CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today CLICK HERE

El meson de Los Hermanos, Weybridge, Surrey KT13 8AU - restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 19:40 23 November 2011 | UPDATED: 13:04 14 July 2014

El meson de Los Hermanos, Weybridge, Surrey KT13 8AU - restaurant review

El meson de Los Hermanos, Weybridge, Surrey KT13 8AU - restaurant review

As the nights darken and memories of summer holidays start to fade, there can be few better places to escape a bleak evening than El meson de Los Hermanos in Weybridge. Matthew Williams discovers a ray of Spanish sunshine here in Surrey

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine October 2011

Reviewed: El meson de Los Hermanos, 20 Baker Street, Weybridge KT13 8AU: 01932 851333

***


Verdict:

Food and drink 8
Service 8
Venue 8

What we ate:

Tapas
Gambas al pil pil (peeled prawns with garlic and chilli), £7.50
Tortilla de chorizo y espinacas (Spanish omelette with chorizo and spinach), £4.50
Patatas bravas (chillied potatoes), £3
Setas portabella y jamon con virutas de queso manchego (portabella mushrooms with Serrano ham, manchego cheese shavings and rocket leaves), £5
Chorizo picante (spicy chorizo in red wine), £4
Albondigas (meatballs), £4.50
Surtido de Ibericos (assorted Spanish cured sausages), £7 

Drinks
One bottle of Ramon Bilbao Single Vineyard Rioja, £17.50

***

REVIEW: Historically, I’ve always found tapas a little hit and miss in England and it’s probably fair to say that it hasn’t really been my first port of call when looking for an evening out.

I’ve tended to find that the evenings I have enjoyed in various ‘Spanish’ restaurants are usually more to do with the people I’m with, rather than the quality of the food I’m being served ­– nothing especially wrong with that, you might say, but you can obviously achieve much the same effect round the dinner table at home

So, I was intrigued by the steady flow of glowing reports we’ve received about a well-established Weybridge eatery and finally built up the nerve to give it a go. And I’m so glad I did.

Anyone longing for the Spanish sun and holidays on the Costas will find the bright and breezy El meson de Los Hermanos (I’m informed this translates as the inn of the brothers) a ray of sunshine in their autumn.

It was a Tuesday night and, having started early, every table was full by the time we left. We were welcomed by the smiling owner next to a tinkling water fountain in the ‘so Spanish it hurts’ venue – tiled walls, pictures of proud bulls etc.

In fact, he was so friendly I half thought he’d cottoned on to my exact reason for visiting but as the evening progressed everyone received the same warm smile and light conversation.

The atmosphere was great and we got the impression that many of the surrounding tables were occupied by people to whom the restaurant may well be a second home.

It’s not just tapas at Los Hermanos; they also have an à la carte option, which I’m told is well worth checking out. We opted for the more traditional route of dining, however, lining up seven dishes that took over our table and the accompanying (and highly convenient) fold-out extension – with a very reasonable bottle of rioja to keep the feast company.

Tackling the tapas
Highlights for me were the patatas bravas (bringing a well-rounded kick to proceedings), the chorizo in red wine (strong, smoky flavours) and the albondigas (extremely tasty meatballs). Combined with Spanish omelette, prawns, a mushroom concoction and assorted Spanish cured sausages – with no complaints about any of the dishes served – it proved a delicious way to spend the evening.

As for dessert, I was defeated and had to call a truce.

Apparently, the restaurant’s tag line is ‘Food to fight for’ (not quite the ‘Tapas is for sharing’ that you might expect), though fortunately no blows were exchanged as the sizzling dishes were tackled (maybe they are referring to the battle to complete the sizeable portions).

In fact, it’s the kind of place where any stresses and strains melt away
and brings back memories of one of my favourite Spanish phrases: mañana. With food this good, frankly anything else can wait.

***
 

3 other Spanish restaurants in Surrey


El Pic Spanish
177 London Road, Camberley GU15 3JS
Tel: 01276 670670
El Pic has been named in the top five Spanish restaurants in the country by Channel 4’s The F Word. 


Don Fernandos
27F The Quadrant, Richmond TW9 1DN
Tel: 0208 948 6447
Open since 1990, this is a traditional Spanish restaurant serving authentic cuisine, owned and run by the Izquierdo family. 


La Casita
4/5 Chapel Street, Guildford GU1 3UH
Tel: 01483 455155
Offering Tapas for a Tenner (three dishes) until 7pm every day and takeaway, this Mediterranean restaurant is a popular destination.

More from Surrey Life

16:06

Education expert Dr Ryan Hinchey, Coordinator of College Counselling at ACS International School, with campuses in Cobham, Egham and Hillingdon, answers your questions

Read more

Surrounded by reservoirs and located on the banks of the famous river from which it takes its name, Staines-upon-Thames (as it is now called) is a town working to reshape its future and celebrate its picturesque riverside setting

Read more
Yesterday, 16:30

She may have recently moved to the seaside, but Surrey still holds a uniquely “precious” place in the heart of legendary children’s author Dame Jacqueline Wilson – not to mention the crucial role the county played in bringing everyone’s favourite and newly-returning feisty foster-kid to life

Read more
Yesterday, 11:59

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (23, 24 and 25 November): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Thursday, November 15, 2018

Surrey is full of secret hideaways and hidden gems. Slades Farm on the Wintershall Estate is definitely one of them

Read more
Wednesday, November 14, 2018

The new hotel is set to open in spring 2019 and will be located in the heart of the vineyard, offering sweeping views over the North Downs Way.

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

From Santa’s Grottos, to Victorian Christmas markets and late-night shopping, we’ve covered what’s on in Surrey this season

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Having bloomed in Brighton’s restaurant scene over the past decade, The Chilli Pickle opened its second site in Guildford this summer

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Historic Royal Palaces and IMG have announced that Kylie Minogue is the first headliner confirmed for Hampton Court Palace Festival 2019. These will be her only London shows of summer 2019. Here’s how you can get tickets

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Enjoy this linear rail to ramble section of the Thames Down Link route taking the short train-ride from Box Hill & Westhumble to Ashtead before walking back

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

It’s that time of year when our beautiful countryside is alight with the colours of autumn. Here, we pick out some of her favourite spots to enjoy the seasonal splendour – as well as some perfect places for a post-walk refresher

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Found on the stretch of the River Thames between Weybridge and East Molesey, Sunbury-on-Thames is blessed with a village feel where it meets the water. From antique hunts to the joys of river life, here are a few of our favourite reasons to visit

Read more
Monday, November 5, 2018

Verity & Violet are Loui and Jess – a singing duo from Surrey who specialise in blending vintage classics with modern favourites. The two have achieved success in the capital, but are now hoping to attract an audience closer to home

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search