CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today CLICK HERE

La Barbe, Reigate, Surrey RH2 7AN - restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 18:46 06 December 2010 | UPDATED: 11:39 28 February 2013

La Barbe in Reigate

La Barbe in Reigate

One of the Surrey's top French restaurants, La Barbe in Reigate is celebrating an impressive 25 years of being in business. JOHN HUGHES went along to sample it for himself

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine January 2009

Reviewed: La Barbe, Bell Street, Reigate, Surrey RH2 7AN Tel: 01737 241966

One of the Surrey's top French restaurants, La Barbe in Reigateis celebrating an impressive 25 years of being in business. JOHN HUGHES went along to sample it for himself


Share your favourite Surrey restaurants


SUBSCRIBE to Surrey Life magazine
BUY SL online


Is it my imagination or is there a dearth of real French restaurants in Surrey? Certainly, La Barbe is one of the few, and a splendid flagship of the genre, having served fine French cuisine in Reigate's Bell Street for 25 years - a longevity that speaks for itself in the face of tough culinary competition. Most people I know have dined there, or if not know of it by reputation; and the reputation is good. In fact, this popular establishment has just received a special mention in the prestigious Harden's UK Restaurant Guide 2009.

Belle ambiance

As you walk through the door, the atmosphere is hugely appealing - intimate, tasteful and unpretentious - with French waiters and waitresses and a genuinely French menu rather than a European hybrid. Three of us for dinner again this time - myself, photographer Helen and guest Mary Ann.

In such surroundings, how could I fail to choose escargots for a starter, cooked simply in garlic butter and served with lots of bread with which to mop it up. Mind you, Helen's beetroot bavarois served with marinated scallops on the plate next to me looked equally inviting, with Mary Ann's moules marinieres served in cream and saffron a close third (I tried a few - large, succulent and quite the finest I've tasted in a long while).

On to the main course and for me it was lemon sole fillet with spinach and salmon mousseline, potato gnocchi and spinach cream; delightfully presented (as all the mains were) and a tantalisingly delicate blend of flavours. Helen's choice was much richer - roasted duck breast with orange and ginger bread sauce and shredded potato pancake. Similarly, Mary Ann enjoyed the full flavour of venison saddle served with cranberry sauce and roasted apple with bacon and fresh thyme.

Two desserts between three was plenty - a generous chocolate sponge cake with white chocolate cream and cherries, and a selection of home-made sorbets. The latter were to die for, and one in particular, blackberry, was exceptionally delicious.

Bearing in mind the complex variety of our dishes, I chose a simple wine, a Cotes du Rhone Villages, which turned out to complement some of them but not others. Pleasant nevertheless and one of the more modestly priced from a wine list I would dearly love to investigate further.

C'est magnifique!

My verdict on La Barbe? Magnifique! If you've been before, go again as head chef Laurent creates a new menu every season, and if not, you're in for a treat.


Meanwhile, check out their website where Laurent reveals his secrets - click on Recipe of the Month, Recipe Archives and Chef's Tips... and bon apptit!





What we ate

Dinner
(2 courses 24.95 / 3 courses 29.95)

Starters
Escargots de Bourgogne
Timbale de Betterave au Carpaccio de Saint Jacques
Moules Marinieres a la Crme de Safran

Main Courses
Lorghette de Sole Rotie aux Gnocchis, Crme d'Epinard
Magret de Canard a l'Orange et Pain d'Espice, Pomme Darphin
Pave de venaison aux airelles, Pomme Rotie au Thym et Bacon

Desserts
Assiettes de Sorbets Maison
Chocolate Sponge Cake

Drinks
Cotes du Rhone Villages
Sols et Sens 2007 23

Verdict
Food and drink 9
Service 9
Venue 9





3 other French restaurants in Surrey to try...


The French Table, 85 Maple Road, Surbiton KT6 4AW: 0208 399 2365
A family-run business, the French Table was nominated for 'Best Local Restaurant' by Time Out.

La Buvette, 6 Church Walk, Richmond TW9 1SN: 0208 940 6264
Popular with the rich and famous, La Buvette is regarded as one of the most fashionable eateries in Richmond.

Le Chien Qui Fume, 107 Walton Road, East Molesey KT8 0DR: 0208 979 7150
Inspired by Au Chien Qui Fume in Paris, this restaurant has been cooking fine French cuisine for over 30 years.

More from Surrey Life

Yesterday, 10:52

Surrey is full of secret hideaways and hidden gems. Slades Farm on the Wintershall Estate is definitely one of them

Read more
Wed, 16:05

The new hotel is set to open in spring 2019 and will be located in the heart of the vineyard, offering sweeping views over the North Downs Way.

Read more
Tue, 10:53

From Santa’s Grottos, to Victorian Christmas markets and late-night shopping, we’ve covered what’s on in Surrey this season

Read more
Tue, 10:47

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Tue, 10:41

Having bloomed in Brighton’s restaurant scene over the past decade, The Chilli Pickle opened its second site in Guildford this summer

Read more
Mon, 14:32

Historic Royal Palaces and IMG have announced that Kylie Minogue is the first headliner confirmed for Hampton Court Palace Festival 2019. These will be her only London shows of summer 2019. Here’s how you can get tickets

Read more
Mon, 12:56

Enjoy this linear rail to ramble section of the Thames Down Link route taking the short train-ride from Box Hill & Westhumble to Ashtead before walking back

Read more
Mon, 12:13

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (16, 17 and 18 November): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Friday, November 9, 2018

We round up 10 of the most beautiful photos of Surrey shared on Instagram this week…

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

It’s that time of year when our beautiful countryside is alight with the colours of autumn. Here, we pick out some of her favourite spots to enjoy the seasonal splendour – as well as some perfect places for a post-walk refresher

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Found on the stretch of the River Thames between Weybridge and East Molesey, Sunbury-on-Thames is blessed with a village feel where it meets the water. From antique hunts to the joys of river life, here are a few of our favourite reasons to visit

Read more
Monday, November 5, 2018

Verity & Violet are Loui and Jess – a singing duo from Surrey who specialise in blending vintage classics with modern favourites. The two have achieved success in the capital, but are now hoping to attract an audience closer to home

Read more
Friday, November 2, 2018

With the Christmas celebrations seemingly starting earlier every year, it all feels a little too ‘soon’ sometimes, but what if you want to look your best for Christmas & New year celebrations and are considering having cosmetic non-surgical procedures? The Bella Vou Pantiles Clinic offers surgical and non-surgical cosmetic procedures and treatments from a purpose-built private clinic in the heart of Royal Tunbridge Wells

Read more
Thursday, November 1, 2018

Living in England’s most densely wooded county, it’s always a pleasure to witness Surrey donning its autumn finery. Here’s some of the best places to do just that - plus a few pub pit stops to enjoy on route!

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search