6 ISSUES FOR £6 Subscribe to Surrey Life today click here

Stovell's, Chobham, Surrey GU24 8QS - restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 15:41 22 November 2012 | UPDATED: 05:32 19 April 2015

Kristy and Fernando Stovell at their Chobham restaurant

Kristy and Fernando Stovell at their Chobham restaurant

It’s the start of a new era for the restaurant formerly known as the Cloche Hat, as married couple, the Stovells, who come with some pedigree from the capital’s restaurants, make this stalwart of the Surrey dining scene their own. Matthew Williams pays Stovell's a visit

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine November 2012

Restaurant reviewed: Stovell’s, 125 Windsor Road, Chobham, Surrey GU24 8QS. Tel: 01276 858000


***
 

Verdict
Food 10
Venue 10
Service 10


What we ate:
Two courses for £30 or three courses for £38

Starters
Caramelised hand-caught Loch Leven scallops, chorizo, ratte potatoes and walnut dressing (supplement, £3)
Warm aromatic foie gras, barbecue silver-skin onions, toasted cobnuts, hay dressing and Nasturtium leaves


Main courses
Chargrilled Lake District aged rib of beef for two over perfumed vine cutting embers (supplement, £8pp)
Side of buttered Hispi cabbage, £3 

Desserts
Warm chocolate fondant with Tudor Rose ice cream
Artisanal British and French cheese selection served with Piccalilli and biscuits

Drinks
Woodford Reserve Bourbon, brown sugar, angostura and orange bitters, infused with orange and cherry, £9.50
Belvedere Vodka, lemon, Crème de Cassis, gomme, Champagne, £8.50
Bottle of Dinastia Vivanco Rioja Reserva 2005, £40

 

***

REVIEW: Entering the restaurant formerly known as the Cloche Hat in Chobham leaves you feeling a little bit like how I imagine Gandalf felt entering Bilbo Baggins’ Hobbiton abode for the first time: slightly wary of the headroom. Found in a 16th century Tudor farmhouse, the place may be small in stature but not in character – or, for that matter, characters.

Something of a Surrey institution (the previous incumbents had been there for over 50 years), it’s a new era for this mainstay of the local dining scene, with husband and wife team Fernando and Kristy Stovell (hailing from Mexico and New Zealand respectively) now at the helm, and a new name of Stovell’s.

Having met in 1997 at Westminster College, the couple have worked alongside one another ever since and are stalwarts of London’s prestigious Cuckoo Club. Some readers may also recognise chef Fernando from his appearances on BBC’s Saturday Kitchen and Market Kitchen.

There is a relaxed style to Stovell’s that is largely led by the force of Fernando’s personality – he talks with great passion about the produce he uses (or football) and it turns out is also a keen forager, often dragging his team out into the woods to supplement the menu.

Pre-dinner cocktails
But first things first. On arrival, my wife and I decided to make the most of the impressive cocktail menu and took seats in the bar area beneath a photo of the chef’s grandmother, who the Champagne list is named after. From timeless classics (Martini etc) to barrel-aged specialities, the cocktail offering is part of an attempt to turn the restaurant into a true all-round destination that will lure people out into the Surrey countryside.

When our table time arrived, waiter Ollie greeted us – it turns out he was actually headhunted in Bath by chef Fernando’s mum.

The à la carte menu, which could best be described as modern European, comes in at two courses for £30 or three courses for £38 and there are often a few surprises and ‘bonus courses’ along the way, depending on what’s in the kitchen on the day.

Apparently one of the chef’s favourite dishes, I opted for the caramelised hand-caught Loch Leven scallops as a starter, while Sylviane went with her French roots and chose the foie gras.

I have half jokingly wanted to put a few dishes on my wall as artworks over the years of reviewing, but the presentation at Stovell’s is second to none; an attention to detail matched only by the food itself.

The scallops were phenomenal, dressed with chorizo, ratte potatoes and walnut dressing, and worth the £3 supplement in my eyes. Sylviane’s summation of the foie gras: never had better. Says it all really.

An amouse bouche of pea and mint soup with Alsace bacon foam was served, a seasonal dish that will move on to a more hearty, earthy soup as the winter months grow dark.

It has to be said, the menu at Stovell’s is one of those that you could grapple with for weeks and still want to try everything on it. In the end, we opted for the côte de bouef to share. A mouthwatering slab of chargrilled Lake District aged rib of beef was presented with béarnaise sauce and a jus that wasn’t necessarily needed (but is always nice to have) for the succulent meat, which was truly moreish. 

For dessert, I opted for a delicious dark chocolate fondant with Tudor rose ice cream, while Sylviane went with her staple artisanal British and French cheeses. We could find no fault in either of the dishes.

Undoubtedly, there will be those who miss the old Cloche Hat, which had been in Surrey since 1957, but it’s difficult to see them not being quickly won over. Suffice to say that Stovell’s has gone in the notebook as my restaurant of 2012 so far. Fernando and Kristy’s enthusiasm for their craft is truly infectious, the premises are stunning and the food is as good as it gets below Michelin star standard. We will be back.

***

3 other Surrey lifers

Kinghams 
Gomshall Lane, Shere GU5 9HE
Tel: 01483 202168 
Opened in 1993 by chef proprietor Paul Baker, this lovely village restaurant now features in all major guides – booking is therefore essential. 

The Dining Room
10 Queens Road, Hersham KT12 5LS
Tel: 01932 231686
Tucked away just off the village green in Hersham, this quirky, pink-walled restaurant has been dishing out mammoth portions of delicious grub since 1984. 

La Capanna
48 High Street, Cobham KT11 3EF
Tel: 01932 862121
Serving up fantastic Italian food to the great and the good of Surrey since 1978.

0 comments

More from Food & Drink

Wed, 13:21

Foodie store by day and gourmet supper club by night, The Downing Street Deli in Farnham has some serious Surrey food and drink pedigree behind it. Matthew Williams visits this hidden gem for a sparkling night of creative cuisine

Read more
Wed, 11:34

A key part of the Denbies Wine Estate team, Andy Kershaw is also one fourth of Rose & Protea who produce natural wines from the Fynbos Estate in South Africa. As they look forward to showcasing their latest vintages with a pop-up bar in Dorking, Matthew Williams meets the winemaker to find out more about natural wine

Read more
Mon, 20:02

Celebrating its 10th anniversary in style and taking part in Woking Food & Drink Festival, The Lightbox art gallery and museum hosts a Pol Roger Champagne dinner. Matthew Williams reports

Read more
Mon, 19:39

The votes are in and have been counted; the judges have met and debated; and long lists have been turned into short lists. Here we present to you, the 2017 Surrey Life Food & Drink Awards finalists...

Read more
Sunday, September 10, 2017

Guildford has some of the best restaurants in Surrey. From authentic Italian to tasty Thai eateries, in no particular order, we pick 10 of the best places to dine out in Guildford

Read more
Sunday, September 10, 2017

Sunday lunchtimes are made for lazing in a cosy pub with a beer in hand and an overflowing plate of delicious roast dinner on the table. We pick 12 of our favourite places for Sunday lunch in Surrey.

Read more
Monday, September 4, 2017

Hosted by Surrey Life Food & Drink Awards sponsors Local Food Britain at Guildford’s G Live entertainment venue, a brand new food and drink festival is bringing the best of Surrey and beyond to our county town this September

Read more
Friday, September 1, 2017

This is all about the joy of drinking real ale in a real pub (or maybe a glass of wine from an expertly picked list). The winner of this category will need to stock local ales, have an inventive wine list and will know exactly what is required to keep the regulars coming back. Here are your finalists for 2017

Read more
Friday, September 1, 2017

We were looking for butcher’s whose skill is undoubted and who help keep the food miles down. Here are your finalists for 2017...

Read more
Friday, September 1, 2017

Whether it was an established or upcoming event, we were looking for a farmers’ market, food festival, monthly pop-up or similar that has shown the ability to garner a following, create a community of foodies and maintain its foodie magic. Here’s the finalists for 2017...

Read more
Friday, September 1, 2017

This award was open to anyone in the food or drink industry who has started a new venture within the last 18 months. Here’s our finalists for 2017...

Read more
Friday, September 1, 2017

This award aims to recognise those who show an exceptional awareness of produce and have the knowledge and expertise to use their ingredients to create sensational, seasonal menus – local sourcing is a bonus as always. Here are our finalists for 2017...

Read more
Friday, September 1, 2017

This category celebrates the places that never fail to keep the kids happy, without forgetting the parents of course. Here we announce our finalists for 2017...

Read more
Friday, September 1, 2017

We were looking for food led initiatives that aim to make a difference to others in Surrey. Here, we present your finalists for Services to the Community 2017

Read more
 
Great British Holidays advert link

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad
Surrey Life Application Link

Local Business Directory

Surrey's trusted business finder

Job search in your local area



Search For a Car In Your Area

Property Search