CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today CLICK HERE

Chez Vous, Warlingham, Surrey CR6 9LA ~ restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 15:08 17 July 2012 | UPDATED: 21:37 20 February 2013

Chez Vous, Warlingham, Surrey CR6 9LA ~ restaurant review

Chez Vous, Warlingham, Surrey CR6 9LA ~ restaurant review

Opened last November, the new French/British restaurant Chez Vous in Warlingham seems to have hit on a winning formula. Surrey Life's Matthew Williams paid a visit

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine July 2012


Restaurant reviewed: Chez Vous, 432 Limpsfield Road, Warlingham CR6 9LA. Tel: 01883 620451


Openedin November, the new French/British restaurant Chez Vous in Warlingham seems to have hit on a winning formula. Surrey Lifes Matthew Williams paid a visit


Share your favourite Surrey restaurants


SUBSCRIBE to Surrey Life magazine
BUY SL online
DOWNLOAD the app


The Verdict:
Food: 9
Venue: 9
Service: 9


What we ate


Starters
Layered guinea fowl & cured ham terrine with a tomato & basil salsa, 8.25
Seared king scallops with a pea puree & crisp pancetta, 10.50


Mains
Grilled fillet of beef with a green peppercorn cream sauce and pont neuf fries, 23.75
Braised leg of rabbit cooked with mustard & white wine, pancetta stuffed fondant potatoes, 16.75
Sauted spinach with a hint of chilli, 3.95


Desserts
Rich chocolate brownie with caramelised banana and rum & banana ice cream, 6.50
Selection of French and local cheeses with chutneys and biscuits, 8


Drinks
Brouilly, Domaine Cret de Garanches 2010, 24.85

REVIEW: With 27 years spent in the kitchen of the renowned La Barbe restaurant in Reigate, head chef Laurent Pacaud is already well known to Surrey diners. As it turns out, he also lives just down the road from Surrey Life, but we werent about to let any neighbourly bias get in the way of a good review.


Having teamed up with Chez Vous founder Martin Bradley, whose skills were fine-tuned in the kitchens of The Savoy, The Hilton Park Lane and Gleneagles, the pair launched their new restaurant back in November to complement the already successful Chez Vous Events catering company.


Located high on a hill (before snow became the winter norm of recent years, the village was one of the few places that would generally get a sprinkling), Warlingham may not quite have the bustling restaurant strewn streets of Reigate, but there are some great walks nearby and the area is thick with impressive houses. On another point of interest, the village was also the home of Sir Joseph Swan, inventor of the incandescent light bulb.


Found by the triangular village green, French/British restaurant Chez Vous certainly seems to have been a bright idea and, as it turns out, the venture has every chance of becoming a destination for gourmets far and wide: theyve even got accommodation for those who have enjoyed the hospitality a little too much.


Midweek treat
It was a quiet Tuesday evening when my fiance Sylviane and I arrived, parking in the conveniently located car park and entering through a back door, left open to counter the balmy weather, into a plush bar area.


As with many restaurants in these current times, mid-week customers can be hard to find so it was perhaps no surprise that we were welcomed so warmly and led to our table straight away. The dcor is modern and the dining room spacious, with plenty of elbow room between settings.


Chez Vous offers the kind of menu where you immediately feel disloyal to favourite dishes, as you realise you can only pick one. From starters to main courses, if wed been left to our own devices we could have stillbeen sitting there tomorrow deciding.


As it was, Sylviane opted for the large guinea fowl & cured ham terrine, which was as fresh as the weather outside wasnt, accompanied by a delicious tomato and basil salsa. Weve had a few terrines in recent months and, I suppose unsurprisingly given the man in the kitchen, this was certainly the best.


My king scallops were perfectly supported with a delectable and decorative pea puree and a crisp piece of pancetta. A simple dish, dressed to perfection, and with a price tag of just over 10 it still surpassed expectations.


To quench any thirst and prepare us forour honeymoon in France later this summer, we opted for a bottle of Beaujolais, which the waiter ensured kept flowing throughout.


The main courses arrived, leg of rabbit for Sylviane and fillet of beef for me. They were again generous in proportions and presented with a flourish: my steak frites were transformed by an artistic touch into something far more magical. After tucking in to my beef, I tried the equally appealing rabbit, and again found mouth-watering meat, well sauced.

New French friend
Our standard sweet/savoury dessert decision followed, with me opting for a brownie only bettered by the banana rum ice cream that came with it and Sylviane choosing the cheese platter Guinness Cheddar proving a highlight.


Chef Laurent left his haven to speak to customers between courses and, as it turned out, as well as living nearby in Redhill, is from a similar area in France to my fiance. Five minutes of laughter-filled French conversation later (and me completely lost), our bubbly host was wishing us well on our tour of his homeland. Given the quality of our meal, though, we may well be returning to Warlingham for a bit more practise first.



3 other great French restaurants


La Barbe
71 Bell Street, Reigate RH2 7AN Tel: 01737 241966
With its traditional Gallic atmosphere, La Barbe serves up a fine selection of classic French cuisine.


The French Table
85 Maple Road, Surbiton KT6 4AW Tel: 0208 399 2365
A culinary dream founded and run by a French chef who trained in Paris, they also have their own bakery next door for
lighter options.


Brasserie Vacherin
12 High Street, Sutton SM1 1HN Tel: 0208 722 0180
The celebrated chef Malcolm John has built areputation off the Gallic finesse of his dishes and the results at Brasserie Vacherin have drawn continued praise.

More from Surrey Life

Yesterday, 16:06

Education expert Dr Ryan Hinchey, Coordinator of College Counselling at ACS International School, with campuses in Cobham, Egham and Hillingdon, answers your questions

Read more
Yesterday, 11:34

Surrounded by reservoirs and located on the banks of the famous river from which it takes its name, Staines-upon-Thames (as it is now called) is a town working to reshape its future and celebrate its picturesque riverside setting

Read more
Mon, 16:30

She may have recently moved to the seaside, but Surrey still holds a uniquely “precious” place in the heart of legendary children’s author Dame Jacqueline Wilson – not to mention the crucial role the county played in bringing everyone’s favourite and newly-returning feisty foster-kid to life

Read more
Mon, 11:59

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (23, 24 and 25 November): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Thursday, November 15, 2018

Surrey is full of secret hideaways and hidden gems. Slades Farm on the Wintershall Estate is definitely one of them

Read more
Wednesday, November 14, 2018

The new hotel is set to open in spring 2019 and will be located in the heart of the vineyard, offering sweeping views over the North Downs Way.

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

From Santa’s Grottos, to Victorian Christmas markets and late-night shopping, we’ve covered what’s on in Surrey this season

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Having bloomed in Brighton’s restaurant scene over the past decade, The Chilli Pickle opened its second site in Guildford this summer

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Historic Royal Palaces and IMG have announced that Kylie Minogue is the first headliner confirmed for Hampton Court Palace Festival 2019. These will be her only London shows of summer 2019. Here’s how you can get tickets

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Enjoy this linear rail to ramble section of the Thames Down Link route taking the short train-ride from Box Hill & Westhumble to Ashtead before walking back

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

It’s that time of year when our beautiful countryside is alight with the colours of autumn. Here, we pick out some of her favourite spots to enjoy the seasonal splendour – as well as some perfect places for a post-walk refresher

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Found on the stretch of the River Thames between Weybridge and East Molesey, Sunbury-on-Thames is blessed with a village feel where it meets the water. From antique hunts to the joys of river life, here are a few of our favourite reasons to visit

Read more
Monday, November 5, 2018

Verity & Violet are Loui and Jess – a singing duo from Surrey who specialise in blending vintage classics with modern favourites. The two have achieved success in the capital, but are now hoping to attract an audience closer to home

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search