CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today CLICK HERE

Brasserie Vacherin, Sutton, Surrey SM1 1HN - restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 11:16 26 January 2011 | UPDATED: 16:02 16 September 2014

Brasserie Vacherin, Sutton, Surrey SM1 1HN - restaurant review

Brasserie Vacherin, Sutton, Surrey SM1 1HN - restaurant review

The celebrated chef Malcolm John has built a reputation off the Gallic finesse of his dishes – and the results at Brasserie Vacherin in Sutton have drawn praise throughout the restaurant’s first year. Surrey Life’s MATTHEW WILLIAMS paid a visit, with even more reason than normal to hope for the best...

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine January 2011

Restaurant reviewed: Brasserie Vacherin, 12 High Street, Sutton SM1 1HN Tel: 0208 722 0180

***

Verdict

Food and drink 8
Service 10
Venue 8

What we ate

Starters
Onion soup with gratinée  £5.50
Chicken liver parfait & toasted brioche  £5.50  

Main Courses
Whole baked crab, garlic butter & frites  £15.95
Roast red-leg partridge, gratin dauphinoise & red cabbage  £17.95 

Desserts
Tarte fine aux pommes & caramel ice cream  £6.50
French farmhouse cheese  £6.95 

Drinks
A bottle of 2009 Côtes de Provence, T & C Carteron Provence, France £28

***

REVIEW: Despite receiving plaudits in its first year, Brasserie Vacherin had an awful lot to live up to in order to meet this particular day’s expectations. Not only had the royal wedding just been announced but I had also taken the plunge and proposed to my girlfriend, Sylviane – fortunately, she accepted.

Some might suggest that Sutton isn’t perhaps the most romantic destination in the world, and they might be right, but step off the High Street and into the latest addition to the armoury of chef Malcolm John and you are removed to the artisan streets of Paris – it’s easy to forget that the restaurant is just a stone’s throw from the standard chain fare rather than, say, Notre Dame.

Unaware of the development in our lives, we were met by a gloriously enthusiastic waitress who immediately made us comfortable, taking our jackets and intuitively shuffling us off to an intimate corner of the brasserie.

Settling down among the dark floors, heavy tables and well-lit spaces, a bottle of Cotes de Provence rosé was ordered from a comprehensive wine list and served up in an ice bucket. After wide-eyed glances, and much umming and ahhing, my French fiancée finally cut through the homely menu and orders were made – we’ll have to go back to try everything that tempted.

Escaping the bitter cold outside, I opted for the staple onion soup, which was served up steaming and delicious in a traditional bowl, while my better half opted for the chicken liver parfait.

For a Tuesday evening, a steady flow of patrons came and went, with an elderly couple being offered their usual table. Most comments about the restaurant seem to revolve around the lines, ‘at last, a restaurant of note in the area’, and it has certainly gone down well with locals. Just 100 yards from the station, it’s easy enough to get to for those coming from further afield as well.

Let battle commence!
Having never tried partridge before and slightly wary of the ‘may contain shot warning’ on the menu, I opted for the game anyway. Served on a bed of red cabbage, with not quite enough gratin dauphinoise for the price, the dish was simple but fully flavoured. I could have eaten two, especially as Sylviane opted for perhaps the least practical thing on the menu: whole baked crab. A colossus that resulted in a Clash of the Titans-esque battle that kept me entertained long after I’d finished my dish – she seemed to enjoy herself, anyway. There’s certainly nothing like watching your new fiancée tackle a giant crab with a claw cracker to make you realise the significance of the commitment you’ve made!

Some time later, Sylviane was finally able to make her way on to the French farmhouse cheese she had longed for since we first set eyes on the menu, which while fantastic probably suffered from a slight lack of bread/crackers. I satisfied my sweet tooth with an incredible apple tart accompanied by caramel ice cream. Pur delice.

High hopes can often be sent crashing but, especially considering the occasion, we couldn’t really have wished for any more. A tad pricey perhaps, but from my first visit I’d suggest that Brasserie Vacherin is certainly well worth a trip to Sutton if you’re searching for new Gallic flavours.

***

3 other great French restaurants in Surrey

La Barbe 
71 Bell Street, Reigate RH2 7AN: 01737 241966
With its traditional Gallic atmosphere, La Barbe serves up a fine selection of classic French cuisine. 

Chez Lindsay
11 Hill Rise, Richmond TW10 6UQ: 0208 948 7473
Forget dinner on the Seine and instead feast near the Thames in this delightfully welcoming French restaurant. 

The French Table
85 Maple Road, Surbiton KT6 4AW: 0208 399 2365
A culinary dream founded and run by a French chef who trained in Paris, they are also opening their own bakery this month.

More from Surrey Life

10:51

Wrap up in your favourite coat and scarf, grab your sparklers and a warming drink, and enjoy one of these fantastic firework displays taking place in Surrey for bonfire night

Read more

Home to outstanding architecture, ambitious community projects and arts ventures that are putting these villages firmly on the map, East and West Horsley are among our county’s most desirable addresses

Read more
10:43

Chertsey’s best-kept secret, the Great Cockcrow Railway, steamed into a half-century this year

Read more

A taste of Korea has swept into the beautiful market town of Godalming as Bada sets out its stall with a tapas-style fusion of seafood, traditional dishes and spice

Read more
Yesterday, 16:06

With friendship as the central theme in Adele Parks’ new book, Zoe Richards met up with the bestselling author and her publisher, Kate Mills, to find out how these two Surrey dwellers have discovered a successful working relationship, and become firm friends too

Read more
Yesterday, 11:37

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend: art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Yesterday, 00:00

As the twilight falls, the magic begins… There’s something for everyone at Christmas at Kew – and we’re giving you the chance to win one of five family tickets for two adults and two children to the Preview Night of Christmas at Kew on Wednesday 21 November 2018

Read more
Friday, October 12, 2018

We round up 10 of the most beautiful photos of Surrey shared on Instagram this week…

Read more
Tuesday, October 9, 2018

Good table manners have long been a source of national pride but in this modern age of social media are our longstanding traditions being left behind? Rebecca Younger visits the stately Beaverbrook estate for a lesson in British etiquette

Read more
Tuesday, October 9, 2018

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Tuesday, October 9, 2018

The spookiest time of the year is fast approaching! We pick some of the best events to celebrate Halloween in Surrey

Read more
Tuesday, October 9, 2018

From well kept secrets, to chilled out locations, Redhill is a good spot for a bite to eat. We round up some of the best restaurants…

Read more
Monday, October 8, 2018

From October 11 to 14, the great and the good of professional golf will tee up at Walton Health Golf Club for the 2018 British Masters. We shine a spotlight on the club as it ends an extraordinary year

Read more
Tuesday, October 2, 2018

Lily James’ cinematic education has been overseen by a host of Hollywood’s most recognisable names; now, as she nears her 30th birthday, the Esher-born actress is looking to step out of her co-stars’ limelight and enjoy her leading role at the forefront of future British generations in Tinseltown

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search