CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today CLICK HERE

La Capanna, Cobham, Surrey KT11 3EF - restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 13:42 25 October 2012 | UPDATED: 18:27 11 July 2014

La Capanna, Cobham, Surrey KT11 3EF ~ restaurant review

La Capanna, Cobham, Surrey KT11 3EF ~ restaurant review

Having hosted the likes of Frank Sinatra and John Lennon in the past, Cobham’s La Capanna is an Italian restaurant steeped in heritage, but with thoughts firmly on the future. As they look forward to a new era, Surrey Life’s Matthew Williams delves in...

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine October 2012


Restaurant reviewed: La Capanna, 48 High Street, Cobham, Surrey KT11 3EF Tel: 01932 862121


***

Verdict


Food: 10
Venue: 9
Service: 8 


What we ate...


Starters
Antipasto La Capanna, £15 x2 


Pasta
Spaghetti with Fresh Lobster, £20 x2 


Main course
Veal Saltimbocca, £26 x2 

Desserts
Chocolate Fondant, £8.50
Crème brûlée, £6.50 

Drinks
One bottle of Vino Nobile di Montepulciano, £32

REVIEW: Long a favourite with the rich and the famous (Frank Sinatra and John Lennon are even said to have dined there back in the day), La Capanna has been entertaining Surrey diners looking for something a little special since 1978.

That said, I think it’s fair to say that they had perhaps dropped out of the limelight a bit in recent times. Determined to regain their hold on the culinary crown, however, investment in the dining areas and the arrival of acclaimed chef Francesco Mazzei as an executive partner and his head chef from City restaurant L’Anima, Claudio Milani, appear to signal the start of an exciting new era. There has even been talk of ambitions for Michelin stars in the long-run.

Having met Claudio on entering the restaurant, the fire in his belly and passion for cooking are obvious, and as we would discover his skills in the kitchen are equally adept.

La Capanna’s quaint housing – a short skip from the town’s historic mill – is actually an old farmhouse (or Capanna in Italy) transported from Sussex to Cobham and reassembled behind the facade of a 16th century cottage in Cobham High Street.

Split into four sections – The Dining Room (which seats 70 and is the oldest part of the restaurant); The Minstrels Gallery (on the first floor and perfect for a secluded, romantic dinner for two); The Conservatory (the newest addition and popular for parties); and The Italian Garden (offering alfresco dining in warmer weather) – it is surely one of Surrey’s prettiest restaurants.

Visiting on a Wednesday night, we were swept to a table that allowed us a great vantage of the evening unfolding – doors out into the Italian garden were open to ease what was a stifling evening.

Breads, olives, water and wine were distributed by formally attired but relaxed-mannered staff – led on the night by the amiable assistant manager, Fernando.

We had selected a Vino Nobile di Montepulciano from a regional Italian list that is well-supported by new and old world variants – prices range from the teens to the hundreds for a bottle, but there is also a selection available by glass.


A winning start
Chef Claudio brought forth the evening’s first offering himself, a seasonal speciality of the restaurant’s, Antipasto La Capanna – it proved to be an exquisite mix of fresh seafood, sun blushed tomatoes and citrus tangs.

The pasta course followed, with another spectacular offering from the sea as a centrepiece: fresh lobster. Mounted on a bed of freshly made spaghetti (all pasta is made in-house, as I suppose one would expect of a restaurant of such heritage) and soaked in a lightly spiced broth, it was a delicious dish that left Sylviane and I both expectant for the main course to come – if slightly concerned about where we were going to fit it!

Taking a break between courses and enjoying the coffee and hazelnut tones of our chosen wine, I overheard a couple talking about their first visit to the restaurant back in its very earliest days. On another table, a group of young businessmen traded stories. From all corners came satisfied comment as courses passed by. The restaurant creates a very intimate atmosphere without it ever feeling as if you’re on top of one another.

Our main course of veal saltimbocca (which apparently translates as ‘jumps in the mouth’) was an absolute dream – the beautiful cut of meat wrapped in Parma ham and sage and set on a bed of spiced pumpkin mash. Absolutely stunning.

Before dessert arrived, Claudio chose to serve up a Sgroppino al Limone (or frothy lemon sorbet) – a thoroughly refreshing way to cleanse the palate and a little guilty pleasure with its blend of vodka and prosecco.

I opted to follow it with the intriguing orange and sage crème brûlée, which proved an exciting blend of flavours, while Sylviane opted for the banoffee and chocolate fondant, which cleverly concealed its banana addition inside.

Having spent an evening at La Capanna, it’s hardly surprising that some diners (including a few famous faces) have been coming back for over 30 years. While prices aren’t cheap, the quality is exceptional and the restaurant is home to a relaxed formality that it would be very easy to get comfortably used to.

Now as they move into a new era, it certainly seems that there is plenty more to come from this Cobham kitchen.

***

3 other great Italian restaurants in Surrey

Al Boccon Di’Vino
14 Red Lion Street, Richmond upon Thames TW9 1RW
Tel: 0208 940 9060
Perhaps the most unusual place we have yet reviewed, Al Boccon Di’Vino is a literally menu-less restaurant in Richmond. 

Carlo’s Trattoria
Shere Road, Newlands Corner, Guildford GU4 8SE
Tel: 01483 224180
Perched by the stunning Surrey beauty spot of Newlands Corner, Carlo’s Trattoria is one of those restaurants that you’ve probably seen more times than you’ve been. 

La Luna
10-14 Wharf Street, Godalming GU7 1NN Tel: 01483 414155
A staple in national eating out guides, La Luna, which was opened by a group of Italian friends in Godalming in 2001, hosts a hand-picked selection of some 150 Italian wines.

More from Surrey Life

Yesterday, 16:06

Education expert Dr Ryan Hinchey, Coordinator of College Counselling at ACS International School, with campuses in Cobham, Egham and Hillingdon, answers your questions

Read more
Yesterday, 11:34

Surrounded by reservoirs and located on the banks of the famous river from which it takes its name, Staines-upon-Thames (as it is now called) is a town working to reshape its future and celebrate its picturesque riverside setting

Read more
Mon, 16:30

She may have recently moved to the seaside, but Surrey still holds a uniquely “precious” place in the heart of legendary children’s author Dame Jacqueline Wilson – not to mention the crucial role the county played in bringing everyone’s favourite and newly-returning feisty foster-kid to life

Read more
Mon, 11:59

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (23, 24 and 25 November): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Thursday, November 15, 2018

Surrey is full of secret hideaways and hidden gems. Slades Farm on the Wintershall Estate is definitely one of them

Read more
Wednesday, November 14, 2018

The new hotel is set to open in spring 2019 and will be located in the heart of the vineyard, offering sweeping views over the North Downs Way.

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

From Santa’s Grottos, to Victorian Christmas markets and late-night shopping, we’ve covered what’s on in Surrey this season

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Having bloomed in Brighton’s restaurant scene over the past decade, The Chilli Pickle opened its second site in Guildford this summer

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Historic Royal Palaces and IMG have announced that Kylie Minogue is the first headliner confirmed for Hampton Court Palace Festival 2019. These will be her only London shows of summer 2019. Here’s how you can get tickets

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Enjoy this linear rail to ramble section of the Thames Down Link route taking the short train-ride from Box Hill & Westhumble to Ashtead before walking back

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

It’s that time of year when our beautiful countryside is alight with the colours of autumn. Here, we pick out some of her favourite spots to enjoy the seasonal splendour – as well as some perfect places for a post-walk refresher

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Found on the stretch of the River Thames between Weybridge and East Molesey, Sunbury-on-Thames is blessed with a village feel where it meets the water. From antique hunts to the joys of river life, here are a few of our favourite reasons to visit

Read more
Monday, November 5, 2018

Verity & Violet are Loui and Jess – a singing duo from Surrey who specialise in blending vintage classics with modern favourites. The two have achieved success in the capital, but are now hoping to attract an audience closer to home

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search