<div style="display:inline;"> <img height="1" width="1" style="border-style:none;" alt="" src="//googleads.g.doubleclick.net/pagead/viewthroughconversion/1028731116/?value=0&amp;guid=ON&amp;script=0">
CHRISTMAS OFFER Subscribe to Surrey Life today click here

Le Raj, Epsom Downs, Surrey KT17 3LB - restaurant review

PUBLISHED: 17:41 31 May 2011 | UPDATED: 21:12 02 July 2014

Le Raj, Epsom Downs, Surrey KT17 3LB - restaurant review

Le Raj, Epsom Downs, Surrey KT17 3LB - restaurant review

Gone are the days when a curry was regarded as a bit of lads’ night decadence. Today, Indian cuisine sits comfortably alongside the finest dining in the top foodie guides – and it would be fair to say that a small corner of Epsom has had a hand in this trend. Matthew Williams pays a visit to legendary restaurant Le Raj

Originally published in Surrey Life magazine May 2011

Restaurant reviewed: Le Raj, 211 Fir Tree Road, Epsom Downs, Surrey KT17 3LB Tel: 01737 371371

***

Verdict:
Food and drink 9
Service 10
Venue: 9

What we ate:

Starters
Malai Maach: codfish fillet marinated in light flavoured cardamom, £5.95
Chuto chingri: tiger prawns marinated with delicate spices, £5.60

Main courses
Morchana: marinated lean chicken cooked with hand ground roasted spices, green chillies, fresh coriander, £10.95
Kata gosht: lamb cooked with lentils, chillies and curry leaves, £9.95

Side dishes
Peaz pilaw: basmati rice with eggs, spring onion and parsley, £3.95
Khumbi bhaat: plain rice with mushrooms and green herbs, £3.95
Paneer nan: nan with chillies, mint, cheese and garlic, £3.50
Shak aloo: spinach and potatoes, £4.20

Desserts
Le Raj Caramelita Ice Cream, £5.95
Le Raj Malai, £5.65

Drinks
Vina Marro Rioja Crianza, Domeca De Jarauta, Spain (2007), £23.45

***

 

REVIEW: The reputation of Le Raj precedes it; stretching not just across Surrey, but right across the world (many will have heard the infamous story of the take-away order that came all the way from the USA; and yep, the customer paid for it to be flown over in case you’re wondering).

Certainly a mecca for the rich and famous, TV personality Chris Tarrant is one of many well-known regulars – and, in fact, a ‘trophy cabinet’ as you enter the restaurant houses tokens from other visiting celebrities, including Pierce Brosnan and members of Chelsea FC.

It’s not surprising really when you consider that as long as 20 years ago, when curry in this corner of England had all the gastronomic respectability of the local kebab shop, owner Enam Ali and his team of ‘culinary artists’ were already starting something of a revolution in Indian cuisine.

Also the founder of the British Curry Awards and long-standing chairman of the Guild of Bangladeshi Restaurateurs, in 2009 his efforts were recognised by the Queen with an MBE for his services to the industry. 

Today, you may barely be able to move for high quality Indian restaurants in Surrey, but that doesn’t appear to have quenched Le Raj’s heat.

Found in an affluent corner of Epsom Downs, while the entrance and bar is modern and stylish, the main dining area feels more like you’ve stepped into the old town hall, or at least some fashionable historic hotel – you half expect cream tea and scones, rather than poppadoms and chutneys.

The service was highly attentive from the start on the night we attended – a quiet Tuesday evening. Having been unburdened of our coats we were led to our table, well spaced from its neighbours with big furniture to cocoon you further.

Wine ordered, we delved into the comprehensive menu, which traverses traditional favourites to less well known Bengali dishes – ‘some inspired by my mother’s cooking; others by chefs at the royal Moghul courts,’ states the website.

A Michelin mention
Our starters, both fish dishes, were presented more like Michelin star fare – in fact, the restaurant does get a mention in that auspicious guide – and the Malai Maach codfish fillet, marinated in light flavoured cardamom, deserves special praise. My dining partner and I would happily have had seconds… and then thirds.

Delicious aromas wafting through the air signalled the arrival of the mains: gargantuan dishes filled with curry sans neon food colouring, egg fried rice with very obviously real egg (rather than the almost plasticy, erm ‘stuff’ that so often accompanies), shak alloo and nan.

All tasted as good as they smelt, although a word of warning on the spicing front: while my three-chilli morchana was perfect, a deep flavour with a pleasant rather than overpowering kick to it, my partner’s dish, chilli kata gosht, probably should have carried a rating of four on the night – delicious, but definitely eye-watering too!

Flames were quenched with post-curry ice cream, which proved to be an absolute winner, with caramel and crème brulée variations both a real treat.

Anticipation can often make expectations soar and the eventual reality seem somewhat underwhelming, but Le Raj fully lived up to its billing, laying on a feast fit for any king.


***

3 other great Indian restaurants in Surrey

Mystica
147-149 Station Road, Addlestone KT15 2AT: 01932 841682 
A stylish restaurant with a chic and cosmopolitan ambience. The kitchen combines authentic Indian flavours with a contemporary twist, and favourite dishes include the lamb rogan josh, chicken saali and the king prawn jalfrezi.

Massala
19 Anyards Road, Cobham KT11 2LW: 01932 865005
Set in a traditional timber-framed building, with a modern and stylish interior, Indian culture meets British tradition at Massala, where they embrace the flavours of five regions in a selection of delicious dishes.

The Shalimar
372 Malden Road, Worcester Park KT4 7NL: 0208 330 7990
The Shalimar opened over 18 years ago and has been going strong every since – once being named The Sun’s best curry house in Britain. They specialise in curries originating from northern India.

0 comments

More from Food & Drink

Mon, 11:23

With the festive season fast approaching, in no particular order we pick 10 of the best butchers in Surrey to pick up your turkey this Christmas

Read more
Monday, November 6, 2017

We pick some of the best places in Surrey to enjoy a festive take on the quintessential English tradition of afternoon tea at Christmas

Read more
Friday, November 3, 2017

We are offering one lucky winner all they need for an organic Christmas feast, with a Christmas Dinner Box from Riverford.

Read more
Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Dark and chilly winter evenings are perfect for huddling in the corner of a country pub with friends, catching up over beer and supper in front of a log fire. Surrey is home to cosy pubs a-plenty – here are ten of the top places to go…

Read more
Wednesday, October 18, 2017

When one Surrey pub group were looking for a new wine to set them apart from the crowd, their search led to the gates of the family-owned Château Carbonneau near Bordeaux. More than one year on, it’s a relationship which continues to blossom

Read more
Thursday, October 12, 2017

Having coordinated Surrey’s first Goatober campaign in Dorking last year, The Salt Box has teamed up with the Stone House Vinyl Café to bring the event to Reigate in October 2017

Read more
Wednesday, October 11, 2017

Creative twist on traditional Indian cuisine.

Read more
Wednesday, October 11, 2017

The festive menu at The Anchor Ripley is available from 1st December until the 24th December.

Read more
Sunday, October 8, 2017

Living in England’s most densely wooded county, it’s always a pleasure to witness Surrey donning its autumn finery. Here’s some of the best places to do just that - plus a few pub pit stops to enjoy on route!

Read more
Monday, October 2, 2017

Whether you’re looking for fine dining, pub grub or exotic dishes, eating out in Surrey has something for everyone. Here’s our guide to the best local restaurants and pubs, compiled from Surrey Life reviews in recent years

Read more
Monday, October 2, 2017

Every month we discover what inspires Surrey’s top chefs. Here Fred Clapperton, head chef at The Clock House in Ripley, shares his story

Read more
Friday, September 22, 2017

The votes are in and the judges have met, debated and then visited each of the finalists. Here we present to you the 2017 Surrey Life Food & Drink Awards winners...

Read more
Friday, September 22, 2017

We announce our 2017 winner of Pub of the Year at the Surrey Life Food & Drink Awards

Read more
Friday, September 22, 2017

We announce our 2017 winner of Services to the Community at the Surrey Life Food & Drink Awards

Read more
 
Great British Holidays advert link

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Subscribe or buy a mag today

subscription ad
Surrey Life Application Link

Local Business Directory

Surrey's trusted business finder

Job search in your local area



Property Search