<div style="display:inline;"> <img height="1" width="1" style="border-style:none;" alt="" src="//googleads.g.doubleclick.net/pagead/viewthroughconversion/1028731116/?value=0&amp;guid=ON&amp;script=0">
6 ISSUES FOR £6 Subscribe to Surrey Life today click here

Stovell's, Chobham, Surrey GU24 8QS - restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 15:41 22 November 2012 | UPDATED: 05:32 19 April 2015

Kristy and Fernando Stovell at their Chobham restaurant

Kristy and Fernando Stovell at their Chobham restaurant

It’s the start of a new era for the restaurant formerly known as the Cloche Hat, as married couple, the Stovells, who come with some pedigree from the capital’s restaurants, make this stalwart of the Surrey dining scene their own. Matthew Williams pays Stovell's a visit

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine November 2012

Restaurant reviewed: Stovell’s, 125 Windsor Road, Chobham, Surrey GU24 8QS. Tel: 01276 858000


Food 10
Venue 10
Service 10

What we ate:
Two courses for £30 or three courses for £38

Caramelised hand-caught Loch Leven scallops, chorizo, ratte potatoes and walnut dressing (supplement, £3)
Warm aromatic foie gras, barbecue silver-skin onions, toasted cobnuts, hay dressing and Nasturtium leaves

Main courses
Chargrilled Lake District aged rib of beef for two over perfumed vine cutting embers (supplement, £8pp)
Side of buttered Hispi cabbage, £3 

Warm chocolate fondant with Tudor Rose ice cream
Artisanal British and French cheese selection served with Piccalilli and biscuits

Woodford Reserve Bourbon, brown sugar, angostura and orange bitters, infused with orange and cherry, £9.50
Belvedere Vodka, lemon, Crème de Cassis, gomme, Champagne, £8.50
Bottle of Dinastia Vivanco Rioja Reserva 2005, £40



REVIEW: Entering the restaurant formerly known as the Cloche Hat in Chobham leaves you feeling a little bit like how I imagine Gandalf felt entering Bilbo Baggins’ Hobbiton abode for the first time: slightly wary of the headroom. Found in a 16th century Tudor farmhouse, the place may be small in stature but not in character – or, for that matter, characters.

Something of a Surrey institution (the previous incumbents had been there for over 50 years), it’s a new era for this mainstay of the local dining scene, with husband and wife team Fernando and Kristy Stovell (hailing from Mexico and New Zealand respectively) now at the helm, and a new name of Stovell’s.

Having met in 1997 at Westminster College, the couple have worked alongside one another ever since and are stalwarts of London’s prestigious Cuckoo Club. Some readers may also recognise chef Fernando from his appearances on BBC’s Saturday Kitchen and Market Kitchen.

There is a relaxed style to Stovell’s that is largely led by the force of Fernando’s personality – he talks with great passion about the produce he uses (or football) and it turns out is also a keen forager, often dragging his team out into the woods to supplement the menu.

Pre-dinner cocktails
But first things first. On arrival, my wife and I decided to make the most of the impressive cocktail menu and took seats in the bar area beneath a photo of the chef’s grandmother, who the Champagne list is named after. From timeless classics (Martini etc) to barrel-aged specialities, the cocktail offering is part of an attempt to turn the restaurant into a true all-round destination that will lure people out into the Surrey countryside.

When our table time arrived, waiter Ollie greeted us – it turns out he was actually headhunted in Bath by chef Fernando’s mum.

The à la carte menu, which could best be described as modern European, comes in at two courses for £30 or three courses for £38 and there are often a few surprises and ‘bonus courses’ along the way, depending on what’s in the kitchen on the day.

Apparently one of the chef’s favourite dishes, I opted for the caramelised hand-caught Loch Leven scallops as a starter, while Sylviane went with her French roots and chose the foie gras.

I have half jokingly wanted to put a few dishes on my wall as artworks over the years of reviewing, but the presentation at Stovell’s is second to none; an attention to detail matched only by the food itself.

The scallops were phenomenal, dressed with chorizo, ratte potatoes and walnut dressing, and worth the £3 supplement in my eyes. Sylviane’s summation of the foie gras: never had better. Says it all really.

An amouse bouche of pea and mint soup with Alsace bacon foam was served, a seasonal dish that will move on to a more hearty, earthy soup as the winter months grow dark.

It has to be said, the menu at Stovell’s is one of those that you could grapple with for weeks and still want to try everything on it. In the end, we opted for the côte de bouef to share. A mouthwatering slab of chargrilled Lake District aged rib of beef was presented with béarnaise sauce and a jus that wasn’t necessarily needed (but is always nice to have) for the succulent meat, which was truly moreish. 

For dessert, I opted for a delicious dark chocolate fondant with Tudor rose ice cream, while Sylviane went with her staple artisanal British and French cheeses. We could find no fault in either of the dishes.

Undoubtedly, there will be those who miss the old Cloche Hat, which had been in Surrey since 1957, but it’s difficult to see them not being quickly won over. Suffice to say that Stovell’s has gone in the notebook as my restaurant of 2012 so far. Fernando and Kristy’s enthusiasm for their craft is truly infectious, the premises are stunning and the food is as good as it gets below Michelin star standard. We will be back.


3 other Surrey lifers

Gomshall Lane, Shere GU5 9HE
Tel: 01483 202168 
Opened in 1993 by chef proprietor Paul Baker, this lovely village restaurant now features in all major guides – booking is therefore essential. 

The Dining Room
10 Queens Road, Hersham KT12 5LS
Tel: 01932 231686
Tucked away just off the village green in Hersham, this quirky, pink-walled restaurant has been dishing out mammoth portions of delicious grub since 1984. 

La Capanna
48 High Street, Cobham KT11 3EF
Tel: 01932 862121
Serving up fantastic Italian food to the great and the good of Surrey since 1978.


More from Food & Drink

Mon, 15:45

Whether you prefer jam or cream on top, or Prosecco to English breakfast tea – we’ve found 16 of the best afternoon teas in Surrey for you to indulge in

Read more
Mon, 15:39

The vegetarian and vegan offering in Surrey seems to be improving by the week. Here are nine of the best restaurants and cafés for vegetarians and vegans in Surrey

Read more
Friday, March 2, 2018

Championed by acclaimed chef, Angela Harnett, and run by two chefs who met at Mayfair’s Gymkhana, Dastaan has unexpectedly brought a national foodie spotlight to an unassuming parade of shops just off the A240 near Ewell. Matthew Williams visits to see if it lives up to the billing

Read more
Monday, February 26, 2018

We can exclusively reveal when the new Ivy restaurant will open in Guildford’s new Tunsgate Quarter

Read more
Monday, February 26, 2018

One of the biggest foodie events in the Surrey calendar is back for 2018! We can now announce that the nominations for the Surrey Life Food & Drink Awards are open

Read more
Friday, February 9, 2018

Perfectly placed to enjoy that famously protected view from Richmond Hill, which has inspired artists, writers and explorers alike, The Petersham is well worth a visit

Read more
Wednesday, January 31, 2018

Surrey is well endowed with country pubs – here’s our pick of those to cosy up in after a winter walk or for a special Valentine’s evening to remember

Read more
Wednesday, January 31, 2018

Having made his name as one of Surrey’s first celebrity chefs on Ready Steady Cook, things have been tougher for Tony Tobin recently with his long-standing Reigate restaurant closing in 2017. Matthew Williams joins him at The Punchbowl Inn, near Ockley, for a country pub night with a difference

Read more
Monday, January 29, 2018

Jenna Elsby from Chapel Lane events talks us through this recipe for the ultimate grazing platter for two - a perfect sharing dish for Valentines

Read more
Monday, January 22, 2018

Jenna Elsby from Chapel Lane events talks us through this recipe for potted smoked trout with lemon, dill and toasted flatbreads - a perfect sharing dish for dinner party starters

Read more
Monday, January 22, 2018

Join Arlene Phillips and Strictly Come Dancing favourites Aljaz and Janette on this exclusive 8-day river cruise along the Danube

Read more
Wednesday, January 17, 2018

January 25 marks Burns Night; an evening celebration of the great late Scottish poet Robert Burns. Many venues in Surrey will be hosting an array of celebrations to mark this cultural tradition, with more than enough haggis to go around. We pick our top events taking place in 2018

Read more
Monday, January 15, 2018

Jenna Elsby from Chapel Lane events talks us through this recipe for Pink Peppercorn & Rosemary Crusted Fillet of Beef - a perfect dish for dinner parties with enough for leftovers.

Read more
Tuesday, January 9, 2018

Whether you enjoy a classic gin and tonic, a shaken not stirred martini or something altogether more adventurous, there’s never been a better time to be a lover of all things gin in Surrey. Here’s a selection of the best distilleries, from world conquering to exceedingly micro, on our doorstep

Read more
Great British Holidays advert link

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Topics of Interest

Food and Drink Directory

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad

Local Business Directory

Surrey's trusted business finder

Job search in your local area

Property Search