CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today CLICK HERE

BBQ Whisky Beer at The White Hart, Witley GU8 5PH - restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 21:28 26 February 2015 | UPDATED: 15:22 24 March 2015

Many will have passed The White Hart without realising the magic inside

Many will have passed The White Hart without realising the magic inside

Archant

Award-winning ribs by a London institution that’s escaped to the country? Matthew Williams couldn’t resist a visit to The White Hart in Witley following 
a reader’s recommendation – and was pleased with what he found

It's no real suprise the rib's an award-winner - the chargrilled outer hides melt in the mouth goodness (Photo: Matthew Williams)It's no real suprise the rib's an award-winner - the chargrilled outer hides melt in the mouth goodness (Photo: Matthew Williams)

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine February 2015

***

Restaurant reviewed: BBQ Whisky Beer at The White Hart, Petworth Road, Witley, near Godalming GU8 5PH. Tel: 01428 683695

***

The low-down

 

Verdict:

Food: 9

Venue: 8

Service: 8

What we ate:

Starters

Beef Rillette, cranberry and toast, £7

Hot smoked trout, fried avocado and wasabi cream, £7

Main courses

Jacobs Ladder beef rib (large), £15

Sausages, £10

Triple-cooked chips, £3.50

Macaroni cheese with Parmesan and herb crumb, £4

Dessert

Old-fashioned cheesecake, £6

Drinks

Le Sanglier De La Montagne Reserve Chardonnay, £5

Twickenham Fine Ales’ Winter Cheer, £3.90

Hot Dark and Stormy (half pint), £2.50

 

***

REVIEW: It all started a few months ago when a reader got in touch to tell me they’d discovered a hidden gem in Witley.

“You must be talking about the ballroom under the lake, right?” I replied.

“Sorry, no, what’s that? A subterranean dancehall? Pretty sure this place is above ground – at least from what I remember; although they do serve an awful lot of whisky...” he added hesitantly.

Certainly, in the past, the most exciting thing I knew about the village of Witley, near Godalming, was that once upon a time a local eccentric had created a majestic country estate at Witley Park that included a glass ceilinged ballroom under its lake (read our piece HERE).

Now, while the reader’s suggestion may not have been quite as grand, to me it sounded equally intriguing: a new concept at The White Hart pub involving a modern twist on the traditional barbecue. And whisky; lots of it.

A few months went by with this exciting ‘new’ venture top of my must-visit list, but as keen-eyed readers may have spotted, my pen failed to touch these restaurant review pages for a while. It wasn’t for lack of interest; life, as they say, had chosen another path for me – and our review team of my wife Sylviane and I had expanded to three, with the addition of our beautiful daughter, Iona.

With fatherhood new to me, the thought of heading to any pub or restaurant seemed rather daunting. But, with no idea of the etiquette of family dining, we decided it was time to finally step back into the water.

Plus, as this latest venture at The White Hart came about from a husband-and-wife team leaving the crazy nights of London for the more sedate pace of the Surrey countryside with their two children, it seemed a fitting place to test our daughter’s patience – would we even make it to the starters though, I wondered?

Sam Daffin and his wife Fiona made their name at The Wargrave Arms near Edgware Road. Serving modern barbecue, with influences from Korean gogigui, American pits, Spanish plancha, Argentine asado and the good old-fashioned British grill, they went on to take the trophy for Great British Rib Champion at Ribstock 2013. But, back in leafy Surrey, how would this translate to a sprawling 16th century country pub? We were about to find out...

Heating up


Arriving at The White Hart, we were led out of the early 2015 cold to a window-side table with plenty of room for Iona and her pushchair. Among the cosy nooks, crannies and wood beams, whisky bottles decorated the shelves and records lined the walls, while blues and jazz floated out of the speakers.

With a small glass of wine, a hot dark and stormy (basically rum and ginger beer warmed to a mulled wine effect) and jug of water ordered (those 50 or so bottles of whisky would have to wait for another day!), I glanced around noting the mixed crowd of families with children and happy couples snuggled in quiet corners.

The menu at The White Hart is short and intense. You won’t find any ham and egg or fish and chips here; instead, it’s mainly slow-cooked barbecue meats (although there are also vegetarian dishes on offer) accompanied by wasabi creams, kimchee (a Korean side dish) and pickled salads.

For the starter, I opted for the hot smoked trout, which came with crunch from fried avocado and bite from wasabi cream. Presented with finesse, everything on the plate packed a perfect punch. Sylviane’s beef rillette arrived with cranberry sauce and toast. Her uncertainty over the cranberry was quickly won over by her first taste of the dish. Iona watched on enviously.

On to the main courses and I couldn’t resist the Jacob’s Ladder beef rib (which comes in three sizes). To accompany it, I ordered a pint of Twickenham Fine Ales’ Winter Cheer – not that the melt-off-the bone meat needed any help. Massaged with flavour, smoked on-site and cooked low and slow, this award-winning dish was a personal foodie heaven. With a pickled salad to freshen the palate and sides of triple-cooked chips and silky mac’n’cheese that made me finally realise why people like the stuff, this was knock-out fare.

Sylviane went for the sausages. Sounds simple, but these “angel hot guts” are a Texan-style sausage made with beef, pepper, paprika and beer. Handmade and again smoked on-site, they are finished over the charcoal grill and utterly delicious.

Already won over, we ummed and ahhed over dessert, but couldn’t resist the cheesecake. Served deconstructed in a jar, this variant took on the flavours almost of a cocktail: all vanilla cheesecake cream with bourbon caramel, cherries and orange bitters syrup. Sylviane, not normally a cheesecake fan, stole the jar.

Meeting Sam and Fiona, we were won over by their enthusiasm and passion. Transforming an English country pub in Surrey into a whisky and rib house was never going to be the easiest task, but I for one am pleased to see another unique venue sprinkling its own particular magic on the local foodie scene. The place was also bustling, so word is obviously out.

And Iona’s thoughts? She can’t wait to head back to try some of the good stuff – and take advantage of the conveniently placed high chairs on offer!

It may not be a ballroom under a lake, but The White Hart has all the ingredients to get Surrey society talking.

***

3 other restaurants doing the unusual

The Pendleton

St John’s, Redhill RH1 6QF

Tel: 01737 760212

With a refined restaurant menu always on offer, it still doesn’t take much to persuade chef Jon Coomb out of the kitchen to cook a giant paella outdoors or into their taco van for some Mexican flavours.

 

The Black Swan

Ockham KT11 1NG

Tel: 01932 862364

Visit The Black Swan at the right time and you’re sure to find some really interesting game on the menu. Well worth a visit at any time, be sure to ask for something a little different.

 

The Percy Arms

Chilworth GU4 8NP

Tel: 01483 561765

Serving modern British cuisine with a South African twist, among the intriguing options is the bobotie (ground beef steak seasoned with spices, baked with an egg topping and served with rice).

More from Surrey Life

Thursday, November 15, 2018

Surrey is full of secret hideaways and hidden gems. Slades Farm on the Wintershall Estate is definitely one of them

Read more
Wednesday, November 14, 2018

The new hotel is set to open in spring 2019 and will be located in the heart of the vineyard, offering sweeping views over the North Downs Way.

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

From Santa’s Grottos, to Victorian Christmas markets and late-night shopping, we’ve covered what’s on in Surrey this season

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Having bloomed in Brighton’s restaurant scene over the past decade, The Chilli Pickle opened its second site in Guildford this summer

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Historic Royal Palaces and IMG have announced that Kylie Minogue is the first headliner confirmed for Hampton Court Palace Festival 2019. These will be her only London shows of summer 2019. Here’s how you can get tickets

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Enjoy this linear rail to ramble section of the Thames Down Link route taking the short train-ride from Box Hill & Westhumble to Ashtead before walking back

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (16, 17 and 18 November): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

It’s that time of year when our beautiful countryside is alight with the colours of autumn. Here, we pick out some of her favourite spots to enjoy the seasonal splendour – as well as some perfect places for a post-walk refresher

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Found on the stretch of the River Thames between Weybridge and East Molesey, Sunbury-on-Thames is blessed with a village feel where it meets the water. From antique hunts to the joys of river life, here are a few of our favourite reasons to visit

Read more
Monday, November 5, 2018

Verity & Violet are Loui and Jess – a singing duo from Surrey who specialise in blending vintage classics with modern favourites. The two have achieved success in the capital, but are now hoping to attract an audience closer to home

Read more
Friday, November 2, 2018

With the Christmas celebrations seemingly starting earlier every year, it all feels a little too ‘soon’ sometimes, but what if you want to look your best for Christmas & New year celebrations and are considering having cosmetic non-surgical procedures? The Bella Vou Pantiles Clinic offers surgical and non-surgical cosmetic procedures and treatments from a purpose-built private clinic in the heart of Royal Tunbridge Wells

Read more
Thursday, November 1, 2018

Living in England’s most densely wooded county, it’s always a pleasure to witness Surrey donning its autumn finery. Here’s some of the best places to do just that - plus a few pub pit stops to enjoy on route!

Read more
Wednesday, October 31, 2018

We are regularly reminded of the high cost of housing with statistics revealing that only one in three millennials will be able to afford their own home during their lifetime and that most will remain in the category known as Generation Rent

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search