CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today CLICK HERE

Jamie's Italian, Kingston, Surrey KT1 1LL - restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 18:47 06 December 2010 | UPDATED: 15:48 20 February 2013

Jamie's Italian in Kingston

Jamie's Italian in Kingston

Ever since Jamie Oliver opened his new restaurant in Kingston, there's been a veritable stampede to get a table. TRACY COOK joined the queue to see whether it's worth the wait

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine February 2009

Reviewed: Jamie's Italian, 19-23 High Street, Kingston upon Thames KT1 1LL: 0208 912 0110

Ever since Jamie Oliver opened his new restaurant in Kingston, there's been a veritable stampede to get a table. TRACY COOK joined the queue to see whether it's worth the wait


Share your favourite Surrey restaurants


SUBSCRIBE to Surrey Life magazine
BUY SL online



If you don't know where Jamie Oliver's new restaurant is, the queues lining up outside will surely lead you there. Located on the High Street in Kingston, just opposite the Rose Theatre, it holds the promise of great dining experiences, even though you can't book (unless it's for parties of eight or more).

It was a cold, rainy Tuesday morning as we queued up just before opening time. Peering through the window, huge hanging, smoked hams looked appealingly rustic and by the time it was midday, there were some 30 people behind us and a party atmosphere in the queue.

I've long admired Jamie's cookbooks and his campaigns with school dinners, Fifteen and most recently his Ministry of Food. So I was curious to find out what his latest mission was all about. Jamie wants to set up neighbourhood restaurants offering good, authentic, Italian food at affordable prices. Having long been a fan, I hoped he wasn't going to let me down.

As the doors swung open, we were greeted by a warm, rich fug of garlic, baking bread and the clash of pans from the open kitchen. We were virtually salivating as we were shown to our wooden table with its trendy metalled orange chairs. By half past twelve, the bustling restaurant was full.

We mulled over the menu while relishing the homemade breads - focaccia, sourdough, grissini breadsticks and crispy bread, served with olive oil and a 12-year-old sweet balsamic vinegar.

For starters, we chose the vegetable antipasti plank - and were thrilled when two tins of La Bella San Marzano tomatoes were plonked on our table and a long wooden board perched on top. On it was a feast of mouthwatering, chargrilled marinated aubergines - courgettes, artichokes and peppers - along with buffalo mozzarella and pecorino cheese served with hot chilli jam and a small dish of Italian coleslaw with lemon and mint dressing. Good, fresh ingredients, simply done. Jamie's mission on a plate and truly a mouthful of Italy.

A rival to Rome

For the main course, I ordered the homemade linguini with pan-fried garlicky prawns, chilli, rocket and fennel. It was delicious, quite spicy, the hint of fennel coming through. My friend ordered the day's special - fish stew with Nile perch and halibut, which she said was very tasty, "but it's got too many carrots in". All the portions were generous, even Jamie's 'humble green salad'. Full of crisp, green leaves, it did, however, look rather like a snowstorm, so smothered was it with parmesan gratings.

While the puddings looked tempting (a diner nearby had chocolate brownie and icecream), we settled for cappuccinos, which were made with strong coffee and the silkiest foam I've had since visiting Rome three years ago.

The service is exuberant and intelligent - and we were chuffed to chat to Gennaro, Jamie's mentor, who is supervising on his behalf. For a neighbourhood Italian, Jamie's is everything it sets out to be and more: authentic, simple food, brilliantly done and all at fair prices. It's like a trip to Italy - well worth the ten-minute wait in the rain.







What we ate

Starters
Basket of bread 3.18
2 vegetable antipasti 12.72

Main Courses
Prawn linguini 10.85
Special fish stew 14.95
Green salad 2.35

Drinks
Carafe of water Free
2 cappuccino 4.50

Verdict
Food and drink 10
Service 9
Venue 10



3 other Surrey restaurants owned by celebrity chefs...


Kew Grill, 10b Kew Green, Richmond TW9 3BH. Tel: 0208 948 4433
Owned by Antony Worrall Thompson, the Kew Grill uses the finest seasonal produce and is famous for its amazing array of steaks (the menu is dominated by meat so this is not, perhaps, the best choice for vegetarians).

The Dining Room, 59a High Street, Reigate RH2 9AE. Tel: 01737 226 650 Well-known to viewers of BBC's Ready Steady Cook, Tony Tobin owns the Dining Room in Reigate where he offers the gastronomic luxuries of top London eateries in a Surrey market town, and now at sister restaurant POST in Banstead, too.

Le Raj, 211 Fir Tree Road, Epsom Downs KT17 3LB. Tel 01737 371371
Awarded an MBE in the New Year's Honours List for services to the Indian and Bangladeshi restaurant industry, Enam Ali owns the acclaimed Le Raj restaurant on Epsom Downs, a regular haunt of local celebs such as Chris Tarrant.

More from Surrey Life

Yesterday, 16:06

Education expert Dr Ryan Hinchey, Coordinator of College Counselling at ACS International School, with campuses in Cobham, Egham and Hillingdon, answers your questions

Read more
Yesterday, 11:34

Surrounded by reservoirs and located on the banks of the famous river from which it takes its name, Staines-upon-Thames (as it is now called) is a town working to reshape its future and celebrate its picturesque riverside setting

Read more
Mon, 16:30

She may have recently moved to the seaside, but Surrey still holds a uniquely “precious” place in the heart of legendary children’s author Dame Jacqueline Wilson – not to mention the crucial role the county played in bringing everyone’s favourite and newly-returning feisty foster-kid to life

Read more
Mon, 11:59

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (23, 24 and 25 November): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Thursday, November 15, 2018

Surrey is full of secret hideaways and hidden gems. Slades Farm on the Wintershall Estate is definitely one of them

Read more
Wednesday, November 14, 2018

The new hotel is set to open in spring 2019 and will be located in the heart of the vineyard, offering sweeping views over the North Downs Way.

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

From Santa’s Grottos, to Victorian Christmas markets and late-night shopping, we’ve covered what’s on in Surrey this season

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Having bloomed in Brighton’s restaurant scene over the past decade, The Chilli Pickle opened its second site in Guildford this summer

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Historic Royal Palaces and IMG have announced that Kylie Minogue is the first headliner confirmed for Hampton Court Palace Festival 2019. These will be her only London shows of summer 2019. Here’s how you can get tickets

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Enjoy this linear rail to ramble section of the Thames Down Link route taking the short train-ride from Box Hill & Westhumble to Ashtead before walking back

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

It’s that time of year when our beautiful countryside is alight with the colours of autumn. Here, we pick out some of her favourite spots to enjoy the seasonal splendour – as well as some perfect places for a post-walk refresher

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Found on the stretch of the River Thames between Weybridge and East Molesey, Sunbury-on-Thames is blessed with a village feel where it meets the water. From antique hunts to the joys of river life, here are a few of our favourite reasons to visit

Read more
Monday, November 5, 2018

Verity & Violet are Loui and Jess – a singing duo from Surrey who specialise in blending vintage classics with modern favourites. The two have achieved success in the capital, but are now hoping to attract an audience closer to home

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search