6 ISSUES FOR £6 Subscribe to Surrey Life today click here

Wotton House, near Dorking RH5 6HS – hotel review

PUBLISHED: 15:24 12 July 2017 | UPDATED: 15:25 12 July 2017

The magnificent temple at Wotton House, near Dorking

The magnificent temple at Wotton House, near Dorking

Archant

In the second of our new feature exploring places to stay in Surrey, Rebecca Younger visits the former home of botanist John Evelyn, Wotton House, near Dorking

Wotton House, near DorkingWotton House, near Dorking

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine June 2017

***

One thing is profoundly evident as you descend the sweeping drive that leads from the A25, just outside Dorking, towards the terracotta-bricked Wotton House, and that is the estate’s botanical roots. Despite our arrival being on a rather grey day weather-wise, the 13 acres of grounds that surround the mansion were no less inspiring. Earlier this year, the house – home to conservationist and naturalist John Evelyn in the 17th century – underwent a £6 million upgrade as part of a rolling refurbishment programme by hotel group De Vere.

While the house has been renovated throughout – adding a further 16 suites to the hotel and bringing the total number of rooms to 127 – the gardens have remained predominantly untouched, apart from the introduction of several commissioned sculptures by Surrey-based artist Emma Stothard.

Evelyn, who was the inspiration for toiletry brand Crabtree & Evelyn, once described Wotton as “my most cherished place on earth”. He designed some of the gardens at Wotton House – including the first Italian garden in England – and as a result, they now have Grade II listed status.

When you also have a perfectly-preserved Roman temple, which is lit beautifully at night, as well as a huge fountain and quirky grottoes within the grounds, there really is no need for change.

What’s inspired about the hotel’s revamp is how it incorporates notes of Evelyn’s expertise as a botanist, and the importance of the gardens, around every corner – from the suites that are named after plants to the tasteful décor in each room, which is heavily influenced by nature. Hanging on the walls of the corridor leading from the main reception to bar, there is also a gallery of historical portraits and tablets of information depicting the life story of Evelyn and his time at the house and, for those who want to properly get out and explore the gardens, the hotel even provides Hunter wellies in various sizes and colours for guests to borrow.

The ‘outside-in’ theme continues in the 1877 restaurant, where a beautifully-lit tree acts as a centrepiece to the room. The food, while good, was heartier than you might expect from such an establishment and the menu a little confused, part fine dining, part staple country pub. The service here was also a little muddled – a mixture of staff so attentive they were falling over themselves to ensure guests were happy and those who were perhaps a little too honest about their opinions of the menu; we were told by one waitress to stay well clear of the house wine when actually it was perfectly drinkable and possibly one of the better house options I have tasted in my time.

What it didn’t deliver in service however, it made up for in ambience and our evening was topped off with a post-meal tipple by the outside fire pit, overlooking what really makes a stay at this historical house quite special – its immaculate gardens.

***

Rooms start from £129 per room per night, based on double occupancy. De Vere Wotton House, Guildford Road, Dorking RH5 6QQ Tel: 01306 730000 Web: devere.com/deverewottonhouse

***

The Garden House at Beaverbrook, Leatherhead KT22 8QX – hotel review

More from Surrey Life

Friday, July 20, 2018

As the closing date for our Readers’ Short Story competition edges nearer, we get some last minute tips from those who know best

Read more
Friday, July 20, 2018

From riverside retreats to secret gardens, we’ve got your summer covered with this selection of Surrey pubs that are perfect to enjoy your favourite tipple and a bite to eat in the sunshine

Read more
Friday, July 20, 2018

Meet Etta Lemon – the dragon of Redhill who founded the RSPB and did battle with the Suffragettes

Read more
Friday, July 20, 2018

We round up 10 of the most beautiful photos of Surrey shared on Instagram this week…

Read more
Thursday, July 19, 2018

We’ve teamed up with the new-look beach-side hotel Gara Rock, opening this summer near Salcombe in South Devon to offer you the chance to win a two-night stay for two

Read more
Thursday, July 19, 2018

This edition of Surrey Life features all the local ingredients to make this month special

Read more
Thursday, July 19, 2018

Have you always wanted to write a novel but struggle to find the motivation? Well now here’s all the incentive you need as we launch our readers’ short story competition in partnership with Guildford Book Festival

Read more
Tuesday, July 17, 2018

One of the biggest foodie events in the Surrey calendar is back for 2018! Voting is open and this year’s event will take place at G Live, Guildford on Thursday 13 September 2018

Read more
Tuesday, July 17, 2018

Whether you're looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here's our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs

Read more
Tuesday, July 17, 2018

A community-spirited pub with its own microbrewery, The Plough has long been a haven for people venturing into the Surrey Hills. Matthew Williams visits

Read more
Tuesday, July 17, 2018

Previously the private chef to the Mauritian president, Jean-Didier Gouges became head chef at The Petersham Restaurant in Richmond’s Petersham Hotel in October

Read more
Monday, July 16, 2018

As the Runnymede Rivers Celebration got under way, Rebecca Younger visited a hotel right at the heart of the action

Read more
Monday, July 16, 2018

Great things to do in Surrey this weekend: art exhibitions, walks, concerts, theatre, places to visit and other events and ideas.

Read more
Friday, July 13, 2018

We’ve teamed up with Naturalmat to offer one lucky reader the chance to win a duvet and pillow collection worth £225

Read more
 
Great British Holidays advert link

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy


Topics of Interest

Food and Drink Directory

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Surrey's trusted business finder

Job search in your local area



Property Search