CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today CLICK HERE

Cambio at the Castle, Guildford, Surrey GU1 3SY – restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 19:57 23 November 2011 | UPDATED: 20:20 20 February 2013

Cambio at the Castle, Guildford, Surrey GU1 3SY – restaurant review

Cambio at the Castle, Guildford, Surrey GU1 3SY – restaurant review

In the shadow of Guildford Castle, you'll find an Italian restaurant that takes its food seriously – so much so, they even have a deli. Matthew Williams ventures off the town's cobbled High Street to discover the charms of Cambio at the Castle

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine November 2011


Reviewed: Cambio at the Castle, 2-4 South Hill, Guildford, Surrey GU1 3SY: 01483 577702


In the shadow of Guildford Castle, youll find an Italian restaurant that takes its food seriously so much so, they even have their own deli.Matthew Williams ventures off the towns cobbled High Street to discover the charms of Cambio at the Castle


Share your favourite Surrey restaurants


SUBSCRIBE to Surrey Life magazine
BUY SL online

Verdict:


Food and drink 9
Service 7
Venue 7


What we ate


Olives in chilli, garlic & thyme, 2.50


Antipasti
Scottish queen scallops with razor clams and sea fennel linguine, 9.50
Beef carpaccio with Parmigiano Regiano, rucola cress and smoked sea salt, 9


Secondi
Tornedos Rossini with foie gras, creamed potatoes, Marsala sauce and seasonal vegetables, 21.50 x2


Dolci e formaggi
Clotted cream and strawberry pannacotta, 6.95
Italian cheeses with Muscat noir grapes and crackers, 8.95


Drinks
Prosecco, 5.50 a glass
One bottle Col Di Sasso, 24


REVIEW:One of the joys of restaurant reviewing is discovering just how many ways people can find to do the same thing in their own unique style.


So, an Italian restaurant is most definitely not just an Italian restaurant whether its the holiday reminder that is Carlos Trattoria on Newlands Corner or the eccentric chefs kitchen atmosphere of Al Boccon DiVino in Richmond; the endless wine list that is La Luna in Godalming or the location of my latest foray, Cambio at the Castle in Guildford, which is even accompanied by its own deli.


Set in the shadow of Guildford Castle, and very picturesque with it, this particular Italian restaurant is located in a quaint, inviting looking, 19th century building. One step over the threshold, however, and you find a restaurant that is pushing the contemporary styling you might expect of a Prezzo-type chain not necessarily a bad thing, but I had been hoping the interior would be closer to its more homely external facade.


Still, the welcome was friendly and we were swept to our table in the corner by a smiling Italian waiter on what was a very quiet Tuesday night to be fair, Guildford as a whole resembled a ghost town on this particular visit.


Olives and prosecco (plus a decanted bottle of red wine left to breathe something I realise doesnt happen as often as it probably should) were delivered as we relaxed into our surroundings; dominated by a nearby mirror that prevents the low-ceilinged open space becoming too gloomy.


Starters came, with the beef carpaccio simple and brought to life by the smoked sea salt, while my fiances scallops were perfectly cooked if a little overloaded on the linguine front (the dish could have almost made a main course in its own right, but then what right have we to complain about overly large portions!).


Tornedos tussle
Normally, Sylviane and I attempt to choose different dishes when reviewing a restaurant, but the threat of all out war over a shared Tornedos Rossini meant that we both opted for it.


It proved to be a stunning dish, with the fillet mignon at the centre outstanding in fact, the only beef Ive had close was at The Wentworth Grill in Virginia Water and London House in Old Woking. Absolutely divine. The Marsala sauce, foie gras and seasonal vegetables all complemented rather than overpowered in what proved to be a highlight of the evening. Coupled with the decanted bottle of Col di Sasso, it really was a delight.


Dessert proved our divider, with me following my sweet tooth with a pannacotta and Sylviane opting for the cheese platter, much to the amusement of our waiter I pointed to the red wine and beef Id just consumed in the vain hope of retaining any red-blooded masculine credibility.


Intriguingly, Cambio at the Castle also offers a Chefs Table option, which sounds perfect for a more intimate evening exclusive service for up to six diners, menus designed to taste etc.


As for the deli, it was completely renovated and re-opened in June, and is crammed with authentic Italian produce from olives to oils and balsamic vinegars to biscotti.


An interesting mix then, and another Italian that definitely has its own particular identity with food as good as we experienced, well certainly be back to get to know it better.



3 other Italian restaurants in Surrey


Al Boccon DiVino
14 Red Lion Street, Richmond upon Thames, Surrey TW9 1RW: 0208 940 9060
Perhaps the most unusual place we have yet reviewed, Al Boccon DiVino is a literally menu-less restaurant in Richmond.


Carlos Trattoria
Shere Road, Newlands Corner, Guildford, Surrey GU4 8SE: 01483 224180
Perched by the stunning Surrey beauty spot of Newlands Corner, near Guildford, Carlos Trattoria is one of those restaurants that youve probably seen more times than youve been. Now in its 25th anniversary year.


La Luna
10-14 Wharf Street, Godalming, Surrey GU7 1NN: 01483 414155
A staple in national eating out guides, La Luna, which was opened by a group of Italian friends in Godalming in 2001, is celebrating its tenth anniversary. The restaurant hosts a hand-picked selection of some 150 Italian wines.

More from Surrey Life

Thu, 10:52

Surrey is full of secret hideaways and hidden gems. Slades Farm on the Wintershall Estate is definitely one of them

Read more
Wed, 16:05

The new hotel is set to open in spring 2019 and will be located in the heart of the vineyard, offering sweeping views over the North Downs Way.

Read more
Tue, 10:53

From Santa’s Grottos, to Victorian Christmas markets and late-night shopping, we’ve covered what’s on in Surrey this season

Read more
Tue, 10:47

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Tue, 10:41

Having bloomed in Brighton’s restaurant scene over the past decade, The Chilli Pickle opened its second site in Guildford this summer

Read more
Mon, 14:32

Historic Royal Palaces and IMG have announced that Kylie Minogue is the first headliner confirmed for Hampton Court Palace Festival 2019. These will be her only London shows of summer 2019. Here’s how you can get tickets

Read more
Mon, 12:56

Enjoy this linear rail to ramble section of the Thames Down Link route taking the short train-ride from Box Hill & Westhumble to Ashtead before walking back

Read more
Mon, 12:13

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (16, 17 and 18 November): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

It’s that time of year when our beautiful countryside is alight with the colours of autumn. Here, we pick out some of her favourite spots to enjoy the seasonal splendour – as well as some perfect places for a post-walk refresher

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Found on the stretch of the River Thames between Weybridge and East Molesey, Sunbury-on-Thames is blessed with a village feel where it meets the water. From antique hunts to the joys of river life, here are a few of our favourite reasons to visit

Read more
Monday, November 5, 2018

Verity & Violet are Loui and Jess – a singing duo from Surrey who specialise in blending vintage classics with modern favourites. The two have achieved success in the capital, but are now hoping to attract an audience closer to home

Read more
Friday, November 2, 2018

With the Christmas celebrations seemingly starting earlier every year, it all feels a little too ‘soon’ sometimes, but what if you want to look your best for Christmas & New year celebrations and are considering having cosmetic non-surgical procedures? The Bella Vou Pantiles Clinic offers surgical and non-surgical cosmetic procedures and treatments from a purpose-built private clinic in the heart of Royal Tunbridge Wells

Read more
Thursday, November 1, 2018

Living in England’s most densely wooded county, it’s always a pleasure to witness Surrey donning its autumn finery. Here’s some of the best places to do just that - plus a few pub pit stops to enjoy on route!

Read more
Wednesday, October 31, 2018

We are regularly reminded of the high cost of housing with statistics revealing that only one in three millennials will be able to afford their own home during their lifetime and that most will remain in the category known as Generation Rent

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search