CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today CLICK HERE

Chris Evans' The Mulberry Inn, Chiddingfold GU8 4SS – restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 11:55 20 April 2015 | UPDATED: 12:20 12 August 2015

Supercars at The Mulberry, Chiddingfold (Photo: Bumble and Brown)

Supercars at The Mulberry, Chiddingfold (Photo: Bumble and Brown)

Archant

While its car park is no stranger to supercars and its bar stools have supported the odd A-lister over the years, Chris Evans’ pub The Mulberry Inn at Chiddingfold 
has an offering that welcomes all comers, as Matthew Williams discovers

This pub is full of nods to the ownerThis pub is full of nods to the owner

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine April 2015

 

***

The Mulberry Inn

Petworth Road, Chiddingfold GU8 4SS

Tel: 01428 644460

 

***

The low-down

 

Verdict:

Food: 7

Venue: 9

Service: 8

 

What we ate:

Starters

• Serrano ham and ham hock terrine, plum chutney and ciabatta slices, £7.60

• Pan-roasted gnocchi, spinach, pancetta lardons, creamy sauce and Parmesan, £7.10

Main courses

• Roasted pheasant leg, pheasant breast wrapped in bacon and herbs, pearl onions, new potatoes, roasted carrots and parsnips, £16.50

• Salmon fillet, crushed potato, spinach, white wine and sautéed mushroom sauce, £15.40

Desserts

• Sticky toffee bread and butter pudding, toffee sauce and vanilla ice cream, £6

• Baked Alaska with mixed berry sauce, £6

Drinks

• La Troubadour, Carignan Grenache, France 2013, £5.50 for a small glass

• El Colectivo Malbec, Argentina 2013, £7.50 for a large glass

 

***

 

REVIEW: If you didn’t know that Radio 2 DJ and TV presenter Chris Evans owned The Mulberry pub beforehand, it certainly becomes obvious once you’ve walked off the gravel car park, across the ranch-like veranda and through the front doors.

Well, the only other reason for the scrapbook of images that line the walls would be that some enthusiastic Big Breakfast fanatic landlord had transformed the place into a shrine.

It’s not as off-putting as it might sound, however, and instead makes you feel like you’ve joined some sort of exclusive club. They’ve also got shots of the many A-list musicians that have performed at the pub in the name of Children in Need (Sir Tom Jones, Paolo Nutini, James Blunt, Gary Barlow, Paloma Faith… the list goes on!). Love or hate those stars, there’s no doubt they are of the heavyweight persuasion and they’ve made The Mulberry something of a tourist attraction in its own right.

It’s not just a place for the rich and famous, however. As the last outpost of Surrey, on the way out of the county from the picturesque village of Chiddingfold, it’s a fitting send-off or welcome: with plenty of real ale on tap (three local brews on our visit), fine wines on the list (extensive), serious food (Marco Pierre White approved) and cosy table arrangements or bar stools (take your pick).

There’s also guest rooms, should you wish to extend your stay. So don’t forget your toothbrush...

A super bar

Surrey Life has visited The Mulberry on numerous occasions – most notably for the Supercar Sundays that grew to such a level of popularity at one point that Goodwood was in danger of being overshadowed! We’d never eaten here though; except for a bacon sarnie on one of those early supercar festooned mornings.

So now the time had come, and on arrival, we found ourselves sitting in a welcoming corner next to a framed magazine cover signed by The Simpsons’ creator Matt Groening. As I said, it’s not your average pub. But it is a pub. They pride themselves as being “somewhere to relax, laugh and spend time with friends, family and four-legged friends.” And that is what you get.

A look around from our viewpoint, with our four-month-old daughter already smiling and at home, revealed a mix of ladies who lunch, businessmen and families – all with that relaxed look that bodes well for what’s to come.

Settled in to our big red leather chairs, with glasses of wine and water delivered to the table by our friendly waitress, a quick look at the menu hinted at plenty of the refined – as well as a dose of burgers, fish and chips etc should the like be calling. There’s also the aptly-named and very reasonably priced TFI Pieday (two for one pies every Friday). 



Right on course


I opted for the pan-roasted gnocchi, with spinach, pancetta lardons, creamy sauce and Parmesan to start; the earthy pancetta and Parmesan cutting through the light gnocchi and sauce to create a dish I could have easily had as my main course. Sylviane opted for the suitably meaty Serrano ham and ham hock terrine with plum chutney and ciabatta slices. No complaints there.

For the most part, my pheasant main course was also thoroughly enjoyable; although the leg was probably a touch on the dry side, which was a shame. However, the breast wrapped in bacon and herbs was absolutely delicious, and washed down with a glass of Malbec, it made for a suitably homely winter treat. Sylviane’s salmon fillet was the winner on the main courses though, with fresh flavours that pleased at every stage and lingered moreishly on the palate long after the first bite; an excellent dish.

For me, however, the real stars of our visit were the desserts. I opted for a sticky toffee bread and butter pudding, toffee sauce and vanilla ice cream that would have had MasterChef’s Gregg Wallace effusing to such an extent that the BBC would have had to go off air for a few minutes while a cold shower was ordered. It was a pudding that did everything a pudding should, basically, and I could have carried on eating it all day.

Sylviane’s Baked Alaska with mixed berry sauce was epic in proportion and yet did your correspondent get to try any? Of course not...!

Once again, The Mulberry proved that if you’re not really a fan of fine dining but you like your food fine, pubs are often the place to go now. And while the owner may live elsewhere these days, I’m pretty certain that Mr Evans must be very proud of what his former local has become under his custody. Plus, judging from the walls, everyone from Zig and Zag (remember them?!) to Sir Tom Jones approves too.

 

***

3 other great (and well connected) Surrey eateries

 

The Dining Room

59a High Street, Reigate RH2 9AE. Tel: 01737 226650

For over 20 years, Ready Steady Cook stalwart Tony Tobin has cooked up a storm in his classy venue perched over Reigate’s High Street. The seared scallops is his signature dish, but there are plenty of other tempting options.

The William Bray

Shere Lane, Shere GU5 9HS. Tel: 01483 202044

This popular pub is owned by Julian Bailey, an ex-Formula One driver who wanted to create a pub that he would like to frequent himself. The William Bray features many touches from his background and also takes its food extremely seriously.

The Restaurant at Tante Marie

57-61 Commercial Way, Woking GU21 6HN. Tel: 01483 726957

Opening on Thursday April 2, this new restaurant will be where graduates of the cookery school’s Cordon Bleu Diploma take their training to the next level. The school is co-owned by Gordon Ramsay.

More from Surrey Life

Thu, 10:52

Surrey is full of secret hideaways and hidden gems. Slades Farm on the Wintershall Estate is definitely one of them

Read more
Wed, 16:05

The new hotel is set to open in spring 2019 and will be located in the heart of the vineyard, offering sweeping views over the North Downs Way.

Read more
Tue, 10:53

From Santa’s Grottos, to Victorian Christmas markets and late-night shopping, we’ve covered what’s on in Surrey this season

Read more
Tue, 10:47

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Tue, 10:41

Having bloomed in Brighton’s restaurant scene over the past decade, The Chilli Pickle opened its second site in Guildford this summer

Read more
Mon, 14:32

Historic Royal Palaces and IMG have announced that Kylie Minogue is the first headliner confirmed for Hampton Court Palace Festival 2019. These will be her only London shows of summer 2019. Here’s how you can get tickets

Read more
Mon, 12:56

Enjoy this linear rail to ramble section of the Thames Down Link route taking the short train-ride from Box Hill & Westhumble to Ashtead before walking back

Read more
Mon, 12:13

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (16, 17 and 18 November): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

It’s that time of year when our beautiful countryside is alight with the colours of autumn. Here, we pick out some of her favourite spots to enjoy the seasonal splendour – as well as some perfect places for a post-walk refresher

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Found on the stretch of the River Thames between Weybridge and East Molesey, Sunbury-on-Thames is blessed with a village feel where it meets the water. From antique hunts to the joys of river life, here are a few of our favourite reasons to visit

Read more
Monday, November 5, 2018

Verity & Violet are Loui and Jess – a singing duo from Surrey who specialise in blending vintage classics with modern favourites. The two have achieved success in the capital, but are now hoping to attract an audience closer to home

Read more
Friday, November 2, 2018

With the Christmas celebrations seemingly starting earlier every year, it all feels a little too ‘soon’ sometimes, but what if you want to look your best for Christmas & New year celebrations and are considering having cosmetic non-surgical procedures? The Bella Vou Pantiles Clinic offers surgical and non-surgical cosmetic procedures and treatments from a purpose-built private clinic in the heart of Royal Tunbridge Wells

Read more
Thursday, November 1, 2018

Living in England’s most densely wooded county, it’s always a pleasure to witness Surrey donning its autumn finery. Here’s some of the best places to do just that - plus a few pub pit stops to enjoy on route!

Read more
Wednesday, October 31, 2018

We are regularly reminded of the high cost of housing with statistics revealing that only one in three millennials will be able to afford their own home during their lifetime and that most will remain in the category known as Generation Rent

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search