumble to Ashtead before walking back

Read more
Mon, 12:13

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (16, 17 and 18 November): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

It’s that time of year when our beautiful countryside is alight with the colours of autumn. Here, we pick out some of her favourite spots to enjoy the seasonal splendour – as well as some perfect places for a post-walk refresher

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Found on the stretch of the River Thames between Weybridge and East Molesey, Sunbury-on-Thames is blessed with a village feel where it meets the water. From antique hunts to the joys of river life, here are a few of our favourite reasons to visit

Read more
Monday, November 5, 2018

Verity & Violet are Loui and Jess – a singing duo from Surrey who specialise in blending vintage classics with modern favourites. The two have achieved success in the capital, but are now hoping to attract an audience closer to home

Read more
Friday, November 2, 2018

With the Christmas celebrations seemingly starting earlier every year, it all feels a little too ‘soon’ sometimes, but what if you want to look your best for Christmas & New year celebrations and are considering having cosmetic non-surgical procedures? The Bella Vou Pantiles Clinic offers surgical and non-surgical cosmetic procedures and treatments from a purpose-built private clinic in the heart of Royal Tunbridge Wells

Read more
Thursday, November 1, 2018

Living in England’s most densely wooded county, it’s always a pleasure to witness Surrey donning its autumn finery. Here’s some of the best places to do just that - plus a few pub pit stops to enjoy on route!

Read more
Wednesday, October 31, 2018

We are regularly reminded of the high cost of housing with statistics revealing that only one in three millennials will be able to afford their own home during their lifetime and that most will remain in the category known as Generation Rent

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search