CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today CLICK HERE

Al Boccon Di'Vino, Richmond, Surrey TW9 1RW - restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 21:05 06 April 2011 | UPDATED: 10:20 01 May 2014

Al Boccon Di'Vino, Richmond, Surrey TW9 1RW - restaurant review

Al Boccon Di'Vino, Richmond, Surrey TW9 1RW - restaurant review

Perhaps the most unusual place we have yet reviewed, Matthew Williams paid a visit to Al Boccon Di'Vino, a literally menu-less restaurant in Richmond

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine March 2011

Restaurant reviewed: Al Boccon Di’Vino, 14 Red Lion Street, Richmond upon Thames, Surrey TW9 1RW: 0208 940 9060

***

Verdict:

Food and drink 10
Service 10
Venue 10

What we ate:

Set ‘menu’ at £38 a head

Drinks
A bottle of Pillastro Selezione d’Oro 2007: £20

***

REVIEW: I should have known to expect the unexpected when, having spent the day at Shepperton Studios, I mentioned my evening’s restaurant review venture to my tour guide (someone who is used to bumping into the likes of Sir Ridley Scott, Martin Scorsese and Johnny Depp on a daily basis, after all). ‘It’s great,’ he laughed. ‘Bit different though!’ And so it proved.

Certainly one of the most unusual restaurants I’ve been to, and definitely the most fun, Richmond’s Al Boccon Di’Vino has rewritten the rule book when it comes to dining out.

It was a miserable Thursday evening when we stepped off the washed out streets of Richmond (within walking distance of the train station), away from the neon glare of the neighbouring Odeon cinema and into, seemingly, another world.

Barely had we sat down among our intimate surroundings (it feels like you’ve walked into an eccentric Italian’s front room), than the smiling waitress asked for our wine choice –  red or white? No list, just a colour choice (‘the chef will recommend you something if you’d like’). Had we eaten here before? ‘You know there’s no menu, right? Oh, and would you like a glass of prosecco?’ (Two glasses had already been poured).

Open just over 18 months, Al Boccon Di’Vino (a divine mouthful in Veneto, apparently) has created such a buzz that neighbouring diners spoke of three-week waits for weekend bookings – for entertainment value alone, I’m not surprised.

When I had heard about the no menu policy, I have to admit, I’d originally assumed that meant a changing daily specials board, but it turned out to be more of a blind date.

With toasts raised, the first dishes found their way to the table – much like visiting a knowledgeable and cheffy grandparent, you’ll eat what you’re given and you’ll eat a lot of it, too – I would imagine that any dietary requirements would have to be highlighted in advance, as we didn’t have any choice in the matter on the day.

Chef’s instructions
Frittata, salade de la mer, polpette and chicken Milanese dishes were settled down amongst the glasses of wine (we were given a Pillastro Selezione d’Oro 2007) and plates of Italian crispbreads – chef Riccardo, apparently a food writer himself in his native Italy, offering advice as to eating orders – ‘this one is fine cold, but you must eat this now’. Slightly intimidating and very unorthodox, but having walked past chain upon chain upon chain on our way to Al Boccon, thoroughly refreshing.

An Italian whirlwind came and went: olives in mascarpone, minestrone soup, salad and salami... I have to confess that the mounting courses had me nervously adding up the potential cost in my head (reassuringly reasonable at £38 a head for the quality and quantity, as it turned out, but a potentially unsettling experience).

Three types of pasta were despatched – some neighbouring guests pleaded a ceasefire at this point, but the majority seemed to be thoroughly enthralled by the no-frills but fully flavoured cooking.

With a flourish, the pièce de résistance, a still sizzling lamb, was promenaded among the diners (a packed house) before being carved up and served – it was stunningly tender.

Sweet teeth were satisfied with a panna cotta before an extremely strong cheese was served – even my fromaggio loving fiancée was slightly taken aback by its power – and almost four hours after the experience began the bill was settled.

For the adventurous diner, Al Boccon Di’Vino is a not-to-be-missed experience. While perhaps not for everyone, once you adjust to the fact that you have no control over where your evening is heading, it even becomes relaxing and fun (although you may be left slightly punch drunk by the whole experience, wondering what on earth you’ve just been through!). More restaurants should be like this.

***

 

3 other unusual Surrey restaurants...

The Clink
High Down Lane, Sutton SM2 5PJ: 0207 147 6524 
Invitation-only fine dining at the groundbreaking High Down Prison in Sutton

The Tree House at Fanny’s Farm 
Markedge Lane, Merstham RH1 3AW: 01737 554444
Take high tea in this quirky addition to the wonderfully ramshackle Fanny’s Farm. 

Thai Terrace
Castle Car Park, Sydenham Road, Guildford GU1 3RT: 01483 503350
With spectacular views and fantastic food, this is one of Guildford’s most popular haunts – it’s also at the top of a car park.

 

More from Surrey Life

Yesterday, 16:06

Education expert Dr Ryan Hinchey, Coordinator of College Counselling at ACS International School, with campuses in Cobham, Egham and Hillingdon, answers your questions

Read more
Yesterday, 11:34

Surrounded by reservoirs and located on the banks of the famous river from which it takes its name, Staines-upon-Thames (as it is now called) is a town working to reshape its future and celebrate its picturesque riverside setting

Read more
Mon, 16:30

She may have recently moved to the seaside, but Surrey still holds a uniquely “precious” place in the heart of legendary children’s author Dame Jacqueline Wilson – not to mention the crucial role the county played in bringing everyone’s favourite and newly-returning feisty foster-kid to life

Read more
Mon, 11:59

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend (23, 24 and 25 November): art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Thursday, November 15, 2018

Surrey is full of secret hideaways and hidden gems. Slades Farm on the Wintershall Estate is definitely one of them

Read more
Wednesday, November 14, 2018

The new hotel is set to open in spring 2019 and will be located in the heart of the vineyard, offering sweeping views over the North Downs Way.

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

From Santa’s Grottos, to Victorian Christmas markets and late-night shopping, we’ve covered what’s on in Surrey this season

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Having bloomed in Brighton’s restaurant scene over the past decade, The Chilli Pickle opened its second site in Guildford this summer

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Historic Royal Palaces and IMG have announced that Kylie Minogue is the first headliner confirmed for Hampton Court Palace Festival 2019. These will be her only London shows of summer 2019. Here’s how you can get tickets

Read more
Monday, November 12, 2018

Enjoy this linear rail to ramble section of the Thames Down Link route taking the short train-ride from Box Hill & Westhumble to Ashtead before walking back

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

It’s that time of year when our beautiful countryside is alight with the colours of autumn. Here, we pick out some of her favourite spots to enjoy the seasonal splendour – as well as some perfect places for a post-walk refresher

Read more
Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Found on the stretch of the River Thames between Weybridge and East Molesey, Sunbury-on-Thames is blessed with a village feel where it meets the water. From antique hunts to the joys of river life, here are a few of our favourite reasons to visit

Read more
Monday, November 5, 2018

Verity & Violet are Loui and Jess – a singing duo from Surrey who specialise in blending vintage classics with modern favourites. The two have achieved success in the capital, but are now hoping to attract an audience closer to home

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search