CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today CLICK HERE

Britten’s, Guildford, Surrey GU1 3RT - restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 19:48 30 October 2014 | UPDATED: 10:02 02 June 2015

Britten's, Guildford

Britten's, Guildford

Archant

With his television debut on MasterChef said to have been a turning point, chef Daniel Britten has realised a dream by opening his own restaurant in our county town. Matthew Williams pays a visit to Britten’s, in Sydenham Road, to see whether it makes the grade...

Britten's, GuildfordBritten's, Guildford

Reviewed: Britten’s restaurant

1C Sydenham Road, Guildford, GU1 3RT.

Tel: 01483 302888

 

***

 

Verdict:

Food: 8

Venue: 8

Service: 8

 

 

What we ate:

Starters

Cornish scallops with textures of celeriac, £11
Roast breast of quail, carrot, cumin, hazelnut brittle and pickled grapes, £8

Main courses

Plantation pork loin and pork belly, toffee apple, brawn, pomme purée, jus, £18
Guineafowl breast, braised leg, baby onions and smoked bacon, £17

Sweet Shop

Maragda chocolate fondant and malted white chocolate Taywell’s ice cream, £6
Sticky toffee pudding, £7

Drinks

2011 Corbieres, Chateau du Dufort, Languedoc, France, £6.85, large glass

Elderflower cordial, £1.30

 

***

 

REVIEW: Any restaurant I lined up for this month’s review was never going to be facing an easy task. Due to the ever-inconvenient world of magazine deadlines, the only time we could arrange for our latest review meal was slap bang in the middle of judging the three establishments still in the running for restaurant of the year in the Surrey Life Food & Drink Awards 2014. It also happened to be my 30th birthday. 
No pressure then…

So it was that my wife Sylviane and I found ourselves strolling around Guildford for the day and, unusually for us, with a very definite plan for the evening ahead – rather than our usual random forays. 



Simple but stylish


Found away from the High Street, just up the road from Guildford Castle and in the shadow of The Thai Terrace and the car park that restaurant resides upon, you find Britten’s. Formerly Bar Centro, it’s a simple but stylish enterprise with the focus very much on the food.

Opened in November 2013 by former MasterChef contestant and Tante Marie- trained chef Daniel Britten, it’s a place that we had been meaning to visit for some time.

Certainly, if the recommendations we’d received from readers were anything to go by, this was a restaurant that should have some chance of holding its head up high against the awards competition.

Those recommendations seemed to be backed by the large corporate function that was taking place in the upstairs section of the restaurant. Sometimes a worry, but the staff remained relaxed and the downstairs half of the place retained an intimate feel.

Seated by the stairs, next to the wine cellar, we felt immediately at home, and duly perused the drinks menu. The wine list is diverse, with options by the glass or bottle – and there’s plenty of bubbly too for those on the hunt for celebratory flavours as well as some interesting beer options. A large glass of 2011 Corbieres, Chateau du Dufort and an elderflower cordial ordered, and water and bread on the table, we relaxed into the evening ahead.

Britten’s keeps its menu short, British and fresh, but there’s still plenty of variety. While I went for the roast breast of quail for a starter, Sylviane opted unusually for the scallops. Each dish was beautifully constructed, and both offered interesting textures with well-cooked meat and fish juxtaposing against something a little crisp. Plenty to keep the interest.

It was difficult to pick between our main courses. My plantation pork loin and pork belly with toffee apple, brawn, pomme purée and jus was fantastic. Sweet meat and flavours given bite by crackling. Sylviane’s guineafowl had real depth and a kick of smoked bacon. Both of them were delicately balanced dishes with well-chosen flavours.


The Sweet Shop

On to the excellently named Sweet Shop then, where Sylviane flew straight to the Maragda chocolate fondant and I chose an old favourite of sticky toffee pudding. Both were again beautifully presented and faultless.

All in all, Britten’s is already a real treat. Guildford is one of those places that, depending on who you talk to, already has loads of great restaurants or is somewhat a little lacking in top-quality independents when everything else on offer is taken into account. This is one restaurant that already shows much promise and the hope has to be that it can make itself firmly part of the great tapestry that is Guildford.

It certainly doesn’t seem too much of a stretch to imagine it won’t be long before Britten’s is throwing its hat in with the big boys at the Surrey Life Food & Drink Awards.

 

***

 

Surrey Life Food & Drink Awards 2014 finalists Restaurant of the Year

 

The Clink

HMP High Down, High Down Lane, Sutton SM2 5PJ 
Web: theclinkrestaurant.com

When it first opened five years ago, there were many who remained sceptical. A restaurant in a prison? The success of The Clink Restaurant at HMP High Down in Sutton has been such, however, that the prisoner training scheme has now been expanded to other sites too.

 

Kinghams

Gomshall Lane, Shere GU5 9HE

Tel: 01483 202168

There’s a reason why this beautiful little restaurant, which celebrated its 20th birthday in 2013, has been talked about so warmly by so many for the last two decades. The winner of the Surrey Life Restaurant of the Year award for 2013, they are back in the final shortlist for the 2014 awards too.

 

Stovell’s

125 Windsor Road, Chobham GU24 8QS Tel: 01276 858000

Named Surrey Life Chefs of the Year for 2013, Fernando and Kristy Stovells’ enthusiasm for their craft is truly infectious, the premises are stunning and the food is as good as it gets below Michelin star standard. But will they walk off with the trophy for Restaurant of the Year 2014?

More from Surrey Life

Yesterday, 16:06

Education expert Dr Ryan Hinchey, Coordinator of College Counselling at ACS International School, with campuses in Cobham, Egham and Hillingdon, answers your questions

Read more
Yesterday, 11:34

Surrounded by reservoirs and located on the banks of the famous river from which it takes its name, Staines-upon-Thames (as it is now called) is a town working to reshape its future and celebrate its picturesque riverside setting

Read more
Mon, 16:30

She may have recently moved to the seaside, but Surrey still holds a uniquely “precious” place in the heart of legendary children’s author Dame Jacqueline Wilson – not to mention the crucial role the county played in bringing everyone’s favourite and newly-returning feisty foster-kid to life

Read more
Mon, 11:59

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (23, 24 and 25 November): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Thursday, November 15, 2018

Surrey is full of secret hideaways and hidden gems. Slades Farm on the Wintershall Estate is definitely one of them

Read more
Wednesday, November 14, 2018

The new hotel is set to open in spring 2019 and will be located in the heart of the vineyard, offering sweeping views over the North Downs Way.

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

From Santa’s Grottos, to Victorian Christmas markets and late-night shopping, we’ve covered what’s on in Surrey this season

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Having bloomed in Brighton’s restaurant scene over the past decade, The Chilli Pickle opened its second site in Guildford this summer

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Historic Royal Palaces and IMG have announced that Kylie Minogue is the first headliner confirmed for Hampton Court Palace Festival 2019. These will be her only London shows of summer 2019. Here’s how you can get tickets

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Enjoy this linear rail to ramble section of the Thames Down Link route taking the short train-ride from Box Hill & Westhumble to Ashtead before walking back

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

It’s that time of year when our beautiful countryside is alight with the colours of autumn. Here, we pick out some of her favourite spots to enjoy the seasonal splendour – as well as some perfect places for a post-walk refresher

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Found on the stretch of the River Thames between Weybridge and East Molesey, Sunbury-on-Thames is blessed with a village feel where it meets the water. From antique hunts to the joys of river life, here are a few of our favourite reasons to visit

Read more
Monday, November 5, 2018

Verity & Violet are Loui and Jess – a singing duo from Surrey who specialise in blending vintage classics with modern favourites. The two have achieved success in the capital, but are now hoping to attract an audience closer to home

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search