CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today CLICK HERE

Restaurant review: Sorrel, Dorking

PUBLISHED: 15:32 19 December 2017 | UPDATED: 17:12 20 December 2017

The first pic of Steve Drake and his team hard at work in Sorrel's open conservatory-style kitchen. The highly anticipated Dorking restaurant opened to the public on Wednesday October 11.

The first pic of Steve Drake and his team hard at work in Sorrel's open conservatory-style kitchen. The highly anticipated Dorking restaurant opened to the public on Wednesday October 11.

Archant

To many, building a kitchen in a glass box might be considered one of the first signs of madness. When Surrey Life caught up with super chef Steve Drake in January, however, that was exactly what he was planning. He got his wish. Matthew Williams grabs a table at his new restaurant, Sorrel

In January, I stood with chef Steve Drake painting dreams on the walls of a 300-year-old building in Dorking for an exclusive SL interview. The place had an instant charm but was a complete shell and freezing.

Chief among the Michelin man’s dreams was moving the kitchen upstairs into a modernist glass cube that extends from the ancient beams, but he was so worried that planners wouldn’t share his enthusiasm that he didn’t want that plan published.

While the process took much longer than he’d hoped, due to the complexities of the listed building and his team’s meticulous attention to detail, Sorrel eventually came to life in October 2017 – and its open-plan, glass box kitchen is pride of place.

I’ll avoid going into Steve’s story in too much depth but suffice to say he has become known as Mr Surrey around the local fine dining scene thanks to his work at Drakes on the Pond and Drake’s over the years.

Holding a Michelin star for the best part of 14 years, you can only imagine how a full year without a restaurant felt – he must have driven his friends and family crazy, but at least it helped us to persuade him to judge chef of the year (an award he has won twice previously) at the Surrey Life Food & Drink Awards.

I met Steve at the soon-to-be Sorrel back in September, when the furniture was still packaged as delivered. You could see the eagerness, hunger and impatience in his eyes. He was in the finishing straight and couldn’t wait to get over the line to showcase his latest creations with head chef Richard Giles and the team, who’d been patiently waiting for the finishing touches to fall into place. Suffice to say that Surrey’s hopes and expectations were high, but then so were his…

The view of the pass from the entrance hallThe view of the pass from the entrance hall

Journey into imagination

Having seen Sorrel transform from an idea with no location into a building site and then through to the first ‘finished’ photos, I couldn’t wait to get in to explore the experience. As soon as you arrive, it’s clear they haven’t held anything back in their efforts to build mystique and magic. Romantic candlelight draws you in from the night, up the drive and towards an ethereal cube on the first floor of a building that is otherwise all chocolate-box pretty red brick and wooden frames. Entering the cube, you discover a modernist greenhouse. I’m told that the plants here are tended by Kingfisher Farm Shop in Abinger Hammer, which is just down the road from Steve’s home these days.

Another few steps and you’re suddenly into a cosy reception where you’re greeted not only by a warm welcome but your first glimpse of the open-plan kitchen and a striking fine art photo by Gina Soden, which is aptly entitled Control Room. Out of the cold and straight into the heart of things, then.

While there’s a private dining room and small bar downstairs, the soul of Sorrel is all on this one floor: to the left the modern kitchen in its glass box and to the right its complete juxtaposition of classy fine dining among old English wooden beams.

We settle down at a table with a view through the corridor to the ‘pass’ and enjoy a glass of Nyetimber. A neatly folded green envelope sits on the table and reveals the evening’s menu. The setting is intimate and cosy and, with the kitchen only a few short steps away, there’s an exciting immediacy.

This is further aided by the relaxed manner of the front of house team. It’s still very early days, but they seem to have taken to their surroundings with a knowledgeable flourish and a touch of humour when the moment allows. It suits the place.

Bosworth Ash cheese with salt baked beetroot and Douglas firBosworth Ash cheese with salt baked beetroot and Douglas fir

A taste of Sorrel

So, the food then. After all, that’s the picture to truly fill this frame, isn’t it? Is there substance to match the style? Well the snacks titillate and the brioche, in particular, almost floats off the table with its light and fluffy texture, but it’s when the pumpkin mousse arrives that things really take off. It’s autumn in a bowl and absolute heaven mixed through with candied nuts and hits of parmesan.

Next up is a humble celebration of the scallop – presented as an island among mushroom milk, which hides a parsley and garlic surprise under its ‘waves’.

It’s always a good sign when I can’t quite work out my favourite dish but one contender is certainly the 21-day aged raw venison with bitter orange, dried watercress and smoked egg yolk. It’s ‘eat the season’ but where venison is usually a warming walk through the woods, this whisks you off on more of a magical mystery tour. I loved it.

I’ve long since got over my childhood distaste for beetroot (think plate staining chunks of vinegary mush) but there’s a delicacy to the next dish that still makes me wonder how I could have ever caused such a fuss when people dared place a jar in my vicinity. Playing off earthy Bosworth Ash cheese from Staffordshire, the salt-baked beetroot stars with subtle accompaniment from Douglas fir (Douglas Fir and The Beets may have been a Scottish skiffle band for all I know – if not, it should have been) and compressed apple.

Sylviane’s eyes had been on the red mullet with turnip, sage and fish bread since she’d unravelled the menu and it didn’t disappoint. Beautiful punchy fish, and I could have spent the rest of the evening wiping plates clean with the fish bread.

I’d seen plenty of social media mentions of Steve’s experiments with Etherley Farm duck and couldn’t wait to see what he’d done for the November menu. Sourced from just six miles down the road, the duck was divine with fragrant Moroccan-inspired mushroom couscous and the addition of a playful liver meringue on the side. Looking a lot like a cherry bakewell, the tartlet of Barkham Blue, rosewater gel and tarragon came and disappeared in one tasty mouthful.

As our journey of discovery draws towards its close, a word on our sommelier, Sazan Aljija. His wine flight selections throughout the evening came with a calm charm and always worked pleasingly in the background rather than wrestling for attention.

21-day aged raw venison with bitter orange, dried watercress and smoked egg yolk21-day aged raw venison with bitter orange, dried watercress and smoked egg yolk

Finally, hibiscus ice, cinnamon mousse, pear and Pedro Ximenez syrup and then figs, tea and broken biscuits with Guinness ice cream brought things to a close – the latter inspired by a favourite from Steve’s childhood (the biscuits that is, rather than Guinness).

Star in the making

If it’s not immediately obvious, I left Sorrel even more excited than when I entered. When I’d spoken to Steve for the SL interview he said: “Once we’re up-and-running, hopefully that will mean there’s another great restaurant in Surrey.” It was a humble ambition and, suffice to say, even at this early juncture, it seems he’s on his way to achieving that. As he admits though, he’ll be keeping his feet on the ground as there’s plenty of hard work to come. With The Latymer and The Clock House joining The Tudor Room with Michelin stars this year, Surrey foodies are understandably excited about what the future might hold with Sorrel added to the roster. Fortunately, Steve and his team are pulling no punches.

What we ate

9-course Discovery menu, £90 per person

Wine flight, £75 per person

Note: A three-course lunch costs from £35

Web: sorrelrestaurant.co.uk/

Click here to read the March 2017 interview with Steve Drake.

More from Surrey Life

10:51

Wrap up in your favourite coat and scarf, grab your sparklers and a warming drink, and enjoy one of these fantastic firework displays taking place in Surrey for bonfire night

Read more

Home to outstanding architecture, ambitious community projects and arts ventures that are putting these villages firmly on the map, East and West Horsley are among our county’s most desirable addresses

Read more
10:43

Chertsey’s best-kept secret, the Great Cockcrow Railway, steamed into a half-century this year

Read more

A taste of Korea has swept into the beautiful market town of Godalming as Bada sets out its stall with a tapas-style fusion of seafood, traditional dishes and spice

Read more
Yesterday, 16:06

With friendship as the central theme in Adele Parks’ new book, Zoe Richards met up with the bestselling author and her publisher, Kate Mills, to find out how these two Surrey dwellers have discovered a successful working relationship, and become firm friends too

Read more
Yesterday, 11:37

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend: art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Yesterday, 00:00

As the twilight falls, the magic begins… There’s something for everyone at Christmas at Kew – and we’re giving you the chance to win one of five family tickets for two adults and two children to the Preview Night of Christmas at Kew on Wednesday 21 November 2018

Read more
Friday, October 12, 2018

We round up 10 of the most beautiful photos of Surrey shared on Instagram this week…

Read more
Tuesday, October 9, 2018

Good table manners have long been a source of national pride but in this modern age of social media are our longstanding traditions being left behind? Rebecca Younger visits the stately Beaverbrook estate for a lesson in British etiquette

Read more
Tuesday, October 9, 2018

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Tuesday, October 9, 2018

The spookiest time of the year is fast approaching! We pick some of the best events to celebrate Halloween in Surrey

Read more
Tuesday, October 9, 2018

From well kept secrets, to chilled out locations, Redhill is a good spot for a bite to eat. We round up some of the best restaurants…

Read more
Monday, October 8, 2018

From October 11 to 14, the great and the good of professional golf will tee up at Walton Health Golf Club for the 2018 British Masters. We shine a spotlight on the club as it ends an extraordinary year

Read more
Tuesday, October 2, 2018

Lily James’ cinematic education has been overseen by a host of Hollywood’s most recognisable names; now, as she nears her 30th birthday, the Esher-born actress is looking to step out of her co-stars’ limelight and enjoy her leading role at the forefront of future British generations in Tinseltown

Read more

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest


Follow us on Twitter


Like us on Facebook

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Property Search